Implication of Bumpers not aligned properly

Fuelsaver

Hi all, as above.

Recently looking at 2-3 yo cars. Noticed a number of them with such issues.

Is it a sign of serious accident previously, cos usually less serious ones can repair to original alignment / condition.

Appreciate ur constructive inputs.

mine too, the bumper misaligned and the right panel seems a bit loose. I think the previous owner had a accident and repair is not done perfectly

On 12/14/2012 at 4:05 PM, Porche said:

mine too, the bumper misaligned and the right panel seems a bit loose. I think the previous owner had a accident and repair is not done perfectly

Mine was bumped twice - and despite my DIY fixing, some of the brackets and screwholes remained broken. I've been driving around for months, but everything's hunky dory, except for that slight misalignment at the joints between the bumper line and the body panel near the left wheel arch.

From this video, you will have all the answers regarding poorly align "repaired" bumpers and plastic parts. Using glue is just not strong enough.

Edited by Yeobh

Mine front was bumped by some idiot more than a year ago and I don't intend to fix it...........'cos every time I fixed liao sure kena bump again........ [furious]

On 12/14/2012 at 4:21 PM, Siewss said:

Mine was bumped twice - and despite my DIY fixing, some of the brackets and screwholes remained broken. I've been driving around for months, but everything's hunky dory, except for that slight misalignment at the joints between the bumper line and the body panel near the left wheel arch.

I destroyed my front bumper headlights n grill once n after repair all done nicely n cant even tell its all new.

Any decent body shop sud b able to do it.

If its loose or crooked most likely was a bad diy job. See if u can loosen e nuts n screws n align it properly n tighten back.

If it still looks funny u sud go bodyshop to check cos might mean some chassis n body damage needs to b fixed.

My subaru bumper is so thin, is more like a visual curtain than a rigid element.

A small scrape with the kerb, and it's deformed out of shape.

As such, I no longer consider misaligned bumper of an indication of a major accident.

On 12/15/2012 at 12:58 AM, Yoongf said:

My subaru bumper is so thin, is more like a visual curtain than a rigid element.

A small scrape with the kerb, and it's deformed out of shape.

As such, I no longer consider misaligned bumper of an indication of a major accident.

If e plastic bumper is dented n not cracked ws can heat it n mould it back into shape.

On 12/15/2012 at 12:50 AM, Pisces69 said:

I destroyed my front bumper headlights n grill once n after repair all done nicely n cant even tell its all new.

Any decent body shop sud b able to do it.

If its loose or crooked most likely was a bad diy job. See if u can loosen e nuts n screws n align it properly n tighten back.

If it still looks funny u sud go bodyshop to check cos might mean some chassis n body damage needs to b fixed.

Lidat seemed like hard to find decent body shop, cos cars i looking at r suv n mini mpv.

I'm more inclined to suspect a more serious accident to the extent where perfect alignment is not possible.

Tks guys. If u would see sponsor thread belonging to bh auto, u would know the reason I started this thread. There was an altis that got fr n rr collision not properly aligned, even can see fr photos.

When I last viewed a b200, it's fr rt n rear left bumper looked somewhat off even my wife also queried. Would AA be able to detect ?

Edited by Fuelsaver

Most of the shops are just using simple measuring taps and their eyes to do the alignment [laugh] without any reference to the particular car make and model chassis and body measurement data. The accuracy and alignment is therefore questionable.

post-272-1355536446_thumb.jpg

On 12/15/2012 at 1:40 AM, Fuelsaver said:

Lidat seemed like hard to find decent body shop, cos cars i looking at r suv n mini mpv.

I'm more inclined to suspect a more serious accident to the extent where perfect alignment is not possible.

U might b right but nowadays even quite serious damage can b put right. Looks is easy but u must b careful of hidden damage which makes car unsafe to drive. Chassis damage must b done properly otherwise handling wil b poor.

On 12/15/2012 at 1:44 AM, Fuelsaver said:

Tks guys. If u would see sponsor thread belonging to bh auto, u would know the reason I started this thread. There was an altis that got fr n rr collision not properly aligned, even can see fr photos.

When I last viewed a b200, it's fr rt n rear left bumper looked somewhat off even my wife also queried. Would AA be able to detect ?

Those inspection ctr can do accident damage chks n see if its repaired properly.

Just b careful. Dun send to inspection ctr recommended by e car dealer cos ty sometimes got connection n u might not get a very honest report.

On 12/15/2012 at 1:54 AM, Yeobh said:

Most of the shops are just using simple measuring taps and their eyes to do the alignment [laugh] without any reference to the particular car make and model chassis and body measurement data. The accuracy and alignment is therefore questionable.

Very informative bro. If u were to setup a workshop, surely ill patronize u :)

Oh ya, that eye power is a technique called agaration!

Looks like we r doomed in spore... With non-pros claiming they r pros.

Edited by Fuelsaver

On 12/15/2012 at 2:03 AM, Pisces69 said:

Those inspection ctr can do accident damage chks n see if its repaired properly.

Just b careful. Dun send to inspection ctr recommended by e car dealer cos ty sometimes got connection n u might not get a very honest report.

That y I only wanna send to AA, looked like they more impartial n favored by some forummers here.

I'm more concerned with other implicated parts after accident that might not be changed n kept breaking down, even the test drive revealed engine ok, gb shifting ok. But still can be one off type of smooth situation.

On 12/15/2012 at 5:15 AM, Fuelsaver said:

Very informative bro. If u were to setup a workshop, surely ill patronize u :)

Oh ya, that eye power is a technique called agaration!

Looks like we r doomed in spore... With non-pros claiming they r pros.

In sg n jb even i encounter young green trainee mech tok like expert n try to physco me with all sorts of bullsheet.

He dunno i quite experienced. Then i slowly teach him about car n he slowly look down dare not look me straight in e eye.

I later told him i used to do my own car repairs he pai seh shy shy smile. After that he never tried to con me again.

Hahaha. Its very common as ty say empty vessels make e most noise.

On 12/15/2012 at 5:17 AM, Fuelsaver said:

That y I only wanna send to AA, looked like they more impartial n favored by some forummers here.

I'm more concerned with other implicated parts after accident that might not be changed n kept breaking down, even the test drive revealed engine ok, gb shifting ok. But still can be one off type of smooth situation.

True. I also feel AA is more reliable.