Talking Point >>> Is your CPF enough for retirement?

Wt_know

On 5/31/2024 at 4:46 PM, Throttle2 said:

Than it better to stay in Singapore where you wont eat so much becos everythingso expensive…..heeheee.

Talking about that, today i just had some stupid basic ramen and it cost me $20   Totally ridiculous.  
For ¥2500, we’ll be getting the best Ramen in Japan.

Not really fair to use ramen comparison in 2 different countries. It's like amdk expats use cost of cheese, wine to compare in sg. 

Perhaps use bcm soup version in sg vs ramen in Japan. These 2 noodles are in a way native to the countries. 

@Throttle2 when my dad passed on in 1995, the estate duty at 5% put on dent on cash flow as I was halfway through Uni and my sister was in P6.

found out that they also tracked bank movement for about 5 years and lump it together as estate, even though bulk of it was from my late dad’s cpf withdrawal. If inheritance tax is brought in, if any, gg.

On 6/12/2024 at 2:25 PM, Evo5sg said:

@Throttle2 when my dad passed on in 1995, the estate duty at 5% put on dent on cash flow as I was halfway through Uni and my sister was in P6.

found out that they also tracked bank movement for about 5 years and lump it together as estate, even though bulk of it was from my late dad’s cpf withdrawal. If inheritance tax is brought in, if any, gg.

Sorry to hear that.  I recall that there is a certain threshold before they start looking at taxes for inheritance. Kinda recall it was $9m or something

On 6/12/2024 at 12:59 PM, Sdf4786k said:

bring back inheritance taxes...

I also think it should be brought back. Then less char siew kids around who are just idling and waiting for inheritance. 😆

But if brought back, then please cut some  taxes on other areas.

Edited by Stary

On 6/12/2024 at 6:57 PM, Stary said:

I also think it should be brought back. Then less char siew kids around who are just idling and waiting for inheritance. 😆

But if brought back, then please cut some  taxes on other areas.

Inheritance tax does not prevent char siew kids who are just idling and waiting for it, from having it.   At most have a bit less. But if they are already char siew, they remain char siew.  

Edited by Throttle2

On 6/12/2024 at 1:57 PM, Kxbc said:

Not really fair to use ramen comparison in 2 different countries. It's like amdk expats use cost of cheese, wine to compare in sg. 

Perhaps use bcm soup version in sg vs ramen in Japan. These 2 noodles are in a way native to the countries. 

Ok, understand your line of argument.  

lets just look at Big Mac PPP then, Japan still cheaper than Singapore, today.

On 6/17/2024 at 8:03 PM, Throttle2 said:

Ok, understand your line of argument.  

lets just look at Big Mac PPP then, Japan still cheaper than Singapore, today.

Been to Japan recently and went to various supermarkets and checked out their various groceries prices. Yes many items similar or cheaper than SG.

Rented car and wow petrol is much cheaper than SG, around $1.5 SGD per regular (95) ltr

Restaurant food is also cheaper, average in the high 10s for simple restaurant.

SG really jialat liao

On 6/17/2024 at 9:16 PM, t0y0ta said:

Been to Japan recently and went to various supermarkets and checked out their various groceries prices. Yes many items similar or cheaper than SG.

Rented car and wow petrol is much cheaper than SG, around $1.5 SGD per regular (95) ltr

SG really jialat liao

Not only is it cheaper in Japan, the quality and service is also better.

Singapore is just crap.  Service staff hardly smile, attitude is neutral at best not positive and they come across unwilling to do what they are paid for.  
Instead of accomodating, they would rather reject business. 

one personal experience is Coca restaurant.  Just a normal standard hotpot restaurant, nothing great at all. 
went yesterday at 615pm without reservation to an 80% empty restaurant, but waitress said no seats becos seats all reserved from 715pm oneards.

so we had to explain that we just want a quick dinner, a la carte not buffett, wouldnt stay past 7pm, and she still said cannot cannot. We actually had to insist and “guarantee” that we are ordering ala carte and will be done by reservation time..  finally she relented and said ok.  

Anyway we finished by 7pm as promised with the restaurant still 80% empty and paid $180 for the meal for 4 me wife and two girls.

Taste 5/10, will not return

Service 5/10, will not return

Value 5/10 , will not return

ok i am no big spender when it comes to food, usually max $50 per person in regular restaurant but dont ever epect me or my family to eat there again.   
Usually when taste cant make it, at least service and value can. If service cant make it, at least taste and value can. If value cant make it at least taste and service can.  This one all cannot.    

however, Coca doesnt need to feel too bad. 🤣😂They are not the only ones with such lousy score. Many Singapore restaurants are like that.  Crap service, lousy attitude. Mediocre food.  Unpleasant experience.  No pride, no professionalim as a service staff.  

f**ked up Singapore service attitude and culture.   

Edited by Throttle2

On 6/17/2024 at 9:55 PM, Throttle2 said:

Singapore is just crap.  Service staff hardly smile, attitude is neutral at best not positive and they come across unwilling to do what they are paid for.  

one personal experience is Coca restaurant.  Just a normal standard hotpot restaurant, nothing great at all. 
went yesterday at 615pm without reservation to an 80% empty restaurant, but waitress said no seats becos seats all reserved from 715pm oneards.

so we had to explain that we just want a quick dinner, a la carte not buffett, wouldnt stay past 7pm, and she still said cannot cannot. We actually had to insist and “guarantee” that we are ordering ala carte and will be done by reservation time..  finally she relented and said ok.  

Anyway we finished by 7pm as promised with the restaurant still 80% empty and paid $180 for the meal for 4 me wife and two girls.

ok i am no big spender when it comes to food, usually max $50 per person in regular restaurant but dont ever epect me or my family to eat there again.   
Usually when taste cant make it, at least service and value can. If service cant make it, at least taste and value can. If value cant make it at least taste and service can.  This one all cannot.    

however, Coca doesnt need to feel too bad. 🤣😂They are not the only ones with such lousy score. Many Singapore restaurants are like that.  Crap service, lousy attitude. Mediocre food.  Unpleasant experience.  No pride, no professionalim as a service staff.  

I go DTF for more consistent service...granted some outlets begin to fade oredi...wwp amd cp1 are my current favourites...tenpenis and seletar mall are my blacklisted...😁

On 6/17/2024 at 10:10 PM, mersaylee said:

I go DTF for more consistent service...granted some outlets begin to fade oredi...wwp amd cp1 are my current favourites...tenpenis and seletar mall are my blacklisted...😁

Seriously, when you travel abroad often to places around our region , Singapore restaurants in general just lose in all categories , value, service and quality.

when you are gonna charge me 10% for service, i am gonna demand some standard.  
Not as if the food is so marvelous that no other place can cook as well.

The worst are those which charge service and dont even provide water or wet wipe with the service charge.  Pwui! To hell with them. 
singaporeans are just lame suckers in general.

I had dinner at fish head steam boat in Kallang Place.

We arrived at 5:30pm with 80% empty.

Before 6, it was 100% filled.

When we finished, there was q.

On 6/17/2024 at 10:10 PM, mersaylee said:

For DTF, I only go OG outlet, Paragon.

On 6/17/2024 at 10:43 PM, inlinesix said:

I had dinner at fish head steam boat in Kallang Place.

We arrived at 5:30pm with 80% empty.

Before 6, it was 100% filled.

When we finished, there was q.

You missing the point, again, it seems.  Or maybe i am missing yours.  What is it???

If its filled its filled, if it isnt it isnt. 

You arrived at 530pm 80% empty, ok

before 6 it was 100% filled , ok

when you finished there was a q, ok.

so??

Edited by Throttle2

On 6/17/2024 at 10:17 PM, Throttle2 said:

Seriously, when you travel abroad often to places around our region , Singapore restaurants in general just lose in all categories , value, service and quality.

when you are gonna charge me 10% for service, i am gonna demand some standard.  
Not as if the food is so marvelous that no other place can cook as well.

The worst are those which charge service and dont even provide water or wet wipe with the service charge.  Pwui! To hell with them. 
singaporeans are just lame suckers in general.

Me too...value service level over price and quality...if not good enuf for me...at least make up with the other two mah...

That's why nowadays i go more often to places without the 10%...at least wont feel too bad about paying extra for the lack of it...i know some may say it's all priced into the menu...well...can't win all the times lah...even service at cc also dropping liao...sometimes i find the fellows at my nearby zichar stall more friendly...😂

On 6/17/2024 at 9:16 PM, t0y0ta said:

SG really jialat liao

agree. general food quality, price, value for money and service Singapore loses big time to most of the regional countries around. Compared to Japan, there is a wide gap.