Micarforum 1st Gear November 18, 2012 Share November 18, 2012 Anyone installed Philips Diamond Vision headlights? Is it compliant with LTA? Can it be easily/safely installed anywhere or will it potentially short circuit the electronics of the car? (heard from my car agent that some people installs HID on conti cars and end up short circuit the car)... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 18, 2012 Share November 18, 2012 On 11/18/2012 at 3:36 AM, Micarforum said: Anyone installed Philips Diamond Vision headlights? Is it compliant with LTA? Can it be easily/safely installed anywhere or will it potentially short circuit the electronics of the car? (heard from my car agent that some people installs HID on conti cars and end up short circuit the car)... DV is not lta approved but now ty more flexible cos white lights also approved. DV is normal halogen bulb not hid. Hid aftermarket is not allowed by lta. Many aftermarket hid is crap mic low quality n cannot last. Dun waste yr money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Micarforum 1st Gear November 18, 2012 Author Share November 18, 2012 On 11/18/2012 at 3:43 AM, Pisces69 said: DV is not lta approved but now ty more flexible cos white lights also approved. DV is normal halogen bulb not hid. Hid aftermarket is not allowed by lta. Many aftermarket hid is crap mic low quality n cannot last. Dun waste yr money. I read that LTA officially approved Diamond Vision leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 18, 2012 Share November 18, 2012 On 11/18/2012 at 3:49 AM, Micarforum said: I read that LTA officially approved Diamond Vision leh... Oh so now dv approved? Last time brightest was cv. DV very bright n used fr off road. Now philips latest is Xtreme range. I thinking of trying when my present bulb blows. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Micarforum 1st Gear November 18, 2012 Author Share November 18, 2012 On 11/18/2012 at 3:59 AM, Pisces69 said: Oh so now dv approved? Last time brightest was cv. DV very bright n used fr off road. Now philips latest is Xtreme range. I thinking of trying when my present bulb blows. need others to verify if DV is compliant leh... and how to install safely on conti cars? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoobyclub Neutral Newbie November 18, 2012 Share November 18, 2012 As long not stock mean fail. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 18, 2012 Share November 18, 2012 On 11/18/2012 at 4:04 AM, Micarforum said: need others to verify if DV is compliant leh... and how to install safely on conti cars? DV u can use lah just adjust so it dun shine too high n iritate other drivers. The bulb is same as original so no modifications. Just plug n play. Got H4 n H7. U not sure let e shop install but b careful. I ever see those inexperienced worker install make a mess. Also make sure ty DO NOT TOUCH E GLASS OF E BULB. Ty do n e bulb wil blow very fast. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 18, 2012 Share November 18, 2012 On 11/18/2012 at 4:15 AM, Scoobyclub said: As long not stock mean fail. Ya but now lta approve those brighter good quality bulbs like osram n philips. Just adjust so it dun shine high into pples eyes. Go msia ty catching especially SG cars with bright n misaligned headlights cos very dangerous in those very dark roads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Micarforum 1st Gear November 19, 2012 Author Share November 19, 2012 so what's the best white light that's lta compliant and long lasting? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckchong8 1st Gear November 19, 2012 Share November 19, 2012 On 11/19/2012 at 9:45 PM, Micarforum said: so what's the best white light that's lta compliant and long lasting? Been using the osram night breaker for a year plus till I sold my ride. Compare to stock it So much brighter and further. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged November 19, 2012 Share November 19, 2012 On 11/18/2012 at 3:49 AM, Micarforum said: I read that LTA officially approved Diamond Vision leh... the rules is very simple, if your car is factory fitted with a light bulb with the same spec as DV, then DV is approved. They never specifically mentioned that DV is approved for all cars. For light bulb, LTA will always check and compare 3 things, wattage, colour and bulb type. So long its different from factory specification. FAIL. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic November 20, 2012 Share November 20, 2012 Philips DV light is not bright as what you will expect. It only look bluish white. How ever the light throw is very short. During heavy rain at night you will not be able to see any lane marking on the road. I used it before previously and change it out later due to not enough brightness and short light throw. It only look nice like a HID due to white colour. If you want bright one, should go for Philips Extreme Power (I used later) or Osram Night Breaker. Of course this bulb is more yellowish in colour. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear November 20, 2012 Share November 20, 2012 On 11/18/2012 at 3:36 AM, Micarforum said: Anyone installed Philips Diamond Vision headlights? Is it compliant with LTA? Can it be easily/safely installed anywhere or will it potentially short circuit the electronics of the car? (heard from my car agent that some people installs HID on conti cars and end up short circuit the car)... If you after white light then Philips DV is the go but if you are after brightness and throw then Philips XV would be a better choice. Philips DV colour Philips XV Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Micarforum 1st Gear November 20, 2012 Author Share November 20, 2012 (edited) wah... my current ride's halogen i already got difficulty trying to see lane markings when raining at night. any light that would help? philips XV is better than philips x-treme power? Edited November 20, 2012 by Micarforum Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guan87 1st Gear November 20, 2012 Share November 20, 2012 currently using philips xtreme vision. previous ride was using osram night breaker. both are good. the light throw is superb. tried diamond vision for awhile.. totally gave up after a heavy rain.. cant see a s--t! even headlight and fog light on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Micarforum 1st Gear November 20, 2012 Author Share November 20, 2012 On 11/20/2012 at 2:01 AM, Guan87 said: currently using philips xtreme vision. previous ride was using osram night breaker. both are good. the light throw is superb. tried diamond vision for awhile.. totally gave up after a heavy rain.. cant see a s--t! even headlight and fog light on. is the philips xtreme vision better than your stock halogen? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ayie88 Clutched November 20, 2012 Share November 20, 2012 So guys what do u recommend if i am looking for longer throw and brightness?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic November 20, 2012 Share November 20, 2012 On 11/20/2012 at 2:25 AM, Ayie88 said: So guys what do u recommend if i am looking for longer throw and brightness?? Philips Xtreme Vision/Power are good in light throw and brightness. Diamond Vision only for cosmetic, look good but cannot make it. Especially during heavy rain. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...