Haiz... My car got scratched

Cheesepiekia

Scratches are quite normal for a car...the more you take care to prevent these the more your car will get these scratches. So it is better to service your car after a certain period of time maintaining a regular interval.

I can see you are under-going training but we have do a lower threshold for abstract postings in this forum. I can see where you are coming from but I got no idea where you are heading. :mellow:

The best is that they wont even acknowledge and at least wave sorry...

My place HDB carpark...I was at the back cleaning out the unnecessary stuff from my boot this morning...beside me husband and wife got on their car..I know its a neighbor see them around the same block..wife opens the passenger door..BANG...I looked them, husband knows its quite a strong bang looks at me and goes his way...man if this was the other way around surely they would feel the same..

Anyway, don't want to spoil the holiday today so forget about it...

I had a similar incident on New Year very first morning. The fat lady swung the door freely to get on to her car, the door ended up hitting my passenger side door while my family was inside the car waiting for her to get into her car. I was very unhappy, but my wife stopped me doing anything as it was New Year Morning. My wife opened the glass and tell her to be careful with other cars! The fat lady gave a "WTF" look!

Very surprised to see this type of drivers here!

Looks like people are jealous of my new car. It's only 2 months old and comes with bidded "SKH" car registration number.

As i'm particular and over protective of my car, i always wash the car to keep it clean and shiny.

Just to clarify, i'm not those kind of driver that you describe who anyhow park their car and cause convenience to others. I hate these kind of drivers too.

If i park between cars, i make sure i leave equal amount of space for both sides. If the lot is too tight, i do not park.

I open my door carefully no matter what car make/model that is parked next to my car. As I matters my car door more!

I and my friend had enciuntered the same thing like you. Both of us brought our car brand new for less than few months few years ago and had scratches by those jealous ppl park at the same MSCP. No point to touch up as this kind of ppl will attack again once they saw your car so shiny unless you 1 2 play hide n see with them or install CCTV inside your car to catch them. Worse still if those park their van or small lorry next to your car, they will open the door hard to dent your car body, side door n you still can't even caught them. [furious]

If really want to protect the car then park at higher levels at a corner, less likely to get damaged.

To the OP, from the pics, it looks like they can be polished out. A simple finger nail test can determine - run your finger nail across the scratch. If it gets caught then its too deep and has gone through both the clear and colour coat and will need touch up / respray.

If your nail glides over or only the slightest dip, then the scratch is in the clear and can either be polished out or minimised.

Assuming you don't have access to a polishing machine, try firstly with a light polish like Meguiars 205 or Optimum Polish Ii and hand held foam polishing pad in small circular motions. Should results not be satisfactory, then step up to a cutting compound like Meguiars 105 or Optimum Compound II then refine with first combo again to remove micro scratches from the cutting stage.

Hope it all goes well [thumbsup]

HDB MSCP got a lot of green eye monsters...

haiz ... my car bought 2nd hand abt a month ago someone put a deep dent on the left door. I wonder like hey this is old car also do like this !

m not bothering to do anything abt it let more scratches n dents for one yr n then decide.

Sorry to hijack n change topic cos cannot start new thread m newbie here., I am so baffled by the fast and fuuurious drivers , I am triangle plate driver n m still perfecting my parking skills.

When there is no car behind me I park very nicely sometimes got car come behind i move to side to passs me so that I can park. This ppl like vert impatient n give dirty stares I tak boleh tahan...

I get nervous and give up and move on to another lot so that they can move ... But this ppl can turn turn look look like they have never been a new driver b4.... Why la so like that ... Very demoralizing ! :wacko:[crazy]

haiz ... my car bought 2nd hand abt a month ago someone put a deep dent on the left door. I wonder like hey this is old car also do like this !

m not bothering to do anything abt it let more scratches n dents for one yr n then decide.

Sorry to hijack n change topic cos cannot start new thread m newbie here., I am so baffled by the fast and fuuurious drivers , I am triangle plate driver n m still perfecting my parking skills.

When there is no car behind me I park very nicely sometimes got car come behind i move to side to passs me so that I can park. This ppl like vert impatient n give dirty stares I tak boleh tahan...

I get nervous and give up and move on to another lot so that they can move ... But this ppl can turn turn look look like they have never been a new driver b4.... Why la so like that ... Very demoralizing ! :wacko:[crazy]

take your time to park, dun let those stress u..

But is your triangle plate prominent? Display high n prominently so that others know u r new so they will be more forgiving..

My old van also got small scratches here and there, sian Liao. It's just a bread and butter car for transportation so hack care unless go for another 10 years then respray

Wow!!....new license already with own car. :o

make effort, practice to perfect......before that buy small convex mirrors to stick on both side mirrors, extremely useful for parking.

go Changi T3....... good place, lots of parking space to choose and good lighting. [thumbsup]

can also choose settings, between 2 cars or 1 car left or right, or both sides no cars.

go with dearest, after practice can supper together. [;)]

however when driving on the roads, keep left left and dun road hog us or ambulances [laugh]

Seems like nowadays many impatient driver around, they always do not have the patient to wait and give way to other drivers.

agree, think too stress and crowded ppl no longer have time and patient

Remind me of my prev prev E250, bought brand new and less than half year got long deep scratches cos my car always look shiny, regular to washing and waxing.

but now my rx bloody hell heck care, u can see sometimes my car one of the most dirtiest in road, just like come out from yellowish river and off road. No one attracted to my car, want scratch also scared dirtied their clothes [laugh]

Dent and ding is common just have to leave with it. It is nothing compare to hit and run and Vandalism.

next time parking let those car behind clear first than park than won't so stress, BTW the most stress is the car owner next to vacant car lot sitting in their car and see knock in their car some small ball one horn you while parking scare you will bang their car. That is driving in SG

take your time to park, dun let those stress u..

But is your triangle plate prominent? Display high n prominently so that others know u r new so they will be more forgiving..

Thnks for the encouragement. Yes the triangles are prominently displayed front n back. Maybe must put 4 pieces on back incase ppl canno see [bigcry] jus joking !

Wow!!....new license already with own car. :o

make effort, practice to perfect......before that buy small convex mirrors to stick on both side mirrors, extremely useful for parking.

go Changi T3....... good place, lots of parking space to choose and good lighting. [thumbsup]

can also choose settings, between 2 cars or 1 car left or right, or both sides no cars.

go with dearest, after practice can supper together. [;)]

however when driving on the roads, keep left left and dun road hog us or ambulances [laugh]

Thnks have not gone to t3, will check out convex mirrors. Hmm I don't road hog drive within speed limits n always give way to those impatient speed drivers after all got triangle stuck front n back don't want to gantung points being rash. F [shocked]