Icebrush79 4th Gear December 12, 2012 Share December 12, 2012 Strut bars doesn't really make your car a supercar.... I know gold bars does though... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 12, 2012 Share December 12, 2012 I think yr time u more familiar wh la sup bars. Hahaha. no, no, i most familari with Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Manmaster 2nd Gear December 12, 2012 Share December 12, 2012 Strut bars doesn't really make your car a supercar.... I know gold bars does though... Gold bars in car will only slow your speed and increase your fuel consumption. Will also attract car hijackers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear December 12, 2012 Share December 12, 2012 I would say additions like strut bars and spoilers don't serve any purpose if you are talking about everyday driving in Singapore. Spoiler got purpose leh, to use as picnic table when you drink beer or coke. But yeah, normal driving, you do not need anything fancy other than a good set of tires that works in our climate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lava 5th Gear December 12, 2012 Share December 12, 2012 Those bars may cause permanent deformation damage to the chassis. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ungtiong 2nd Gear December 12, 2012 Share December 12, 2012 (edited) from what i read, ARB is acts like a balancing bar, when u corner to one side and the car starts to lean, the bar will "distribute" the load to the opposite wheel (basically preventing the wheels from one side to be much higher/lower than the other, thus reducing the lean), in effect the tyre that is being lean on has less grip. I dont agree most car in stock form are the ideal setup. My car Altis for example, was design for roads in India, Thailand. Philippines and what we get in Singapore is a car design for rough roads with lots of pot holes..therefore the overly soft suspension and HUGE fender gap is an overkill in Singapore (it rocks like a boat). Its not very safe as well, the car cannot even make a slow 15km/hr tight turn at the carpark without losing control, dont talk about the highway. So if u see an Altis turning slowly at an exit/entry ramp (especially those that go 270 degrees round), u know why. At a slow 70km/hr, it will lean very severely to one side. passenger will definitely feel some fear of crashing liao..driver also will lose confidence and slow down...maybe thats y its 'safe' cause ppl dont dare to speed in an Altis... I will change the suspension first, unless u like it that soft. Even a shock absorber change is a good upgrade liao. Even my parents driving the car (after shock absorber change) felt the difference and commented it was never this "smooth"... they know nuts about cars. Edited December 12, 2012 by Ungtiong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 13, 2012 Share December 13, 2012 no, no, i most familari with Alamak so u diy expert. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 13, 2012 Share December 13, 2012 Gold bars in car will only slow your speed and increase your fuel consumption. Will also attract car hijackers! I dont mind going slower. U want to put some gold bars in my car u r most welcome. Hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 13, 2012 Share December 13, 2012 (edited) from what i read, ARB is acts like a balancing bar, when u corner to one side and the car starts to lean, the bar will "distribute" the load to the opposite wheel (basically preventing the wheels from one side to be much higher/lower than the other, thus reducing the lean), in effect the tyre that is being lean on has less grip. I dont agree most car in stock form are the ideal setup. My car Altis for example, was design for roads in India, Thailand. Philippines and what we get in Singapore is a car design for rough roads with lots of pot holes..therefore the overly soft suspension and HUGE fender gap is an overkill in Singapore (it rocks like a boat). Its not very safe as well, the car cannot even make a slow 15km/hr tight turn at the carpark without losing control, dont talk about the highway. So if u see an Altis turning slowly at an exit/entry ramp (especially those that go 270 degrees round), u know why. At a slow 70km/hr, it will lean very severely to one side. passenger will definitely feel some fear of crashing liao..driver also will lose confidence and slow down...maybe thats y its 'safe' cause ppl dont dare to speed in an Altis... I will change the suspension first, unless u like it that soft. Even a shock absorber change is a good upgrade liao. Even my parents driving the car (after shock absorber change) felt the difference and commented it was never this "smooth"... they know nuts about cars. On the contrary, I see many Altis driving faster than tortise, Wish driving as if wishing for death wish and Rush rushing to lao sai. I always wonder how come they have such big balls to drive so fast and switch lane like JB motorcycles. Soft suspension does not always necessary mean severe lean and poor handling during cornering. The whole suspension setup plays an important part. French cars are known to have supple suspension, scramblers have soft suspension and high clearance too, but are better handler than many roadies. Edited December 13, 2012 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gasguzzler 1st Gear December 13, 2012 Share December 13, 2012 On the contrary, I see many Altis driving faster than tortise, Wish driving as if wishing for death wish and Rush rushing to lao sai. I always wonder how come they have such big balls to drive so fast and switch lane like JB motorcycles. Soft suspension does not always necessary mean severe lean and poor handling during cornering. The whole suspension setup plays an important part. French cars are known to have supple suspension, scramblers have soft suspension and high clearance too, but are better handler than many roadies. I second that. U forgot to mention Rav4s. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 13, 2012 Share December 13, 2012 Alamak so u diy expert. better the palm master than the grave mistake palm sperm master Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 13, 2012 Share December 13, 2012 better the palm master than the grave mistake palm sperm master Wah u tok all riddles n code. I also cannot ustand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 13, 2012 Share December 13, 2012 Wah u tok all riddles n code. I also cannot ustand. That time is DIY fashion, today is palm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Holdenutessv Turbocharged December 13, 2012 Share December 13, 2012 Spoiler got purpose leh, to use as picnic table when you drink beer or coke. But yeah, normal driving, you do not need anything fancy other than a good set of tires that works in our climate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zenithpool 2nd Gear December 13, 2012 Share December 13, 2012 Strut bar help a lot in my handling (imho). especially since it is low cost, I thot it is value for money. Had not try anti-roll thou. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear December 13, 2012 Share December 13, 2012 Spoiler got purpose leh, to use as picnic table when you drink beer or coke. But yeah, normal driving, you do not need anything fancy other than a good set of tires that works in our climate. then how come ur previous evo got this big gt wing behind? i rem u always say u drive within limits one lei.. or u always go pinic? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic December 13, 2012 Share December 13, 2012 My stun bar can aid me to do cornering at 180km/hr. PS...I miss that kid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear December 13, 2012 Share December 13, 2012 from my experience, strut bars do help on the handling especially sharp bend/cornering. however, you cannot expect it to perform significantly. you need more than strut bars for the performance like coil-over, low-profile rims, lowering, etc. with just strut bars, you can feel the difference but don't expect wonders. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...