News: Unhappy bus drivers mass report sick 26nov2012

Simon29

On 11/27/2012 at 4:03 AM, Mockngbrd said:

the only shame here is their relentless exploitation of cheap foreign labour does not translate to savings for the customers.

Did we point a gun to their heads when they signed on?

no, but they can promise mountains and oceans during the recruitment but in the end, nothing fruitful happens...

it's just like the lucky plaza saga.. no one point a gun to that tourist who bought the 2 iphones at $10k, but the seller deserved to be condemned for unethical business practise

On 11/27/2012 at 4:03 AM, Mockngbrd said:

the only shame here is their relentless exploitation of cheap foreign labour does not translate to savings for the customers.

Did we point a gun to their heads when they signed on?

This is precisely why I said send them back if they are not happy... The fact they are here is bcos we wan cheap labour... if companies will have to pay for the same, why import them... they are paid based on the terms of their contract from the start.

If they find this exploiting, why sign and come...this puzzled me greatly especially when someone is repeating this over and over again without going thru his tots... r we really exploiting them n how? Or issit bad management by HR of SMRT in this matter as well as the overall policy that has been put in place to depend on cheap labor to grow local biz?

I actually think this is a good learning experience for all.

Hard truth is some jobs will not attract locals and unless daft even the most motivated of fresh grad will not attempt a career in bus captaincy. So no choice we need to import low wage labourers from overseas.

If we put nationality aside, it is downright unfair to be paid differently for doing the same job.

So it's back to the drawing board for SMRT's recruitment policy

Polis get to test and refine their SOP for sending ang chia

"Union" needs to re-examine its role

Minister of Manpower get a few more white hairs

Minister of Manpower's boss gets many more white hairs because this is only the symptom a a supremely complicated problem.

Actually i salute them, for their bravery and togetherness. How many singaporeans dare to do this kind of protest. I think they got a case for protest although i dont like FTs being imported her. to me they are not FTs they are FWs like the construction workers. Imagine i go England become bus driver then work same or more hours but paid lesser than the itialians or europeans. You think i song or not?

Problems is not with them but with the organisation where the top man can command millions yet the workers are being exploited. Dont forget they left their homes and families behind to come to a foreign land to work. If i were them i also buey tahan.

This time i think they are right and got the balls to do something which siingapeans would not even try except for some minority may be 0.001% but always get sued.

On 11/27/2012 at 4:15 AM, Scion said:

it's just like the lucky plaza saga.. no one point a gun to that tourist who bought the 2 iphones at $10k, but the seller deserved to be condemned for unethical business practise

just how is this like the lucky plaza saga pray tell?

Actually everything all the problems started with just one policy from the government. That is only one reason.

Opening of flood gate for foreigners to work here =

Higher HDB and properties prices +

Straining the public infrasture (from MRTs to Hospitals)+

Overcrowding +

Depression and suppression of Local income +

Littering and other social problems +

Education for locals to be tolerant and intregrate with newcomers +

Higher COEs due to the increase of Foreign PMETS +

More social problems .....

Can add some more?

One policy to ruin us all, what a great country this has become.

[thumbsup] [thumbsup] Well said, we have to save our country before they ruined it for us. This is an ineffective way of solving problems with strikes and protests.

On 11/27/2012 at 4:37 AM, Songsong said:

Actually everything all the problems started with just one policy from the government. That is only one reason.

Overcrowding +

Can add some more?

one more... SMEs become so addicted to cheap foreign labour that they now cannot live without them

Amateur Translation:

Striking drivers, why they buay song

- PRC basic is $375 less than the bolehs

- Working 6 days a week since July so less rest and less chance for OT. LPPL

- Local and boleh drivers have more opportunities to OT, so more $$$

- Only PRCs stay in a dorm, 10 to one room. Hard to rest because day and night shifts share the same room

- Boleh get 1 months bonus. PRC get none.

As a company, I say sack all of them.

No company should be held ransom by employees.

Not happy, TALK. Still not happy, GO!

Company will suffer for a while, but will not suffer in the long run.

That day my wife told me that the greatests time of her life is when we just got married and moved into our HDB about 11 yrs ago. We all know our neighbours, the estate is clean. Now many of our old neighbours moved out and rented their place to FTs, so now we are surrounded by FTs and they litter every where, my FT neighour actually got a pail of sand from i dunno where and place it outside the corridor for their daughter to play. And the ah neh always eat peanuts and throw the shells out the corridor.

My wife actually wants to get out of SG, and she said i rather dont earn much to be happy than suffer in my own country. So now we are looking at properties in thailand or vietnam. Suffer for a few more years than we run road.

On 11/27/2012 at 4:49 AM, Songsong said:

That day my wife told me that the greatests time of her life is when we just got married and moved into our HDB about 11 yrs ago. We all know our neighbours, the estate is clean. Now many of our old neighbours moved out and rented their place to FTs, so now we are surrounded by FTs and they litter every where, my FT neighour actually got a pail of sand from i dunno where and place it outside the corridor for their daughter to play. And the ah neh always eat peanuts and throw the shells out the corridor.

My wife actually wants to get out of SG, and she said i rather dont earn much to be happy than suffer in my own country. So now we are looking at properties in thailand or vietnam. Suffer for a few more years than we run road.

Alot of true-blood Singaporeans have the same thinking. Sometimes I wish I am out of Singapore NOW. Is this the real future of Singapore for Singaporeans?

On 11/27/2012 at 4:37 AM, Songsong said:

Overcrowding +

Can add some more?

5.2 million population already like that

i shiver at the thought of pumping another 1 or 2 million into this small island (to LHL's target of 6.5 to 7m)

by then, the population balance will shift towards 50:50 (citizens vs foreigners)

maybe will lead to:

- properties rise another 20%

- more mrt breakdowns

- waiting time at hospital increase another 2 hours

- COEs hitting another record high

- more discrimination/protests

- higher social tensions

- foreigners demanding more rights

On 11/27/2012 at 4:49 AM, Alim said:

As a company, I say sack all of them.

No company should be held ransom by employees.

Not happy, TALK. Still not happy, GO!

Company will suffer for a while, but will not suffer in the long run.

I can tell you 100% they would not mass sack them one.

Imagine they go back make big hoohah then all the chinese news splash news.

Then imagine their news paper add salt + vinegar.

How Singapore Foreign affair ministers answer. How PM answers to their new premier. Just one of their top tier states GDP more than ours liao.

situation on FT seems getting worse

Wasn't there a mass gathering at MOM of FT construction workers recently?

now bus drivers

what's next?

<_<

On 11/27/2012 at 4:59 AM, Enye said:

situation on FT seems getting worse

Wasn't there a mass gathering at MOM of FT construction workers recently?

now bus drivers

what's next?

<_<

Extra ingredients in our food