Anyone changing job next yr?

Babyt

On 12/7/2012 at 8:14 AM, Kurty said:

Working life really not easy..

Last job, 8 mths. Current, also on contract base, was promised to get a perm post after 3 mths contract. Now with disney taking over, future is uncertain, most likely to be extend to a total of 9 mths contract..

When in june, got to plan again..

see something better, just jump ship.... no time for sentiments.

for Make su

On 12/7/2012 at 9:18 AM, Noctis said:

Not yet mate, Planning to do my DM course somewhere (free, sign contract, work for them after for a few months, save the cash), then move on to instructor in another country. Philippines I guess. A total of about 1 year here, from then on it's working at dive resorts for awhile, save up a bit of money, move on to the next location. All done with just a backpack and little money, if I can get free accommodation while working around, best, make friends with other travelers and backpackers, bunk in together with em to split costs of inns. I guess, I won't earn a lot of money, but then again, at such remote places, money isn't needed also, and I enjoy what I do, dive, sport climbing at cliffs and mountains. oh and, the women from all over the globe.

May I know how old r u? Cos I have dome something like this before, just that i was a volunteer in a kibbutz in israel. Some pointers for u.

1) Have a plan. For example, make sure u can work legally, that ur cert and visas are in order. Dun wing it, at least initially. Make sure u know of a dive shop willing to hire you. Once you have started work there, you can start planning for your next place of work.

2) Finances. Make sure you have money for at least a month when you return while you look for a job. Unless your parents are willing to support you.

3) Insurance. Make sure whatever you do does not void the terms and conditions of your travel insurance.

4) Be careful who you bunk with. As you are travelling together, sometimes you can get very close to someone even though you have known him a short while.

Enjoy yourself.

On 12/7/2012 at 9:33 AM, Porker said:

If someone offers me S$50,000 per month then I don't mind changing :D

so if we take 50k as the salary after 30% increment

your present job pays you 38.5k/mth

On 12/7/2012 at 11:21 AM, Leslielai said:

Changing! Serving notice now but yet to confirm new side. Crossing over to public.. not sure if it's the right thing to do <_<

In comparison to private, you'll find things more relaxing, and things proceed with a more glacial pace due to different departments tripping up each other while also being tripped up by red tape... [laugh]

Can be frustrating but take it with the right attitude and mindset. Everybody seems like rushing, but in reality it's mostly a "holding pattern" [laugh]

On 12/7/2012 at 8:14 AM, Kurty said:

Working life really not easy..

Last job, 8 mths. Current, also on contract base, was promised to get a perm post after 3 mths contract. Now with disney taking over, future is uncertain, most likely to be extend to a total of 9 mths contract..

When in june, got to plan again..

I thought you in semicon? Change already? :huh:

Haha this is currently my 6th job in 11 years and also the most satisfying so far...hope to be here as long as I can unless for a career advancement in the next 4-5yrs...otherwise I will stay put.. [laugh]

I only worked in 2 companies in my 8 years of working (already feel old liao), & the first one is due to division close down. But i have work in 3 different locations. One of them is of course Singapore, all in my current company.

You know you are old liao, when the younger co worker do not know what is a cassette.

  On 12/7/2012 at 3:15 PM, Maz0608 said:

I thought you in semicon? Change already? :huh:

yeah, no choice. company not giving any perm so got to move. and now, also on contract..

sometime, i just feel like calling it a day and do something else..

On 12/7/2012 at 3:27 PM, Damienic said:

Haha this is currently my 6th job in 11 years and also the most satisfying so far...hope to be here as long as I can unless for a career advancement in the next 4-5yrs...otherwise I will stay put.. [laugh]

Lol, you change job every 2 years?! :blink: How you tell the interviewer that you are not a 'job hopper' and will give you the job?! [:/]

Ooh la la. Thanks for the offer, but I think it's southeast Asia for me currently, just tropical islands, "kampung style" you know? Get away from the hustle and bustle of big cities, live in little coastal towns and such. Rustic, primitive and quiet.

I guess I like to travel without a plan in mind, the idea is to screw things up. Screw up, and then learn and develop situational problem solving skills. Also, I travel on a tight budget, I hate anything to do with luxury, I could sleep in a pigsty for all I care if it saves me lots of money, it just has to keep me warm at night and have a shower, that's it. Hahaha.

And hey don't worry about the girls part, I have dated Europeans (dutch, etc)

But I guess that's not in my focus now, for now, it's just discovering the world and myself.

On 12/7/2012 at 4:51 PM, Noctis said:

Ooh la la. Thanks for the offer, but I think it's southeast Asia for me currently, just tropical islands, "kampung style" you know? Get away from the hustle and bustle of big cities, live in little coastal towns and such. Rustic, primitive and quiet.

I guess I like to travel without a plan in mind, the idea is to screw things up. Screw up, and then learn and develop situational problem solving skills. Also, I travel on a tight budget, I hate anything to do with luxury, I could sleep in a pigsty for all I care if it saves me lots of money, it just has to keep me warm at night and have a shower, that's it. Hahaha.

And hey don't worry about the girls part, I have dated Europeans (dutch, etc)

But I guess that's not in my focus now, for now, it's just discovering the world and myself.

Advice?

Make sure u have an escape plan. Travel insurance, emergency contact and so on. As for pigsty, make sure u can really take it and not go into it then get diarrhoea.

As for girls, in some parts of SEA, PLEASE DUN FLIRT. Since u r going to kampung, ppl are more conservative

Many people thinking greener pasture over the other side...but is it true? ..every company come with same s--t....weight the pro and cons carefully....remember....during retrencement.....last in always become the first out....next year is indeed not so promising....so do think again...it is only worth a change if the opportunity is too good to be missed....eg: higher position, better pay (20 to 30% increase) or more explosure.....good luck...

  On 12/8/2012 at 1:59 AM, Philipkee said:

Advice?

Make sure u have an escape plan. Travel insurance, emergency contact and so on. As for pigsty, make sure u can really take it and not go into it then get diarrhoea.

As for girls, in some parts of SEA, PLEASE DUN FLIRT. Since u r going to kampung, ppl are more conservative

Yes that of course. But I'm moving away from civilization, trying not to be a city dweller isn't it.

And the girls, I don't think I'm the sort to flirt around, although I do get into trouble a fair bit.

But the idea is to get away from the normal troubles of life, no thoughts of money, relationship or family woes.

  On 12/8/2012 at 1:59 AM, Philipkee said:

Advice?

Yes that of course. But I'm moving away from civilization, trying not to be a city dweller isn't it.

And the girls, I don't think I'm the sort to flirt around, although I do get into trouble a fair bit.

But the idea is to get away from the normal troubles of life, no thoughts of money, relationship or family woes.