Anyone been to Hanoi?

Tweakmax2

We've also book a 7N stay in Hanoi. Planned to spend a day in Halong Bay and 2 in Sapa.

My family are all worried about the traffic after i told them how one bro here describe about cheong-ing like a rabbit!!! :D

Just curious, for a family of 5, how much do we need to change? Is credit card widely acceptable there?

I'll be spending a total of 6 days in Hanoi.

Already booked a 3D2N Halong Bay cruise, and there's actually time leftover to travel by train to Sapa and back. Only snag is that the train ride's too long and my parents/kids will not enjoy that, even with sleeper bunk.

So I'm thinking of alternative itinerary for my remaining 3 days: Museum, Water Puppet, what else?

My favorite Hanoi eatery: chaca la vong

It is fried fish in oil with beehoon and you squat on low stools to eat.

? thought it's 2nd floor of the shophouse. can seat normally but just super cramp.

not filling at all. haha.

Just to check, what is the best way to travel from airport to hotel? All the airport transfer are in USD and seem very ex.

Also what is the best trip agency for a 1 day trip to Ha Long Bay?

usd20 from airport to hotel on a 1hr journey u call expensive? or i m mistaken?

We've also book a 7N stay in Hanoi. Planned to spend a day in Halong Bay and 2 in Sapa.

My family are all worried about the traffic after i told them how one bro here describe about cheong-ing like a rabbit!!! :D

Just curious, for a family of 5, how much do we need to change? Is credit card widely acceptable there?

Ok just be careful of the scooters. If you're not elderly or have young children running around, it's quite manageable.

erm i won't want to use my CC in those establishments. i suggest bring some excess USD and just change or use as necessary. I did not use my CC at all during my trip. major places like hotel etc should accept your CC.

Try to stay 2 nights in Sapa ^_^

Forget the water puppet, none of those who I know enjoyed the show.....

hahaha i thought it's still acceptable. But i know a lot of people thought it was completely shite haha.

I'll be spending a total of 6 days in Hanoi.

Already booked a 3D2N Halong Bay cruise, and there's actually time leftover to travel by train to Sapa and back. Only snag is that the train ride's too long and my parents/kids will not enjoy that, even with sleeper bunk.

So I'm thinking of alternative itinerary for my remaining 3 days: Museum, Water Puppet, what else?

Strongly suggest u use Hanoi more like a place to rest.

If possible, change ur cruise to 2D1N then go Sapa.

One morning can be spent at Ho Chin Minh mausoleum and the museum and his house in the garden.

The museum of tribal culture (can't remember exactly what it's called) is good enough for 1 morning/afternoon

Can go the war museum also but frankly it's not that good.

i went to see their big lake, but frankly it's nothing. just like walking along a big river bank. nothing to see also.

the small lake beside the old quarter that one can walk in daytime and night.

That is the whole of Hanoi liao for tourist. [laugh]

usd20 from airport to hotel on a 1hr journey u call expensive? or i m mistaken?

hahaha let him go there and see what the taxi touts charge [laugh]

just use the hotel's transfer la! almost everyone do that unless u really local snake.

hahaha let him go there and see what the taxi touts charge [laugh]

just use the hotel's transfer la! almost everyone do that unless u really local snake.

the airport taxi is fix rate one, just get outside of airport, there is airport taxi queue. i dun see any problems 10yrs ago, i doubt there will be now

How old were you when you went Hanoi 10 years ago? :D:D:D

Any place to shop there

I didn't buy a single thing from Hanoi. Outside of hanoi, there are some of those art pieces/sculpture etc on the way to Halong bay.

They don't even sell a decent tu chan product! Communist country mentality ... Go the place of interest, the Tu chan cannot test one ... expect people to buy. No one did lor [laugh]

In the end i bought some fruit chips from the supermarket to bring back for colleagues ^_^

I didn't buy a single thing from Hanoi. Outside of hanoi, there are some of those art pieces/sculpture etc on the way to Halong bay.

They don't even sell a decent tu chan product! Communist country mentality ... Go the place of interest, the Tu chan cannot test one ... expect people to buy. No one did lor [laugh]

In the end i bought some fruit chips from the supermarket to bring back for colleagues ^_^

Some places still can lah.........I did that on the invitation of the stall owner hor, not anyhow just take later kena [knife][laugh] [laugh]

Hi Bro,

In Hanoi now. One word to describe the traffic here...CHAOTIC!

I find nothing to buy or see in Hanoi, will spend the rest of our days in Halong Bay and Sapa.

Almost all shop don't accept CC, so its better to bring more USD here.

Ok just be careful of the scooters. If you're not elderly or have young children running around, it's quite manageable.

erm i won't want to use my CC in those establishments. i suggest bring some excess USD and just change or use as necessary. I did not use my CC at all during my trip. major places like hotel etc should accept your CC.

Try to stay 2 nights in Sapa ^_^

Hi Bro,

In Hanoi now. One word to describe the traffic here...CHAOTIC!

I find nothing to buy or see in Hanoi, will spend the rest of our days in Halong Bay and Sapa.

Almost all shop don't accept CC, so its better to bring more USD here.

Just gar gar step out onto the road.... The scooters will siam you one...

Simi tu chan? Look for tu chan cannot find, look until until tu lan :D

i bought a copy of lonely planet and use it as a guide.

It is generally safe there if you don't flaunt your wealth. Do not put all your cash in ur wallet or rather, do not open up with wallet full of cash and let people see when making a purchase. For meals and drinks, ask for price or menu first before ordering. For taxi, ask for a price or if they using meter first before boarding.

People are generally friendly but try not to get into any trouble. Policemen there hardly speak English and you will need to call the embassy for help which can be a pain in the butt.

Be careful of pickpocket in crowded markets.

On the topic of Lonely Planet guides.... There is a bookstore in Hanoi that sells pirated Lonely Planet guides! Sounds crazy right.... They print every single page, bind them together into a thick book with glossy paperback cover just like the real thing.... If you see the Lonely Planet China guide, it is so thick that you have to marvel at how much work that had gone into making it..... And you can buy it for US$5....