Adrianli Hypersonic May 11, 2018 Share May 11, 2018 I applaud the remaining in yellow boxes offence! Every weekend I am faced with inconsiderate drivers who do not leave the yellow box open for me to filter into the main road from the side road at my place. Think I will start submitting screen captures of the offenders to TP soon. The yellow box one, lots of parents driving their kids to United Square will kena!!! The left lane there is always jammed packed every weekend. Ho sey liao. Now that TP notice this. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 11, 2018 Share May 11, 2018 The no u-turn should apply to the opposite junction. Lots of parents on weekday mornings chut this illegal stunt after dropping off their kid at SJ primary side gate. Some times nearly accident with cars turning left at Novena Square junction. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 11, 2018 Share May 11, 2018 The yellow box one, lots of parents driving their kids to United Square will kena!!! The left lane there is always jammed packed every weekend. Ho sey liao. Now that TP notice this. The traffic junction at the thomson road there indeed very chaos esp during the peak hours. Wonder how these new traffic light camera would help? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic May 11, 2018 Share May 11, 2018 Just hope they put the U turn and no U turn signs more prominently. Some U turn signs actually blocked by trees. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 11, 2018 Share May 11, 2018 (edited) Just hope they put the U turn and no U turn signs more prominently. Some U turn signs actually blocked by trees. Even no U turn sign is prominently, many drivers still do U turn one la. You think people here so obedient in following road signs, if yes then there would not be so many accident which can be avoided happened liao. Edited May 11, 2018 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 11, 2018 Share May 11, 2018 Just hope they put the U turn and no U turn signs more prominently. Some U turn signs actually blocked by trees. No u-turn sign is redundant Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic May 11, 2018 Share May 11, 2018 Even no U turn sign is prominently, many drivers still do U turn one la. You think people here so obedient in following road signs, if yes then there would not be so many accident which can be avoided happened liao.Now with the new cameras, then it's their choice to follow or not.Just like the speed camera ahead signs and lights. Already told you got speed camera, and if don't follow, then don't blame TP summon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 11, 2018 Share May 11, 2018 Even no U turn sign is prominently, many drivers still do U turn one la. You think people here so obedient in following road signs, if yes then there would not be so many accident which can be avoided happened liao. Ya. Just outside Novena Church, there is a no u-turn sign. But drivers still perform u-turn there. It is actually a right turn only into the church for church goers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 11, 2018 Share May 11, 2018 (edited) Ya. Just outside Novena Church, there is a no u-turn sign. But drivers still perform u-turn there. It is actually a right turn only into the church for church goers. No u-turn outside Novena Church.jpg Plenty of such no U-turn sign on our roads, and yet drivers still perform U-turn. Sometimes can see near missed accident. Edited May 11, 2018 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic May 13, 2018 Share May 13, 2018 Ya. Just outside Novena Church, there is a no u-turn sign. But drivers still perform u-turn there. It is actually a right turn only into the church for church goers. No u-turn outside Novena Church.jpg Hope cam cars will submit video of those making illegal u turn here. The next u-turn location is just 300m away. Where the foolish jaywalker got hit by the Merc. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic May 13, 2018 Share May 13, 2018 Ya. Just outside Novena Church, there is a no u-turn sign. But drivers still perform u-turn there. It is actually a right turn only into the church for church goers. No u-turn outside Novena Church.jpg Weekend is a nitemare there ... always jam 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic May 13, 2018 Share May 13, 2018 Ya. Just outside Novena Church, there is a no u-turn sign. But drivers still perform u-turn there. It is actually a right turn only into the church for church goers. No u-turn outside Novena Church.jpg Why not let people u-turn here? I can't see why u-turning here is more dangerous or will obstruct traffice more compared to a right turn.... There are quite a number of unreasonable or unnecessary rules (not just traffic rules) in SIngapore. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged May 13, 2018 Share May 13, 2018 Why not let people u-turn here? I can't see why u-turning here is more dangerous or will obstruct traffice more compared to a right turn.... There are quite a number of unreasonable or unnecessary rules (not just traffic rules) in SIngapore. It could be because there are past history of many known accidents due to the U-turn. So LTA changed it to no u turn to reduce accidents lor. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic May 13, 2018 Share May 13, 2018 (edited) âIt could be because there are past history of many known accidents due to the U-turn. So LTA changed it to no u turn to reduce accidents lor.The cars along the road is also quite fast. Not so suitable for U turns. Edited May 13, 2018 by DACH Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic May 13, 2018 Share May 13, 2018 Even a right turn I find I dangerous because it is uncontrolled and the on coming traffic is from a relatively sharp bend. So you will not see an approaching fast vehicle until too late. U-turn worse than right turn because not many cars can pick up fast after a u-turn... Why not let people u-turn here? I can't see why u-turning here is more dangerous or will obstruct traffice more compared to a right turn.... There are quite a number of unreasonable or unnecessary rules (not just traffic rules) in SIngapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 14, 2018 Share May 14, 2018 Why not let people u-turn here? I can't see why u-turning here is more dangerous or will obstruct traffice more compared to a right turn.... There are quite a number of unreasonable or unnecessary rules (not just traffic rules) in SIngapore. My guess would be that there are cars exiting the church after the u-turn. So it will impede cars that are exiting the church. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged May 14, 2018 Share May 14, 2018 Even a right turn I find I dangerous because it is uncontrolled and the on coming traffic is from a relatively sharp bend. So you will not see an approaching fast vehicle until too late. U-turn worse than right turn because not many cars can pick up fast after a u-turn... Ya thus there is a no u turn sign put there specially. So those no u turn sign put there indicate double dangerous to u turn. As there are many history of accidents because of cars making u turn. If there is no sign of reminder no u turn = still illigal to make u turn but not that hot spot dangerous as little or no accidents caused by cars making u turns. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged May 14, 2018 Share May 14, 2018 (edited) Ya. Just outside Novena Church, there is a no u-turn sign. But drivers still perform u-turn there. It is actually a right turn only into the church for church goers. No u-turn outside Novena Church.jpg I almost always left turn into St Alphonsus (aka the Exorcist Church) . Hostorically, the vehicles behind tend to tailgate and hurry hurry. I will usually deliberately slow to 50 or so about three trees before the left turn... That entrance the right turn points to. Vehicles coming from the opposite/ my left turn direction are quite fast around the bend. Doing a u turn there seems quite dangerous as even a left turn makes me cautious about being rogered. If you refer as post mass exodus, you are right but during other times, it's a patient wait to get out. Else an accident. A u turn there could be done simply by driving in and out of St Alphonsus. No charge and no dirty looks guaranteed. It's free parking BTW. Edited May 14, 2018 by Datsun366 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...