Vulcann 6th Gear November 15, 2012 Share November 15, 2012 From CNA: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/ent...1237312/1/.html Sylvester Stallone hints at Rambo's last stand Posted: 15 November 2012 0857 hrs US actor Sylvester Stallone arrives for the screening of "Bullet to the head" at the VIIth edition of the Rome film festival, November 14, 2012. (AFP/Tiziana Fabi) ROME: Action hero Rambo may make a return to the big screen for one last battle, Hollywood veteran Sylvester Stallone said Wednesday in Rome where his latest gun-toting buddy flick screened its world premiere. "The Rambo thing, that's why I don't retire. I just see a guy unable to go home. He needs war and I see him dying there," Stallone said about the Vietnam veteran he played in a series of four films from 1982 to 2008. "If my damn body holds up, it'll be really good. Otherwise it won't be Rambo fighting, it'll be Rambo fighting arthritis," the 66-year-old said. Stallone also said he hoped that, after Rambo and Rocky the boxer, he had created an icon for the new generation with his performance as a hired killer with a heart in Walter Hill's 1980s-style action film "Bullet to the Head". Under the tag-line "Revenge never gets old", the movie tells the tale of mercenary Jimmy Bobo (Stallone) who unwillingly links up with a straight-laced, technologically-savvy cop (Sung Kang) when their partners are murdered. "To be able to have played both Rambo and Rocky, one a dark character, the other optimistic, was very unusual. They were iconic. Jimmy is a combination of the both, maybe he can be such a character for this generation," Stallone said. Bobo, whose philosophical insights include "sometimes you have to abandon your principles and do what's right", takes his new ally on a shooting spree before a final showdown in which he must defeat the enemy in an axe fight. The film, which at its best appears to be an ironic take on the wooden dialogues and predictable suspense scenes from old action B-movies, saw director Hill awarded Rome film festival's first Maverick Director Prize. Stallone said he "wasn't sure the film was going to work... I borrowed from other films but also learnt from my past," he said, describing how he had once convinced a sceptical Woody Allen to take him for the part of a villain. "I was nobody. They needed a bad guy but he wouldn't even look at me. I was with another guy, we went off and smeared vaseline and dirt on our faces and came back and really scared him. It taught me to never give up," he said. The burly actor, who spends much of "Bullet" flexing his trademark biceps, took time out from the festival to visit underprivileged youths on Tuesday in the crime-ridden Rome suburb of Tor Bella Monaca. "Going there and seeing those young people in that neighbourhood was almost like I was reliving my past. I came from a very bad place to a good one. I told them: do not be afraid of failure. In the end you will make it," he said. Stallone said he had learnt how to be tough after making his first Rocky film, when the movie studio refused to pay him and treated him badly. "From that point on I tried to do films about overcoming obstacles. This is a business: somehow out of the chaos, wonderful creativity comes out. But you can only rely on yourself. This lesson saved me," he said. The actor, who is half Italian, made a plea to save Italy's famous Cinecitta' film studios which are in a perilous financial state. "In my business it's hard to find iconic institutes such as this one. I really hope the Italian government and all you who love film can make it survive because you can, and it will come back stronger," he said. -AFP/fl ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged November 15, 2012 Share November 15, 2012 (edited) Actually I kind of enjoyed the first Rambo movie. It's dark and gritty and reflects the psycology trauma suffered by veterans... As for Rambo II and Rambo III, it's just action and explosive galore that is popular in the 80s.. I didn't catch Rambo 4 though... No matter how cliche it will be, it's no doubt he created an icon with the character... Edited November 15, 2012 by Pocus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear November 15, 2012 Author Share November 15, 2012 (edited) Hurray! Rambo making his last stand and gunning down all the evil Decepticons with his 7.62mm M60 MG will be a classic for the next millenia Edited November 15, 2012 by Vulcann Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic November 15, 2012 Share November 15, 2012 The first few Rambo was good. But the last one not so good liao. Now still wana come out another one??? He better not lah. Like Jackie Chan, watch too much will become sian one leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear November 15, 2012 Author Share November 15, 2012 Actually I kind of enjoyed the first Rambo movie. It's dark and gritty and reflects the psycology trauma suffered by veterans... As for Rambo II and Rambo III, it's just action and explosive galore that is popular in the 80s.. I didn't catch Rambo 4 though... No matter how cliche it will be, it's no doubt he created an icon with the character... Actually First Blood was a good action flick with a believable storyline of a highly decorated war vet being ostracised and treated like dirt by his fellow citizens which then led to his explosive response. Thereafter it was like you said him just blazing around with his explosive-tipped arrow heads, RPGs, AKs & even him flying a gunship (or flying a lightly armed one against a Hind?). No storyline whatsoever Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gee 1st Gear November 15, 2012 Share November 15, 2012 double hard for an aged character (i.e Rambo) to breakaway and leave an impression, both story and legacy? the norm with this sort of sequel trend is declining, anti climax and very forgettable. if he is smart he won't go the predictable boring way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear November 15, 2012 Author Share November 15, 2012 The first few Rambo was good. But the last one not so good liao. Now still wana come out another one??? He better not lah. Like Jackie Chan, watch too much will become sian one leh. And leave a legacy hor? But many oldies still think they are popular and frankly we can't blame them. Who, except some, doesn't crave for fame? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 15, 2012 Share November 15, 2012 The first few Rambo was good. But the last one not so good liao. Now still wana come out another one??? He better not lah. Like Jackie Chan, watch too much will become sian one leh. Jackie Chan, his old movie where he is just the actor are nice. those he direct one CMI Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear November 15, 2012 Share November 15, 2012 no matter what..he was once our hero icon.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic November 15, 2012 Share November 15, 2012 And leave a legacy hor? But many oldies still think they are popular and frankly we can't blame them. Who, except some, doesn't crave for fame? I still prefer Chuck Norris, Steven Seagal and jean claude van damme old movies. They were great!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic November 15, 2012 Share November 15, 2012 Jackie Chan, his old movie where he is just the actor are nice. those he direct one CMI Ya, esp earlier Police Story. Can watch and watch and still wana watch. The newer ones like tuxedo or shanghai noon................ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 15, 2012 Share November 15, 2012 I still prefer Chuck Norris, Steven Seagal and jean claude van damme old movies. They were great!!! now have jason statham :D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear November 15, 2012 Share November 15, 2012 They should just call this movie Rambo XP coz XP is an emoticon for being dead.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 15, 2012 Share November 15, 2012 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear November 15, 2012 Share November 15, 2012 Yeh, my all time favourite too..... Hope they make another new movie.... Aliens to Alien 3 was the biggest disappointment for me to date.... Macam kena masturbate until wanna cum liao then stop.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 15, 2012 Share November 15, 2012 Ya, esp earlier Police Story. Can watch and watch and still wana watch. The newer ones like tuxedo or shanghai noon................ speaking of old time actor. wonder how come stephen chow so long didnt have new movie. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged November 15, 2012 Share November 15, 2012 (edited) Yeh, my all time favourite too..... Hope they make another new movie.... Aliens to Alien 3 was the biggest disappointment for me to date.... Macam kena masturbate until wanna cum liao then stop.... I thought Aliens was pretty good leh.... Alien 3 is "meh".. Alien 4 is well...okay only Promethus was the shet! Edited November 15, 2012 by Pocus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear November 15, 2012 Share November 15, 2012 I thought Aliens was pretty good leh.... Alien 3 is "meh".. Alien 4 is well...okay only Promethus was the shet! That's what I mean.... Aliens was superb and then next is the big disappointment.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...