Mustank Hypersonic December 5, 2012 Share December 5, 2012 laying up will also eat into the car's coe lifespan ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic December 5, 2012 Share December 5, 2012 some lay up cos they posted overseas, some lay up cos car undergo long-term restoration or repairs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toapayohkid 1st Gear December 5, 2012 Share December 5, 2012 some lay up cos they posted overseas, some lay up cos car undergo long-term restoration or repairs ah understand the rationale better. road tax and insurance better be much higher than lay-up fees to compensate for savings and inconvenience of paperwork lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic December 5, 2012 Share December 5, 2012 ah understand the rationale better. road tax and insurance better be much higher than lay-up fees to compensate for savings and inconvenience of paperwork lol it will if car is set aside for half a year + Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 5, 2012 Share December 5, 2012 some lay up cos they posted overseas, some lay up cos car undergo long-term restoration or repairs Lay-up due to long-term restoration or repairs can understand, but if lay-up due to posted overseas, i think i will sell off the car rather than keeping the car. Esp the rules state that if you want to lay-up a car, you need to keep it in a private compound. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CinCin Neutral Newbie December 5, 2012 Share December 5, 2012 If say own a car but wont be driving at all, can apply to LTA don't need to buy road tax and insurance or not ? Asking for a friend in this situation. Friend was told by an anonymous car insurance agent that this is allow by LTA and can apply. Anyone knows ? There dont seem to be any infor on this in the LTA website. Thanks . Sounds like u dun love ur wife anymore & yet dun wan to divorce wif her... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged December 7, 2012 Share December 7, 2012 Aiya sian. I don't have private compound to store. If not I will get a classic car (red and yellow plate) and lay up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zippaboy 4th Gear December 7, 2012 Share December 7, 2012 "scrap the engine." the bike body can be kept as a body art. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simon29 Neutral Newbie December 8, 2012 Share December 8, 2012 i would like to pursue this. Can tell me more? Thanks man! Just have to apply at the LTA counter. I suppose. LTA will need to visit your place of storage of the vehicle, to confirm it's suitable for storage, etc. Mind u the vehicle Cannot ever be re-registered and every 3 years have to reapply again. The sore point is have to pay every 3years just to keep it. Good for those who stay bangalow with big garae or condos. I got the e-mail somewhere. Let me dig it out when I reach home. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simon29 Neutral Newbie December 8, 2012 Share December 8, 2012 For the benefits of those who wants to keep their old cars and bikes as Race vehicles or sentimental values. YES. YES. YES. LTA is very accomodating to the request...as long as you pay $$$$. YES...one can keep old cars and bike in singapore without paying road tax or insurance! Our Ref: LTA/VTL/VS/VRLSO/F20.000.000/40837 Date : 10-Aug-2012 Tel : 65535292 Fax : 64571639 Dear Mr Simon29 Is there a scheme for retaining a vehicle pass its COE validity?FEEDBACK NUMBER: 20120726-0360 We refer to your e-mail of 26 July 2012. We note that you did not provide us with any vehicle number. Nevertheless, you may wish to refer to the following on the scheme to keep a de-registered vehicle in a private compound. Keeping of de-registered vehicle in a private compound Before we evaluate your request, please provide us the following information and/ or documents: (a) A formal written request (duly signed) to LTA from vehicle registered owner with valid reasons to keep the vehicle at a private compound (i.e. including vehicle number and location of the premise); (b) If the premise is your property, a copy of the title deed; © If the premise is on lease or sub-let, please let us have a copy of the land lease or sub-lease agreement and a letter of consent from the landlord to allow you to keep the said vehicle; (d) A written approval by the Management Corporation Strata Title (MCST) of the premise (if applicable); and (e) A copy of vehicle owner's NRIC (front and back). Upon receiving the requisite documents and information above, we will arrange for a site visit to the premise. Once we have reviewed your request and if approval has been granted, we will guide you on the submission of the relevant Forms, affixation of a pantone-colored car plate and sealing the said car plate at LTA authorised inspection centre, to complete a statutory declaration at LTA, keeping period (i.e. renewal every 3 years) and payment (i.e. $250 subject to GST per keeping period per vehicle) make payable in cash or cheque to "LTA" for the application of keeping the de-registered vehicle. Please also note that vehicle cannot be re-registered under this scheme and has to be disposed of immediately once application has been discontinued. Lay-up We wish to inform you that a vehicle shall be de-registered if it has been laid up for 3 consecutive years and is not re-licensed before the current lay up period expires. Once a vehicle is de-registered, it will not be eligible for re-registration or re-licensing. Please also note that a laid-up vehicle must be towed to any authorised vehicle inspection centre for inspection before it may be considered for re-licensing. We thank you for writing in. Yours sincerely ANDY WU USNR PRP EXEC SVC OFF, OPS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simon29 Neutral Newbie December 8, 2012 Share December 8, 2012 The only problem I have is How to get the TITLE DEED, since the property is still under bank loan? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mothorrr12 Neutral Newbie December 12, 2012 Share December 12, 2012 Not sure why would you want to buy a car and not drive it all lor..but whatever it may you would need car insurance..what if someone else/something knocks into standing your car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged December 12, 2012 Share December 12, 2012 Not sure why would you want to buy a car and not drive it all lor..but whatever it may you would need car insurance..what if someone else/something knocks into standing your car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 29, 2013 Share April 29, 2013 I saw some cars road tax has expired at least a few months and yet they still drive on the road?! Do you mean that LTA doesnt aware that some cars their road tax has expired? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic April 29, 2013 Share April 29, 2013 I saw some cars road tax has expired at least a few months and yet they still drive on the road?! Do you mean that LTA doesnt aware that some cars their road tax has expired? Have heard but yet to confirm that one does not require to stick the 'road tax' disk on the windscreen ... anymore...... With the IU unit inside the vehicle, LTA will know unless one doesn't drive into those ERP or HDB sensors car parks... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 29, 2013 Share April 29, 2013 If say own a car but wont be driving at all, can apply to LTA don't need to buy road tax and insurance or not ? Asking for a friend in this situation. Friend was told by an anonymous car insurance agent that this is allow by LTA and can apply. Anyone knows ? There dont seem to be any infor on this in the LTA website. Thanks . PARF value will be forfeited too if i rem correctly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmylim 4th Gear April 29, 2013 Share April 29, 2013 I saw some cars road tax has expired at least a few months and yet they still drive on the road?! Do you mean that LTA doesnt aware that some cars their road tax has expired? could be but chances are low. previously i didn't even bother to display on windscreen, just put the renewed disc in the car. kena road block before, took it out and show the officer, told to display it next time after i gave lame excuse of not having those disc holder to paste on windscreen. then next few road blocks, when approaching, i just took out the whole thing and put on the dashboard. after getting one the those disc holder, i start to display liao but 2 times, i think, lazy to change out the new disc, so other will see that my road tax is expired few months. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Branteo Clutched April 29, 2013 Share April 29, 2013 I saw some cars road tax has expired at least a few months and yet they still drive on the road?! Do you mean that LTA doesnt aware that some cars their road tax has expired? The road tax octagon disc on my car has expired more than 1 year ago. I do pay my road tax - just that I'm just too darn lazy to replace it or I misplaced the new disc. Oh well, .. so long as got pay, bo tai ji one lah! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...