Ahtong 1st Gear November 19, 2012 Share November 19, 2012 Anyone read the Wanbao report? Quote Link Not sure if any of u read my story in WanBao last fri,pg 10 about me running after 2 (russian?)girls who verbally abused n accused me of wrong route n took off without paying? Cut long story short, i managed to keep them till police arrived then they paid.I held back one of them by the arm at one point, they knew they cant outrun me.thats it, i NEVER employ any violence against them.We were just sitting around for next 20 min for police to come. They complained to COMFORT,i got the boot. No formal interview, no explanation required.??! Actually i went to WanBao to get it to ask Comfort, certain questions about Comforts handling of the case, n reason for my dismissal. While the report is well written , it did not achieve my objective of getting Comfort to explain their stand. So i hope i can do sth here. Contrary to the WanBao report, i am not asking for sympathy for my "pitiable" plight, i guess the reporter writes as he sees fit. My concern was how COMFORT SACKS ITS DRIVERS ARBITRARILY.It does not respect its own drivers. i told the reporter, " i dont need the job but doesnt mean others dont need the job." So, i asked the company repeatedly, ARE TAXI DRIVERS ALLOWED TO GO AFTER FARE CHEATS? The reply i got was for my dismissal was "we dont condone AGGRESSION". Whenever i probed what u mean by aggression, COMFORT says ' We are not obliged to explain anything to u." Taxi driving is not my main job, but a pastime for extra income. When i went after the "non-paying" pax, my concern is not just myself but the older uncles who cant do anything in these situations but suck thumb.Despite my explanation, the company booted me anyway(obviously bec they have long queue for new drivers). So was i wrong to go after fare evaders, with a view to helping other drivers? Can COMFORT ANSWER MY QUESTION " CAN TAXI DRIVERS DO ANYTHING IF SOMEONE CHOOSES NOT TO PAY?" From my experience, Comfort is not protecting n respecting their 16000 n more(relief incl) drivers who have to slog 12 hrs on the road while they rake in the big bucks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged November 19, 2012 Share November 19, 2012 (edited) maybe driver got bad record in COMFORT and they use this excuse to sack him or 1 side story. Just like below story by Daniel Law. Retarded guy. Complain so much. In the end, kanna butter back by HDB http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-...uickly-20121108 IN MARCH last year, the Housing Board promised to shorten the time taken to release the balloting results for a Build-to-Order (BTO) unit from nine weeks to three. I applied for a BTO unit in the last week of September this year, but have yet to receive the results. My e-mail inquiries have elicited the standard reply; that the results are being processed. The HDB should meet its promises. A two-week delay in this instance is trying and telling. It deprives me of the opportunity to consider other options.Moreover, this is the seventh time I have tried, and failed, to obtain a BTO unit. Daniel Law http://www.straitstimes.com/archive/thursd...ts-hdb-20121115 SINCE March last year, the HDB has made a commitment to release the ballot results for Build-to-Order (BTO) exercises within three weeks of the launch ("Inform flat applicants quickly" by Mr Daniel Law; last Thursday). For the September 2012 BTO exercise, we released the ballot results on Oct 18, which was within three weeks of the sales launch. Mr Law had actually applied for a balance flat in Sengkang under the September 2012 Sale of Balance Flats (SBF) exercise, and not the BTO exercise. As there is usually a much higher number of applications received for the SBF exercise, the HDB requires more time to carry out eligibility checks on the applications received. We had therefore highlighted on our HDB InfoWeb portal that shortlisted SBF applicants would be informed of their queue positions in early November. The ballot results were released on Nov 6 as scheduled. Mr Law also indicated that he failed seven times in applying for a BTO flat. His account is not correct. Of the seven attempts, five were for BTO flats, while two were for SBF exercises. Moreover, of the five BTO attempts, Mr Law was invited on two occasions to select a flat - in November last year and May this year. However, each time, he decided not to select a flat. Since Mr Law gave up two chances to select a flat, further applications by him that are made within a year from Aug 30 this year will be processed under the second-timer group. This procedure was put in place to discourage frivolous applications, so that those in more urgent need of housing will be given a chance to select their flats. Loh Swee Heng Director (Sales) Housing & Development Board Edited November 19, 2012 by Mcf777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joemarystar Neutral Newbie November 19, 2012 Share November 19, 2012 Get a grip... this is singapore... Not your neighbouring SE asia country. Whatever decisions they make, they are not obliged to tell u or explain to u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hensony Clutched November 19, 2012 Share November 19, 2012 If this driver is a member of a Taxi Association, he should bring it up for their attention. Let them fight on his behalf. I believe Seng Han Thong is still their president or some similar role. Let him put his MP status to good use. See what Comfort has to say. While there are some CMI taxi drivers around, I despise fare cheats more. If they can't afford the fare, don't take taxi. If this taxi driver was merely apprehending these 2 fare cheats and he didn't go overboard in detaining them, Comfort shouldn't dismiss him. That's just my opinion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged November 19, 2012 Share November 19, 2012 Name the SEA country you mentioned that does. On 11/19/2012 at 5:16 AM, Joemarystar said: Get a grip... this is singapore... Not your neighbouring SE asia country. Whatever decisions they make, they are not obliged to tell u or explain to u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic November 19, 2012 Share November 19, 2012 Lucky the taxi driver did not get a 'molest' cries from the 2 girls. He even got the cheek to kpkb and says that he hold one of the girl hand till police arrive. Is it worth chasing after the girls and what if the girls are trained by KGB. The taxi driver could be . How often he get ppls to run off without paying? I don't think very often and maybe the taxi driver himself have some anger management problem before and thats why NTUC take action... He gets more tips from passengers than people running off without paying. I don't asked for loose chain back if the fare is $9.20/-. I just gave the driver $10/- and got off the taxi. I know they are hard at work and treat it as a cup of coffee for the driver. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 19, 2012 Share November 19, 2012 self pwned! Daniel who? [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged November 19, 2012 Share November 19, 2012 On 11/19/2012 at 5:38 AM, Picnic06 said: Lucky the taxi driver did not get a 'molest' cries from the 2 girls. He even got the cheek to kpkb and says that he hold one of the girl hand till police arrive. Is it worth chasing after the girls and what if the girls are trained by KGB. The taxi driver could be . How often he get ppls to run off without paying? I don't think very often and maybe the taxi driver himself have some anger management problem before and thats why NTUC take action... He gets more tips from passengers than people running off without paying. I don't asked for loose chain back if the fare is $9.20/-. I just gave the driver $10/- and got off the taxi. I know they are hard at work and treat it as a cup of coffee for the driver. so if the next table tips the waiter, i can walk off without paying the restaurant for the food I consumed? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gee 1st Gear November 19, 2012 Share November 19, 2012 .. set out to maintain his $7K/mth (passing time summore) but backfired? if it was indeed penny wise dollar foolish case,.. ironic.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Littleknown Clutched November 19, 2012 Share November 19, 2012 On 11/19/2012 at 5:38 AM, Picnic06 said: Lucky the taxi driver did not get a 'molest' cries from the 2 girls. He even got the cheek to kpkb and says that he hold one of the girl hand till police arrive. Is it worth chasing after the girls and what if the girls are trained by KGB. The taxi driver could be . How often he get ppls to run off without paying? I don't think very often and maybe the taxi driver himself have some anger management problem before and thats why NTUC take action... He gets more tips from passengers than people running off without paying. I don't asked for loose chain back if the fare is $9.20/-. I just gave the driver $10/- and got off the taxi. I know they are hard at work and treat it as a cup of coffee for the driver. there is NO molest here - if got, we would know. Hooligan girls met hooligan driver. But key issue - COMFORT can just say they counsel the taxi driver and issue letter of warning and can still answer the complaint letter. Or at least explain very clearly to taxi driver why he was dismissed. COMFORT did not. This is the issue here. And their handling sounds wrong. CAVEAT: one sided story. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic November 19, 2012 Share November 19, 2012 On 11/19/2012 at 5:53 AM, Sabian said: so if the next table tips the waiter, i can walk off without paying the restaurant for the food I consumed? hee..hee... for food, it could hit few hundreds dollars.... . Furthermore, restaurant got lots of workers to go after you. driving taxi and chasing one to lonely lane could put your life at risk just for few dollars when you are alone ... What I know, some restaurants here got CCTV at the entrance, pictures of non paying customers will be shown at other branches and all keep a look out for them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 19, 2012 Share November 19, 2012 Actually I'm curious. What's taxi company's SOP when it comes to passengers not paying and tries to run? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged November 19, 2012 Share November 19, 2012 it is easy to ask the taxi driver to let go of fare cheats and since he didn't he is the aggressive party and ought be punished. it is easy also to say the little money is not worth it. but imagine, if this was tenth time he is cheated, i wouldn't think it is so easy to take it easy. but for a lot of people liek this taxi driver, it is the principle of not getting cheated that eggs them on. the money is not a lot, but the principle behind it means a lot to such people. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged November 19, 2012 Share November 19, 2012 aiyoh... wanna beat dog also must see the master lar.... does he know who own comfort?.... dont think anything will happen.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged November 19, 2012 Share November 19, 2012 The problem is that he admits to physically restraining one of the girls - so whether get good explanation or not, he is going to be on the losing end. It is easy for comfort to just say "cannot physically restrain" and that is the end of the story. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hammerhammer 1st Gear November 19, 2012 Share November 19, 2012 Usually if CDG terminate a person confirm got record one. Sometimes little minor complains they dun call you for kopi until big one come out then they will boot you. Relief easier to boot cos it's hirer problem not theirs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged November 19, 2012 Share November 19, 2012 What I understand is that no individual has a right to detain others, once he has obtained the particulars which allows the police to follow-up. Granted, police follow-up is very iffy, once everybody has left the scene. But still, unlawful detention is also an offence. In this taxi driver's case, can understand that he fears being unable to get the fares as his passengers were not locals. Interesting to see what explanation the taxi company gives. Maybe there's some more back story that we don't know. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged November 19, 2012 Share November 19, 2012 actually, does chasing up folks, keeping them in public place without physical restraint, constitutign to unlawful detention? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...