TatteredTorn Clutched December 16, 2012 Share December 16, 2012 Dear all, If your existing tyres were filled up with Nitrogen, is it ok to top it up with normal air? Or is it a must to top it up with Nitrogen only? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lancer79 Neutral Newbie December 16, 2012 Share December 16, 2012 Nitrogen only Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged December 16, 2012 Share December 16, 2012 Dear all, If your existing tyres were filled up with Nitrogen, is it ok to top it up with normal air? Or is it a must to top it up with Nitrogen only? it's ok to top up with normal air. Not as if nitorgen and normal air cannot be mix. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged December 16, 2012 Share December 16, 2012 Once you top up normal air... The Nitro percentage in the tyre will change... If you wanna go back to Nitro again gotto redo the old process... Normal air ard 78% but Nitro filled ard 95%... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyota62 2nd Gear December 16, 2012 Share December 16, 2012 where to top up? and how much it cost? if any..thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged December 16, 2012 Share December 16, 2012 it's ok to top up with normal air. Not as if nitorgen and normal air cannot be mix. true..but the leakage will be higher after mixing with normal air because the % of nitrogen is lesser Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jq1988 4th Gear December 16, 2012 Share December 16, 2012 i thought normal is good enough on sg road...unless driving long distance more than 200km or travel on high speed... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged December 17, 2012 Share December 17, 2012 Nitrogen leaks slower than normal air and dun built up so much heat as compare with air So prolong tyre lifespan and protect the rims and valves from oxidisation ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maskedrider 4th Gear December 17, 2012 Share December 17, 2012 i been driving to and back from KL with normal air travel at avg 150km .... no problem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rustyz 5th Gear December 17, 2012 Share December 17, 2012 Nitrogen leaks slower than normal air and dun built up so much heat as compare with air So prolong tyre lifespan and protect the rims and valves from oxidisation ... I been using nitrogen I really don;t think it can prolong tyre lifespan if the lifespan refer to thread wear Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic December 17, 2012 Share December 17, 2012 nitrogen is overhype lah......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EricTeh Neutral Newbie December 17, 2012 Share December 17, 2012 can i pump oxygen into my tires will it make a difference Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear December 17, 2012 Share December 17, 2012 My previous tyres have rotate over 50k km with normal air, the shop wanna pump in nitrogen but I didn't bother. After 50k km, still looks like able to tahan another 30k km. It's how you drive. If you drive fast in excess of 150kph frequently, car is heavy always do century sprint and zam brake at last min, even helium also won't help in the tyre wear. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear December 17, 2012 Share December 17, 2012 can i pump oxygen into my tires will it make a difference O2 is a good fuel for fire, it might catch fire when the temp is too high... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rider88 Neutral Newbie December 17, 2012 Share December 17, 2012 guys , do you all feel any different after pumping the nitrogen gas ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged December 17, 2012 Share December 17, 2012 (edited) The tyre shop guy told me that Nitrogen Filled tyre dun expand so much like normal ones when long distance driving Therefore it will prolong lifespan lor... I bot the Conti SSR from him got Free Nitrogen cum Rotation... Edited December 17, 2012 by Pohhenry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic December 17, 2012 Share December 17, 2012 Nitrogen in the atmosphere is already 78%. And the so called pumped in nitrogen is 100% pure?? Did they do a vacuum before introducing nitrogen into tyre?? Bottom line......waste money lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boo_saa Neutral Newbie December 17, 2012 Share December 17, 2012 Waste money waste time...that's what I felt. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...