Michael Palmer resigns from PAP/MP/Speaker of Parliament

Duckduck

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/speaker-of-parlia...-054105126.html

Speaker of Parliament and Member of Parliament Michael Palmer has resigned from the People's Action Party and his Parliament position due to an "improper relationship" with a PA staff member in his constituency.

At a hastily arranged press conference on Wednesday afternoon, Pasir-Ris Punggol MP Palmer told local media he was resigning to avoid "further embarrassment" and he took "full responsibility" for the "grave mistake".

"I am deeply sorry, and apologise unreservedly to consituents and family," he said.

The staff member, who was working in the Pasir Ris Punggol GRC, has also resigned.

Palmer, a former St Andrews alumni, was elected as the MP for Punggol after defeating candidates from the Workers' Party and the Singapore Democratic Alliance at the 2011 May general election. The 44-year-old lawyer is married with one child.

Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean apologised to residents of Punggol East at the press conference.

"We will put things right and continue to look after you," he told local media.

Teo Ser Luck will take over Palmer's MP role in the constituency, while Charles Chong will take over the role of Acting Speaker of Parliament.

Palmer's resignation comes on the back of a series of high profile sex scandals involving politicians and top civil servants in the past year.

means what????

Edited by Baphomet

no lah, he say WP byelection in hougang waste taxpayers $$$ mah...

Buying buses for our public transport system and yet want to increase public transport fees waste more of our money than a by election...

I think he resigned from PAP too.. meaning the SMC seat is effectively empty wef today..

At the discretion of the PM. So must see his mood.

now i'm more keen to know if CSJ will go and fight it out if there's a by election???

I hope he doesn't...........waste time and will only dilute the votes...............in favor of PAP............ [:(] [:(] [:(]

Current law say it is up to PM how and when by-election is held.

TSL just "helping out" so that the residents still have somebody to help them complain to govt depts.

What I want to know,

Who broke the news? I would think that the "affair" was about to go public, which is why he act now. If everything still underwraps, why would he resign?

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/speaker-of-parlia...-054105126.html

Speaker of Parliament and Member of Parliament Michael Palmer has resigned from the People's Action Party and his Parliament position due to an "improper relationship" with a PA staff member in his constituency.

At a hastily arranged press conference on Wednesday afternoon, Pasir-Ris Punggol MP Palmer told local media he was resigning to avoid "further embarrassment" and he took "full responsibility" for the "grave mistake".

"I am deeply sorry, and apologise unreservedly to consituents and family," he said.

The staff member, who was working in the Pasir Ris Punggol GRC, has also resigned.

Palmer, a former St Andrews alumni, was elected as the MP for Punggol after defeating candidates from the Workers' Party and the Singapore Democratic Alliance at the 2011 May general election. The 44-year-old lawyer is married with one child.

Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean apologised to residents of Punggol East at the press conference.

"We will put things right and continue to look after you," he told local media.

Teo Ser Luck will take over Palmer's MP role in the constituency, while Charles Chong will take over the role of Acting Speaker of Parliament.

Palmer's resignation comes on the back of a series of high profile sex scandals involving politicians and top civil servants in the past year.

means what????

Meaning no by election, dude. Teo Ser Luck will juggle between his duties in Punggol SMC and that of Pasir Ris Punggol GRC.

Current law say it is up to PM how and when by-election is held.

TSL just "helping out" so that the residents still have somebody to help them complain to govt depts.

What I want to know,

Who broke the news? I would think that the "affair" was about to go public, which is why he act now. If everything still underwraps, why would he resign?

i thk he chose to quit instead of another NBG type case where all the juicy details come out... like this means no investigation lor.

[laugh] [laugh] [laugh] Dun worry, your tiko buddies applaud your honesty and will vote you in!

maybe declare up front can hor............"I declare I am tiko and I may not be able to tahan the temptation of my sexy female colleagues......but i promise I will do my best to serve you.....please vote for me!!!!"............. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

How can Teo Ser Luck suka suka take over? That's a SMC, not GRC.

There should be a by-election. Just like Hougang SMC.

its just helping to take care till byelection..that time hougang also same thing, the aljunied grc members help to take care till byelection called...

i thk he chose to quit instead of another NBG type case where all the juicy details come out... like this means no investigation lor.

Yeah lor - but to launch investigation, must have reason.

Correct or not?

I wonder where the rumours started and who by?

I also wonder why the other person resign? What prompted the action?

Was it gossip? A complaint? Something else?

People have affairs all the time, without being found out. I don't think he had a sudden attack of Jiminy Cricket, so why now?