Vulcann 6th Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 On 11/21/2012 at 8:33 AM, Ahtong said: Now that the Navy sexperts are here, I got one unrelated question Why did old capital ships have wooden decks? Wouldn't it be better protection to use metal instead? Very funny that they can have armoured belts along the hull but wooden planks on the deck. Well IMHO when they design these Dreadnoughts more than a century ago, their main enemy were other Dreadnoughts so based on the projectile trajectories of the big guns, their broadside would likely be the impact points since that would be the part facing the enemy so the heavy armour plating were all concentrated around there. For the wooden decking my guess would be to make the ship lighter. Of course when aeroplanes appeared during WWI, these Dreadnoughts were effectively rendered obsolete as these airborne attackers could launch bombs which could easily penetrate the soft timber to create massive damage to the lower decks which store the ammunition and fuel. The sinking of both RN's HMS Repulse battlecruiser and HMS Prince of Wales battleship off the Malaysian coast by the Japanese during WWII was the best example what deadly aerial warfare had changed the fate of these obsolete man-of-war. They were rendered almost useless overnight though they still packed a punch against their opponent vessels. Only the US retained some 4 Iowa-class 16-inch gun battleships after the war for shore bombardment platforms. IIRC some of the Tomahawks were launched by BB-62 New Jersey or one of her sister ship during the Iraqi war. I believe the photo you showed here is one of the mothballed Iowa-class BBs. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 That was damn siasuay. I wonder what punishment the captain or admiral kena. IIRC, some RSN vessel managed to sneak very close to a carrier before? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 On 11/21/2012 at 8:33 AM, Ahtong said: Now that the Navy sexperts are here, I got one unrelated question Why did old capital ships have wooden decks? Wouldn't it be better protection to use metal instead? Very funny that they can have armoured belts along the hull but wooden planks on the deck. Because the ammo casings are still made of metal!!! When the rounds are fired, the empty cartridges drop on the open deck and roll into the sea. To prevent dent on ur ship deck, must have wood coverings. No PDR services at sea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 On 11/21/2012 at 8:52 AM, Ahtong said: That was damn siasuay. I wonder what punishment the captain or admiral kena. IIRC, some RSN vessel managed to sneak very close to a carrier before? Yes. We were a few hundred metres behind from Miss KittyHawk when she left CNB. But Radar shows only a small dot. Their jammer was on. And they sent out the seahawk to see who the little bugger following them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 On 11/21/2012 at 1:37 AM, Ahtong said: This is my favourite Stealth Fighter that was never built. In the 1980s, US govt revealed they were building stealth aircraft. Based on the sketchiest of info, model makers came up with their own creative interpretation. They did...they build 3...all crash...in the movie STEALTH.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 (edited) On 11/21/2012 at 8:57 AM, Adrianli said: Yes. We were a few hundred metres behind from Miss KittyHawk when she left CNB. But Radar shows only a small dot. Their jammer was on. And they sent out the seahawk to see who the little bugger following them. USS Kitty Hawk was the same carrier that kena suprised by the PRC sub? I think their crew must be negligent. Not belittling the RSN of course. Edited November 21, 2012 by Ahtong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 Regarding wooden decks. From what I understand of battleship duels, shots fired from long range tend to hit as near vertical plunging fire. In fact HMS Hood probably uplorried to one of these. Therefore, it's very strange if naval designers completely disregarded top protection. Funnier still, here is the deck of a WW2 Tribal class destroyer and the deck is metal?! Destroyer rounds are lighter so they don't cause dents? This wooden deck thing is most puzzling Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 On 11/21/2012 at 9:00 AM, Ahtong said: USS Kitty Hawk was the same carrier that kena suprised by the PRC sub? I think their crew must be negligent. Not belittling the RSN of course. We were sneaky, we new our waters better than them. We were all going to South China Sea for exercise. They were enemy. We knew they were there. So we sailed off 1st and anchored off the southern islands and wait for them. We then tail them to get their location. Its all in the fun of war games. I dont think I would want to reveal more, otherwise sure can go lim kopi. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 On 11/21/2012 at 9:06 AM, Ahtong said: Regarding wooden decks. From what I understand of battleship duels, shots fired from long range tend to hit as near vertical plunging fire. In fact HMS Hood probably uplorried to one of these. Therefore, it's very strange if naval designers completely disregarded top protection. Funnier still, here is the deck of a WW2 Tribal class destroyer and the deck is metal?! Destroyer rounds are lighter so they don't cause dents? This wooden deck thing is most puzzling All RSN vessels, ard the main gun has wood coverings. That the purpose of the wood coverings. Nothing more. They are made from marine grade wood and will be renewed every docking, 18mths. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 On 11/21/2012 at 8:14 AM, Vextan said: To take down an aircraft carrier, you can fly one hundred planes towards it and all act as decoy, and just need one to slam into the control tower or the flight deck. thats the power of number. you are so old school, bro. this is not WW 2 lah... Carrier travels with a fleet of attack ships with mulit layer defence. Yes, sending large number of planes to fly past the multi layer defence of the fleet sounds quite logical. But using common sense, which country can afford to send 100 planes just to take down one Carrier? Dont say 100, we just say send 50 planes. Now, which country can afford to send 50 planes to take down one Carrier? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 I watched the movie Battleship, the destroyer was under aerial atttack from the aliens space craft on sea. they rained shells on the destroyer butthey guns only managed to shoot down a few of the incoming, and a few had a direct hit on the ship. hence the idea that air defence guns are not very effective. no ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 On 11/21/2012 at 8:57 AM, Adrianli said: Yes. We were a few hundred metres behind from Miss KittyHawk when she left CNB. But Radar shows only a small dot. Their jammer was on. And they sent out the seahawk to see who the little bugger following them. You didnt show your middle finger to the seahawk? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 On 11/21/2012 at 9:24 AM, Vextan said: I watched the movie Battleship, the destroyer was under aerial atttack from the aliens space craft on sea. they rained shells on the destroyer butthey guns only managed to shoot down a few of the incoming, and a few had a direct hit on the ship. hence the idea that air defence guns are not very effective. no ? [laugh] Bro, you are funny lah. In that movie, USS Missouri can be brought out to sea in fighting shape after 60 yrs as a museum by a handful of mostly old men Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 On 11/21/2012 at 9:32 AM, Ahtong said: [laugh] Bro, you are funny lah. In that movie, USS Missouri can be brought out to sea in fighting shape after 60 yrs as a museum by a handful of mostly old men no la mate, i refrering to the modern one which the main actors' brother died. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 On 11/21/2012 at 9:24 AM, Donut said: You didnt show your middle finger to the seahawk? I was just a small little throttleman. Listening to CO instructions. Next to me was my Coxswain, steerman and then followed by radar man. I just watch the live show going on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 On 11/21/2012 at 9:24 AM, Vextan said: I watched the movie Battleship, the destroyer was under aerial atttack from the aliens space craft on sea. they rained shells on the destroyer butthey guns only managed to shoot down a few of the incoming, and a few had a direct hit on the ship. hence the idea that air defence guns are not very effective. no ? Movie la bro. Have not seen the show but I guess the destroyer must be a Arleigh Burke-class Aegis DDG. In reality this powerful vessel can defend itself and the flat top against air/surface/sub-surface attacks. For anti-air warfare, its Aegis system can track hundreds of targets and can launch its Standard missiles against these threats. Of course we will never know if the Aegis system will function as reputed unless they are in a real conflict... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 On 11/21/2012 at 9:33 AM, Vextan said: no la mate, i refrering to the modern one which the main actors' brother died. Hollywood, Hollywood......... Hollywood also show you can burst a running car's tyre or blow up the engine with a pistol. You believe? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strat 6th Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 (edited) On 11/21/2012 at 1:52 AM, Ahtong said: Which is coincidentally one of my favourite toy series of all times. http://farm5.staticflickr.com/4006/4496275...cb444da60_z.jpg wah i got this plus a few others in my storage box.... Edited November 21, 2012 by Strat ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...