Beehive3783 Turbocharged November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 No need to plug in internet? Anyway I would just give up on the "box" once it starts giving problems. With so many good channels already closed, really no point to continue "subscription" to the "box" wife's colleague using the "new" one, which do not need to plug in. Will ask for more info ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 I hope SH can offer fibre 200 mbps at $19.90 for people that don't need the latest and greatest like me. SH must have read my post and just SMS me offering 1GBPS at $19.90 for 24 months. Now I must check if fibre installation will be free. That's the most important. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 SH must have read my post and just SMS me offering 1GBPS at $19.90 for 24 months. Now I must check if fibre installation will be free. That's the most important. i also received today 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
lausai88 Hypersonic November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 Oh ok tks! Last time the Mio TV sales told me only can connect to Singtel Fibre Broadband so I kena con but then again for Fibre Broadband, most package price thereabouts so no diff I suppose but still don’t like to be told an untruth. Not true. TV and broadband must be from same telco. Mio TV work on Singtel broadband SH TV work on SH broadband or cable 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 Not true. TV and broadband must be from same telco. Mio TV work on Singtel broadband SH TV work on SH broadband or cable That's right, the ont is not shared between telcos. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 That's right, the ont is not shared between telcos. is it? I thought bandwidth can share and only tv box that make the different. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 Not true. TV and broadband must be from same telco. Mio TV work on Singtel broadband SH TV work on SH broadband or cable That means what the Mio TV sales guy told me is true afterall but that also means that if u have 2 pay TV boxes, u will need 2 Different broadbands which in turn means additional costs which was what my noob question in my original post was all about. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndrewLee72 6th Gear November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 Wah SH 1Gig Fiber lelong price liao ahhhhhhh Dam fierce competition siaaaaaa 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 That means what the Mio TV sales guy told me is true afterall but that also means that if u have 2 pay TV boxes, u will need 2 Different broadbands which in turn means additional costs which was what my noob question in my original post was all about. My understanding is you can have SH fibre TV without the BB and you can have BB from any other company. http://www.starhub.com/personal/for-your-home/tv/get-started/hd-packs/knowledge-pack.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 Wah SH 1Gig Fiber lelong price liao ahhhhhhh Dam fierce competition siaaaaaa Still can't get 1gbps huh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 (edited) That means what the Mio TV sales guy told me is true afterall but that also means that if u have 2 pay TV boxes, u will need 2 Different broadbands which in turn means additional costs which was what my noob question in my original post was all about. My understanding is you can have Mio TV without the BB and you can have BB from any other company. If you go to ST website you can order just Mio TV without getting their BB. Edited November 2, 2018 by Jamesc 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 No leh.... I still don't understnad why they still insist on charging a monthly rental for the set-top box. My understanding is you can have SH fibre TV without the BB and you can have BB from any other company. http://www.starhub.com/personal/for-your-home/tv/get-started/hd-packs/knowledge-pack.html 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 My understanding is you can have SH fibre TV without the BB and you can have BB from any other company. http://www.starhub.com/personal/for-your-home/tv/get-started/hd-packs/knowledge-pack.html Wow 2 different versions on extreme ends of the ruler n even our bros in this thread don’t seem to have a consensus on whether or not need separate broadbands or not. So my noob question not so noob afterall. Anyway tks for replying! 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 (edited) Income opportunity. Nothing wrong to collect more $$$ Subscription is the trend now. Microsucks software also using this method to ensure continuous future income. One day car maker will also do it. Pay annual subscription or your car will not start. No leh.... Screenshot_20181102-235346_Chrome.jpg I still don't understnad why they still insist on charging a monthly rental for the set-top box. Edited November 2, 2018 by Kangadrool 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 No leh.... Screenshot_20181102-235346_Chrome.jpg I still don't understnad why they still insist on charging a monthly rental for the set-top box. OIC so if just want SH TV have to buy the BB as well and if want to Mio TV also have to buy BB from them as well. Wow that like paying for the duplicate service we don't need. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 Subscribe to StarHub TV Looking for TV and Broadband?Get our Fibre TV and Broadband bundle. Learn more Just need TV?Register here for Fibre TV. Learn more The webpage above is redundant. Just need TV? Well looks like you can't have it cos you need to get BB as well. That's what it looks like to me. Or what they mean is Just need TV? Cos you already bought the BB? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged November 2, 2018 Share November 2, 2018 is it? I thought bandwidth can share and only tv box that make the different.It's all got to do with the Op-Co, as StarHub and Singtel are on different Op-Co now, so will need to have their own ONT. As there is only a pair of fiber coming in to your house through the Net-Co which will only terminate to either 1 coy's Op-Co. Used to be able to share as when this NGNBN was roll out by the govt, there is only 1 Op-Co but after the funding is over, each coy start up their own Op-Co. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic November 3, 2018 Share November 3, 2018 Yeah, but it is a piece of essential equipment in order to receive the content I subscribed. It's like saying I have a choice to not rent the set top box and choose to only subscribe to the service. I was thinking with the competition abound these days, at the least they could have absorbed the rental fees or assimilate the rental fees into the monthly subscription rate rather than an outright "base charge" Income opportunity. Nothing wrong to collect more $$$ Subscription is the trend now. Microsucks software also using this method to ensure continuous future income. One day car maker will also do it. Pay annual subscription or your car will not start. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...