Donut Supercharged November 29, 2012 Share November 29, 2012 but the muddy water ceo very sneaky. visit olam but don't give namecard just say he from hedge fund. then go write this type of negative report. anyway, muddy water is short seller.....he stands to again by whacking stocks down to sell off badly. investors must take note of muddy water vested interest position. Then it is Olam's fault for been so stupid to talk to a stranger about internal information. I will sack that staff for not being vigilant about company information. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maz0608 3rd Gear November 29, 2012 Share November 29, 2012 I am holding on to Noble group shares, hope muddy water dun cum and di xiao di xiao! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EricTeh Neutral Newbie November 29, 2012 Share November 29, 2012 the reply got balls. no use leh no hair means not reached puberty yet small boy talk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic November 29, 2012 Share November 29, 2012 (edited) hard to say, seems some analyst are blinding following the calls and downgrading olam overnight. with enough pressure, even steel can crack ... i think MW has really thrown things into disarray lol ... In other words, Muddy Waters has muddied the waters. Edited November 29, 2012 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taipan49 3rd Gear November 29, 2012 Author Share November 29, 2012 In other words, Muddy Waters has muddied the waters. Yep, shows that most analysts don't do thorough analysis. On bloomberg see price target range from 3.05 to 1.40, and those that have updated post muddy the range is 2.38 to 1.40. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic November 29, 2012 Share November 29, 2012 hahaha that would be a sight! from a historial perspective .. makes sense ... Fairly sure Pinky will tell SGX to shut me down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged November 29, 2012 Share November 29, 2012 The 5.6% notes for 2017 are trading at 85 at the moment. So the effective yield is higher due to the risk. What's the code for the notes? I look from UOB Kayhian, cannot see any 2017 notes leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear November 29, 2012 Share November 29, 2012 have to call RM and then he will direct you to the treasury dept that has access to the system. I think only local banks can see the notes.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged November 29, 2012 Share November 29, 2012 have to call RM and then he will direct you to the treasury dept that has access to the system. I think only local banks can see the notes.. So the notes cannot be traded on SGX? Then tough already... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear November 29, 2012 Share November 29, 2012 dun noe..seems keep break out..watch 145 level stock cheong liao.. i wonder wonder.. ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear November 29, 2012 Share November 29, 2012 stock cheong liao.. i wonder wonder.. ... 145 liao close above more upside..congrats Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear November 29, 2012 Share November 29, 2012 thanks man.. but cannot my cover my olam.. *Sigh*... i need to do some "debt forgiveness" liao.. :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear November 29, 2012 Share November 29, 2012 (edited) I look at the deviation from the yield on issue to current valuations. This is a big gap so people are pricing in a lot of risk. If the company issued at 8% and the eff yield was 10, then bit more comfortable. But all down to your own risk profile. actually the return is higher than 8% p.a. .. If Olam recover from 85 to 105 within a yr. you are talking abt 12-25% return within a yr leh. If you are talking abt holding it till maturity i.e. 2017.. then 8% p/a lor. Edited November 29, 2012 by ShepherdPie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear November 29, 2012 Share November 29, 2012 (edited) Muddy is really police watch over companies that might or unintentionally over leveraged. Though ppl have suspect his intentional shortings, his have hit and missed too. Worst of all -Ve operating cash flow. The problem with today's accounting, still yet able to develop accurate valuations on biological assets. These assets are everywhere on earth. You cannot except the auditor goes to every assets to pre-determine. Too many grey areas, that are not right or wrong. Muddy is using Enron as parallel. There is no way to sue him and company. He is right and wrong in certain ways, based on his report. So the moral of the story, is "Do not fully understand the company business, do touch it". And will save you much trouble. Edited November 29, 2012 by HP_Lee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear November 29, 2012 Share November 29, 2012 actually the return is higher than 8% p.a. .. If Olam recover from 85 to 105 within a yr. you are talking abt 12-25% return within a yr leh. If you are talking abt holding it till maturity i.e. 2017.. then 8% p/a lor. Not bad leh ! But if Muddy Water report is true , will Olam pack up by 2017 or not ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear November 29, 2012 Share November 29, 2012 (edited) Good q. Btw , experts , if Muddy water took a short position a few days back, when will mw need to payup the shares ? I.e roughly , they have no choice but to buy olam shares ? I tot sgx is within the same day , how abt us mkt ? Or maybe if they had arrangement with buyer , what is the typical arrangement. Edited November 29, 2012 by ShepherdPie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saggi 1st Gear November 29, 2012 Share November 29, 2012 well , olam is run by the indian.. indian are very very good talkers.. world best !! no doubt..! remember one india company software company.. very big.. also go burst !! even with top 5 accounting audit..so what..!! in one of the company i seen .. local Boss ask puppet CFO do what number, he will have to come out.. regardless true or false..! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged November 29, 2012 Share November 29, 2012 That is naked shorting. They'd have borrowed scrips to short. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...