Taiwan: Holiday in Taipei & Tainan

Maxus-MIFA9

Taxi to airport not so cheap bah. $NT1.2-1.4k

OK lah, hear you loud and clear....no need to post 4X lah...... [laugh]

Yes la, just took 3 days ago. :D

But hotel transfer will be much more ex than taxi......my friend took once from hotel to airport and it quoted him NT$1.5K iirc.....

That I'm not sure, as I arrived in Tao Yuan early morning so took a coach at airport to ximen, paid ard NT$150 per pax. As for hotel-airport, I paid NT$880. Can find the taxis ard Ximenting area if staying there, got taxi drivers distributing namecards there.

You damn lucky like tio bey pio, locals can't even get

The discount tickets, and he even complained online and

Was featured on TVBS that is bluff people one. Really if you bought

30% off, better go buy 4D/TOTO hor.

Normal early booking only gets you 10-15% discount.

The 35 or 30% earlybird discount only apply to train schedules at certain days & timings only, not everyone. And u must be really early to catch it and I guess limited quantity also (iirc they only open for booking 1 month ahead), I just took last month taipei to zuoying to & fro, but too bad I was neither early and my timing got no discount at all. :( ....

That I'm not sure, as I arrived in Tao Yuan early morning so took a coach at airport to ximen, paid ard NT$150 per pax. As for hotel-airport, I paid NT$880. Can find the taxis ard Ximenting area if staying there, got taxi drivers distributing namecards there.

u got a damn good deal, either u got a damn honest or damn desparate taxi driver, normal rate at least NT1000~1200, if rain or drizzle they will ask for even more ... [knife] ...... ximen is so near main train station, if u got the luxury of time, u can go to the bus terminal adjacent the main train station to take the coach, NT125 only ...

The 35 or 30% earlybird discount only apply to train schedules at certain days & timings only, not everyone. And u must be really early to catch it and I guess limited quantity also (iirc they only open for booking 1 month ahead), I just took last month taipei to zuoying to & fro, but too bad I was neither early and my timing got no discount at all. :( ....

That's what U meant, the so called early bird discount is have o be very HENG one, heng until tio bey pio, kind of heng.

The timing and dates you difficult to catch one. One month ahead, anything can happen.

u got a damn good deal, either u got a damn honest or damn desparate taxi driver, normal rate at least NT1000~1200, if rain or drizzle they will ask for even more ... [knife] ...... ximen is so near main train station, if u got the luxury of time, u can go to the bus terminal adjacent the main train station to take the coach, NT125 only ...

He also damn lucky to get that price for cab. We normally just take bus, to Taipei, then catch the train back or drive.

I usually take taxi from Taipei city to airport. Usually paid about NT 900 to NT1000.

You used to be able to get discounts from taxis, 10 - 20%. However, they stopped if over a year ago as they realized that they are only killing ownself by undercutting each other. Now no more. Not sure if they still have it now but, there is another lobang to take cheap taxi to airport. Go to the bus station opposite the shinkong mitsukoshi shopping center. You can get a taxi ride at 200NT per person. 4 to go. Good for those who travels alone. Only issue is that they will only go when car is filled up. Why this price is because the taxi driver don't want to go back to the airport emptyhanded to pick up next round of passanger from the airport....

But hotel transfer will be much more ex than taxi......my friend took once from hotel to airport and it quoted him NT$1.5K iirc.....

general guide is airport to taipei hotel ~1k

feigou or guoguang airport bus is definitely cheaper but for certain hotels, need to change over. minor inconvienence but gd value for those on budget. but if you have 4 or more travellers, taxi (4 pax) or private driver is the best deal imho.

the biz hotel that i stayed offered Merc S class for 1.4k. but unfortunately i had family of 5, so i got the 10 seater private driver for 1.2k.

Both expensive, since airport is not in Taipei, but in Taoyuan.

Take the bus, "Heuy Kow" grey dog or something, will stop in front of

Certain hotels, just ask counter lady and they will advice.

haha it's fei gou. flying dog.

general guide is airport to taipei hotel ~1k

feigou or guoguang airport bus is definitely cheaper but for certain hotels, need to change over. minor inconvienence but gd value for those on budget. but if you have 4 or more travellers, taxi (4 pax) or private driver is the best deal imho.

the biz hotel that i stayed offered Merc S class for 1.4k. but unfortunately i had family of 5, so i got the 10 seater private driver for 1.2k.

I had booked for a 7 seater car (family of 5) one way and the cost is 1,200/- plus 100 for parking fee at airport. The return trip only cost 1,200/-. Convert to Sing$ is $108/-. Staying at a 3 rooms apartment along Zhongxiao E Road, Da'an District. [;)]