Lane discipline, your comments please?

Detach8

You're too kind lah, okok I will try to

ren-endure.png

hahha...well, you started it

let it go lah...you are a rational bugga form the posts here...

just charge it to your experience and be the wiser person next time...

cheers!

Appeal for witness and those with in-cam :

I have an incident last friday morning 15 April 2016 around 810am to 830am. I was travelling at chancery lane towards Balmoral raod. This is a usual route i using everyday.

A black Toyota altis car steered into my lane and hit my left side mirror at chancery lane towards balmoral road. At the traffic light junction of chancery lane, (2 lane road) both our cars are first in line. I was at right lane while he in left lane. When traffic turn green, both the car move off. The road after chancery lane opens up to 3 car lanes. Lane 1 can only turn right. Lane 2 can go straight or turn right while lane 3 can only go straight. So since I am at right lane of the 2 lane road, when moving up, I will naturally stay onto my lane (which is lane 2)when reaches the 3 lane road. 

As I have mentioned earlier on the 3 lane road, second lane can either go straight or turn right, being the right lane at 2 lane road, so I will take the 2nd lane in a 3 lane road to go straight. 

So this black car moved and  steered from the left lane of 2 lane road into my 2nd lane of the 3 lane road n hit my left side mirror ( since I am already occupying the 2nd lane of the 3 lane road. 

When hit, I slowed down and didn't wanted to hold up the traffic, I on my hazard light and move my car up so as to settle the accident. That black car driver didn't followed my car and took over the lane I was in previously (Kenna horn by the car behind) and turn right and sped off. 

Immediately I took a u turn and chase him. I horned and flash him and the black car didn't slow down and continue to drive faster. So I speed up abit and managed to get him to park to talk about it. 

The moment he got down, he said I was in the wrong and he is in the correct lane while my lane I should turn right and cannot go straight. I disagreed with him. Both of our car don't have in-cam. So he said there is nothing he can do since we have our own side of the story. Hence I called TP. When TP here, he told TP he didn't know accident have to stop car and settle. He even said he was in the lane I was in at the 3 lane road n I banged his car instead! I was shocked on how he lied. 

After TP interviewed both of us and advised us to lodge with our insurer to start the investigation since its words against words. We went off thereafter. I got the black car drive particulars and snap his photo and carplate no. 

I went to police station to make the report.

there is a road traffic camera at the scene.

Appreciate you can help find witnesses or drivers with in-cam and assist on the matter. you can pm me too

Appeal for witness and those with in-cam :

I have an incident last friday morning 15 April 2016 around 810am to 830am. I was travelling at chancery lane towards Balmoral raod. This is a usual route i using everyday.

A black Toyota altis car steered into my lane and hit my left side mirror at chancery lane towards balmoral road. At the traffic light junction of chancery lane, (2 lane road) both our cars are first in line. I was at right lane while he in left lane. When traffic turn green, both the car move off. The road after chancery lane opens up to 3 car lanes. Lane 1 can only turn right. Lane 2 can go straight or turn right while lane 3 can only go straight. So since I am at right lane of the 2 lane road, when moving up, I will naturally stay onto my lane (which is lane 2)when reaches the 3 lane road. 

As I have mentioned earlier on the 3 lane road, second lane can either go straight or turn right, being the right lane at 2 lane road, so I will take the 2nd lane in a 3 lane road to go straight. 

So this black car moved and  steered from the left lane of 2 lane road into my 2nd lane of the 3 lane road n hit my left side mirror ( since I am already occupying the 2nd lane of the 3 lane road. 

When hit, I slowed down and didn't wanted to hold up the traffic, I on my hazard light and move my car up so as to settle the accident. That black car driver didn't followed my car and took over the lane I was in previously (Kenna horn by the car behind) and turn right and sped off. 

Immediately I took a u turn and chase him. I horned and flash him and the black car didn't slow down and continue to drive faster. So I speed up abit and managed to get him to park to talk about it. 

The moment he got down, he said I was in the wrong and he is in the correct lane while my lane I should turn right and cannot go straight. I disagreed with him. Both of our car don't have in-cam. So he said there is nothing he can do since we have our own side of the story. Hence I called TP. When TP here, he told TP he didn't know accident have to stop car and settle. He even said he was in the lane I was in at the 3 lane road n I banged his car instead! I was shocked on how he lied. 

After TP interviewed both of us and advised us to lodge with our insurer to start the investigation since its words against words. We went off thereafter. I got the black car drive particulars and snap his photo and carplate no. 

I went to police station to make the report.

there is a road traffic camera at the scene.

Appreciate you can help find witnesses or drivers with in-cam and assist on the matter. you can pm me too

Based on what you said. You are the one that is in the wrong and turned to the wrong lane. But got picture of the road? Easier to visualize. Lane 1 turn to lane 1 and lane 2 turn to lane 2.

a car cam would have saved you alot of this headache.

TP actually came down when there is no injury?

TP will come if you call. But it isn't required and its just wasting your time and their time cuz they will just tell you to settle with the insurers or settle privately.

Edited by Nzy

Chancery Lane is quite a long stretch of road.. So maybe u can be more specific, hard to visualize by words. Anyway, Most side-to-side collision will resulting in 50-50 claim... Esp when no video to support..

This is at Beach Road turning left to Raffles Blvd towards Suntec.

Taxi did not follow lane, nevermind. Stop liao, honk liao, let him go. NVM. Case closed.

Best part... lao hero in Vios honked from behind, cut in front of me, then stop on the right started staring and gesturing at me.

What is your view?

Met a lancer at this junction doing the same shit also. Horn him as it is pure reckless, he gave me finger when we stop. ( he in front) I just pumped my fist at him at least 7 times back to show my displeasure. Think we damn childish.

I mean if all this bugger doesn't want to queue on the right lane before turning, then at least try to filter neatly after turning.

What made me really angry is that the bugger instead of turning right, he went straight. Damn knn kind of driver.

Based on what you said. You are the one that is in the wrong and turned to the wrong lane. But got picture of the road? Easier to visualize. Lane 1 turn to lane 1 and lane 2 turn to lane 2.

TP will come if you call. But it isn't required and its just wasting your time and their time cuz they will just tell you to settle with the insurers or settle privately.

Based on description, he is on Chancery Lane, crossing over Dunearn Road, then Bukit Timah Road, into Balmoral Road - 

post-20770-0-11741400-1461237311.jpg

Chancery Lane, before crossing Dunearn Road. Left lane goes straight or turns left, right lane goes straight only.

post-20770-0-64889500-1461237315_thumb.jpg

Chancery Lane, directly on top of Bukit Timah Canal, after crossing Dunearn Road, before crossing Bukit Timah Road. Left lane goes straight, middle lane goes straight or turns right, right lane goes turns right only.

post-20770-0-95432600-1461237321_thumb.jpg

Balmoral Road, two straight lanes from Chancery Lane merges.

As such, the poster is not wrong. But in feeling hard done by, take things into perspective, its just a wing mirror which is probably dislodged or damaged (at most). Its not as expensive as bodywork to put right. You can try, but I feel its not worth the trouble.

Based on description, he is on Chancery Lane, crossing over Dunearn Road, then Bukit Timah Road, into Balmoral Road - 

attachicon.gifCapture.JPG

Chancery Lane, before crossing Dunearn Road. Left lane goes straight or turns left, right lane goes straight only.

attachicon.gifCapture1.JPG

Chancery Lane, directly on top of Bukit Timah Canal, after crossing Dunearn Road, before crossing Bukit Timah Road. Left lane goes straight, middle lane goes straight or turns right, right lane goes turns right only.

attachicon.gifCapture2.JPG

Balmoral Road, two straight lanes from Chancery Lane merges.

As such, the poster is not wrong. But in feeling hard done by, take things into perspective, its just a wing mirror which is probably dislodged or damaged (at most). Its not as expensive as bodywork to put right. You can try, but I feel its not worth the trouble.

Oh. So its going straight. Then TS correct. But without camera this kind of accident is 50-50 la. Might as well just fix it himself like what you said. Probably no damage also. Claiming will only make both drivers lose their NCD and pay higher premiums next year.

Edited by Nzy

those areas with 2 left turning or 2 right turning lanes are the worst. 

Especially 2 lanes turning into 3 or more lanes. 

Inner most left or right turning car making wide turn is so so so common. Since it is what many idiots do, there are only 3 things we can do.

1. Get honk ready

2. Give way (lan lan.. better than kena accident due to having the 'right of way' entitlement syndrome)

3. Install a car cam!

This is at Beach Road turning left to Raffles Blvd towards Suntec.

Taxi did not follow lane, nevermind. Stop liao, honk liao, let him go. NVM. Case closed.

Best part... lao hero in Vios honked from behind, cut in front of me, then stop on the right started staring and gesturing at me.

What is your view?

Our LTA needs to send these people back to driving school.

You mean this kind? Any not targetting toyota driver.. but please as a P plate follow rules!

No need to slow down to let the silver car in.

By slowing down you encourage drivers not

to get in the correct lane when turning.