Unfazed 6th Gear December 20, 2012 Share December 20, 2012 Thanks for the replies. Quite often i have to pick up my kids from classes etc...so i will always be waiting in the car park with the engine on (sometimes up to 30min) while waiting for them. Will this be a problem? While many r encouraging to go green, here u r telling us that u left ur engine on for 30 mins waiting for kids?! U cant be more wastefully idiotic...totally oblivious of wats happening ard u. Big frogs not even knowing they r in shallow wells.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rezorn86 3rd Gear December 20, 2012 Share December 20, 2012 my uncle's having a infiniti m hybrid n most of the time have to rest under the sun, till now not issue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear December 20, 2012 Share December 20, 2012 While many r encouraging to go green, here u r telling us that u left ur engine on for 30 mins waiting for kids?! U cant be more wastefully idiotic...totally oblivious of wats happening ard u. Big frogs not even knowing they r in shallow wells.. Don't be so harsh lah, at least he's looking at Hybrid so that when car is left on for 30 mins, not much fuel will be burn, better than conventional cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic December 20, 2012 Share December 20, 2012 90mins for full charge? not bad le Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audi655 Clutched December 20, 2012 Share December 20, 2012 you are buy hybrid to save the environment or FC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged December 20, 2012 Share December 20, 2012 Guys ...... I know there are arguments on 10 years warranty etc Battery can last a long time blah blah. The truth is..... battery life is a genuine everyday problem. Heat kills the battery. Charging and recharging also. No two ways about it. If any genius can counter that, u wont have battery problem in iphone or ipad. But unlike phones, the worsening state of a battery in a hybrid vehicle is not so drastically felt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged December 20, 2012 Share December 20, 2012 Basically. The day u drive out ur hybrid, u will .... in a very gradual fashion get a worsening battery. My feel is.... hybrid is perfect for the first 5 years. Just like a handphone battery is good for first 1 year Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear December 20, 2012 Share December 20, 2012 While many r encouraging to go green, here u r telling us that u left ur engine on for 30 mins waiting for kids?! U cant be more wastefully idiotic...totally oblivious of wats happening ard u. Big frogs not even knowing they r in shallow wells.. engine off=no aircon. u like to wait in the heat? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wormvirus 1st Gear December 20, 2012 Share December 20, 2012 (edited) merc has start stop so aircon will off at traffic stop as with engine & is totally acceptable in sg hot sun, maybe 20years later when future bb car get free start stop then bb owners get to appreciate new tech Edited December 20, 2012 by Wormvirus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leafable 1st Gear December 20, 2012 Share December 20, 2012 merc has start stop so aircon will off at traffic stop as with engine & is totally acceptable in sg hot sun, maybe 20years later when future bb car get free start stop then bb owners get to appreciate new tech Blimey! Really? Wow amazing. My 2006 Prius can do that as well and the aircon stay blowing even the engine stop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TMR11 Clutched December 20, 2012 Share December 20, 2012 I bought Hybrid for its sheer power & efficiency ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paddie 3rd Gear December 21, 2012 Share December 21, 2012 (edited) While many r encouraging to go green, here u r telling us that u left ur engine on for 30 mins waiting for kids?! U cant be more wastefully idiotic...totally oblivious of wats happening ard u. Big frogs not even knowing they r in shallow wells.. I have to agree. Please park the car, switch off the engine and go wait under the shade somewhere. And even if a plug-in hybrid can be driven for a certain distance without using fuel, isn't fuel used to produce the electricity needed to charge the car? It may be cleaner, but it's not a 100% saint. Edited December 21, 2012 by Paddie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cluboxed 1st Gear December 21, 2012 Share December 21, 2012 I bought Hybrid for its sheer power & efficiency ! which model? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sugar Neutral Newbie December 21, 2012 Author Share December 21, 2012 (edited) While many r encouraging to go green, here u r telling us that u left ur engine on for 30 mins waiting for kids?! U cant be more wastefully idiotic...totally oblivious of wats happening ard u. Big frogs not even knowing they r in shallow wells.. i dont really care about the environment... i just want to save money on petrol. hybrid or not, i will still wait in the car... so it see which one will save more money... turning off engine not an option...lazy to argue why Edited December 21, 2012 by Sugar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leafable 1st Gear December 21, 2012 Share December 21, 2012 I have to agree. Please park the car, switch off the engine and go wait under the shade somewhere. And even if a plug-in hybrid can be driven for a certain distance without using fuel, isn't fuel used to produce the electricity needed to charge the car? It may be cleaner, but it's not a 100% saint. Will be a bit difficult to be 100% clean saint in Singapore with all those juicy Petrol tax revenue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic December 21, 2012 Share December 21, 2012 own RX hybrid, one of best car owned! so far no prob after driving 9 months Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear December 21, 2012 Share December 21, 2012 (edited) i dont really care about the environment... i just want to save money on petrol. hybrid or not, i will still wait in the car... so it see which one will save more money... turning off engine not an option...lazy to argue why With a parent's mindset like this...it's no wonder kids turn rotten nowadays. Probably lazy to teach kids the right way too in everything. No wonder the quality of sporeans r going downhill. No...should not have kids in the first place...probably cos the grandparents will teach their children (you) how to be lazy..(this), the grandparents hardworkingly taught & was successful. Save on petrol? Might as well dun buy a car...save tonnes on even more stuff..i'm lazy to even explain to someone who's plain lazy. Edited December 21, 2012 by Unfazed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear December 21, 2012 Share December 21, 2012 Will be a bit difficult to be 100% clean saint in Singapore with all those juicy Petrol tax revenue. Yes not easy to be a saint but most altitude simply sucks...hv attained certain social status but with no pride & integrity...well tats typical os sporeans..since when we follow rules...we r like kids in the playground..bully younger kids & kpkb or cry foul when we get bullied in return. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...