Jamesc Hypersonic November 1, 2018 Share November 1, 2018 Maybe now is a good time for competitors to grab cable customers. They couldn't fight because only one company can offer cable. Now everyone can offer fibre so what advantage does SH have? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged November 1, 2018 Share November 1, 2018 People have a habit of doing things last minutes. The slower the switch from cable to fibre the more worried they will be. The better the offer to switch will be. Free installation, free connection, free router, free 2 years subscription. Anyone can think of anything else? Free TV channels? yup ... i took up that offer !! anyway, i might subscribe to your notion that cable is a strategic backup ... it might not be removed but restricted to official use only ? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleAtas Turbocharged November 1, 2018 Share November 1, 2018 What if closer to the date all fees are charge higher. No freebies and etc. You never pay you don't have network. Jialatttt... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic November 1, 2018 Share November 1, 2018 What if closer to the date all fees are charge higher. No freebies and etc. You never pay you don't have network. Jialatttt... Got 3 other service providers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleAtas Turbocharged November 1, 2018 Share November 1, 2018 Got 3 other service providers. I am actually with ViewQwest. Better than SH IMO. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic November 1, 2018 Share November 1, 2018 I am actually with ViewQwest. Better than SH IMO. I go check out their plans. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic November 1, 2018 Share November 1, 2018 I hope SH can offer fibre 200 mbps at $19.90 for people that don't need the latest and greatest like me. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndrewLee72 6th Gear November 1, 2018 Share November 1, 2018 Aiyah just share broadband with your good neighbour lah.. Hoot 1 x cat5e cable from yr house to their router. Put 1 x AP in yr house. Share out monthly subscription. Haha 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 Noob question. If SH pay TV moves to Fibre, will subscriber have to get SH Fibre Broadband only and therefore cant use other Fibre providers like Singtel? Does that mean u cant have a Mio TV and a SH box at the same time cos Mio TV has to run from Singtel Fibre Broadband to get the feed I’m told. Obviously it makes no sense to get 2 Fibre Broadbands just to support 2 different pay TVs right? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 Noob question. If SH pay TV moves to Fibre, will subscriber have to get SH Fibre Broadband only and therefore cant use other Fibre providers like Singtel? Does that mean u cant have a Mio TV and a SH box at the same time cos Mio TV has to run from Singtel Fibre Broadband to get the feed I’m told. Obviously it makes no sense to get 2 Fibre Broadbands just to support 2 different pay TVs right? Can. The fibre OTP box has a few ports, used by different service providers. But the idea of paying for multiple broadband is indeed dumb. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 Luckily I stopped renewing my "black box" licence key last year when the supplier said I have to buy new box yet again with the new licence key. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 Can. The fibre OTP box has a few ports, used by different service providers. But the idea of paying for multiple broadband is indeed dumb. I know the port can support but u will be paying x 2 for diff fibre broadband which is ridiculous. Singtel charges for the broadband and the mio tv is additional. As SH was on cable before, u only need to pay for the pay tv but now must get SH fibre broadband which surely will be a separate charge right? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 I know the port can support but u will be paying x 2 for diff fibre broadband which is ridiculous. Singtel charges for the broadband and the mio tv is additional. As SH was on cable before, u only need to pay for the pay tv but now must get SH fibre broadband which surely will be a separate charge right? if you only get fiber tv and dun need the starhub fiber broadband, they will use the singtel modem/router to connect to the starhub tv box. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 if you only get fiber tv and dun need the starhub fiber broadband, they will use the singtel modem/router to connect to the starhub tv box. Oh so that means only need 1 Fibre broadband n not 2, thanks! Think other way round cannot ie get starhub pay tv n broadband n connect Mio TV to the starhub fibre broadband? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 Oh so that means only need 1 Fibre broadband n not 2, thanks! Think other way round cannot ie get starhub pay tv n broadband n connect Mio TV to the starhub fibre broadband? Fiber only connect to ONT and then the router, from there you can connect to different tv box, Mio tv or starhub, so the fiber broadband plan can get from any provider. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 Fiber only connect to ONT and then the router, from there you can connect to different tv box, Mio tv or starhub, so the fiber broadband plan can get from any provider. Oh ok tks! Last time the Mio TV sales told me only can connect to Singtel Fibre Broadband so I kena con but then again for Fibre Broadband, most package price thereabouts so no diff I suppose but still don’t like to be told an untruth. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndrewLee72 6th Gear November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 I renewed SH cable basic tier plan. SH gave me Free Fibre 1G plan and Free Linksys AC router. Sibei good deal - go call SH to renew your cable tv plan if you still need to watch the programs. 1G Fibre - saving of $39 per month b4 Gst !!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 Luckily I stopped renewing my "black box" licence key last year when the supplier said I have to buy new box yet again with the new licence key. wife's colleague using the "new" one, which do not need to plug in. Will ask for more info ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...