Asiaone: Safety Breaches Led To Deaths of NSFs

Vulcann

Can always MU CNY like mine, come my house I cook for all of them and their families mah. Make the effort, good friends and good bonds are hard to come by. My sons also keep in contact with all their army friends, youngest just entered, kpkb, hates his buddy like fark, sabo king,

says he wants to be a pilot, fail IPPT and refuses to help everyone else except himself. A making of a Opicer. :D

Got. We do meetup from time to time on major public hols! [laugh]

Mine is CNY, other times of their kids misbehave

They will call me on the phone and the kids kana upsides

Down by me. :D all the way Mah.

My era our so call president was the then minister for defence. Hmmm i am old. <_<

tell you a secret... my era too [blush] btw, that time i know a friend called tony tan.. so when ever we are not happy, we call him to scold him [:p]

Is he willing to give up his fat pay cheque?

I think he earns more in private sector leh.... :o

I heard he was a top notch surgeon, but can't recall in which area.

why is someone with asthma being certified fit for combat unit? Our million dollar minister should perhaps answer this rather than to push the blame to the instructors.

Edited by Johorat

It is reported but not publicized... Now too high tech, everything everywhere get publicized. You wear underwear outside may also get stomped [laugh]

They HAVE to be transparent because of publicity. "you can run, but you cannot hide" NOW with the media advancement. [gossip]

Was fixing my PC yesterday with my TV on and overheard something like the mother was asking if her 16-yo son could be excused from NSF in view of what happened to Sarron.

Not sure if I heard correctly but this reminded me of the movie Saving Private Ryan which was partly based on the tragic story of the Sullivan brothers' incident when all 5 of them served together on a light cruiser USS Juneau (CL-52) and perished together when Juneau was sunk by a Japanese submarine during WWII.

Shortly after the Sullivan brothers' unfortunate incident, the US Congress enacted a law called Sole Survivor Policy (Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sole_Survivor_Policy) which allows any sole surviving son or sons to be be excused from draft (our NS equivalent though in the US there is no compulsory service) during peacetime that but they can opt in if they wanted to. However during national emergency or when America is at war, this policy will be rescinded.

Maybe we can consider this?

Was fixing my PC yesterday with my TV on and overheard something like the mother was asking if her 16-yo son could be excused from NSF in view of what happened to Sarron.

Not sure if I heard correctly but this reminded me of the movie Saving Private Ryan which was partly based on the tragic story of the Sullivan brothers' incident when all 5 of them served together on a light cruiser USS Juneau (CL-52) and perished together when Juneau was sunk by a Japanese submarine during WWII.

Shortly after the Sullivan brothers' unfortunate incident, the US Congress enacted a law called Sole Survivor Policy (Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sole_Survivor_Policy) which allows any sole surviving son or sons to be be excused from draft (our NS equivalent though in the US there is no compulsory service) during peacetime that but they can opt in if they wanted to. However during national emergency or when America is at war, this policy will be rescinded.

I thought of this also but people with only child / son will sure complain.

I think it's fair if the brother gets a service posting

why is someone with asthma being certified fit for combat unit? Our million dollar minister should perhaps answer this rather than to push the blame to the instructors.

asthma boh pa gei liao...

i have asthma history (although no relapse for many years since my teenage years)... when I got enlisted in the late 90s, i declare i got asthma but they say cannot downgrade but luckily I got a damaged finger (small finger due to playing basketball got injured) hence only got downgraded.

Mine is CNY, other times of their kids misbehave

They will call me on the phone and the kids kana upsides

Down by me. :D all the way Mah.

hahaha... give the kids sign extra lah [laugh]

Let me recount a REAL LIVE incident to you, circa 20+ years ago.

A LCP was doing Guard Commander in this base. (We will not specify)

the DO (Whom we shall nickname as Siao Kow aka Mad Dog) caught the boy

snoozing off for a moment. (Also OC of the base then) decided to charge the boy,

all the Snr NCOs pleaded against this hash decision, he still didn't back down and sent the

boy into DB for 7 days. (Story shorten here)

Boy came out, coughing and whizzing. (Small skinny frame guy, bespectacled)

I personally went to the boys house with my wife to see how he was doing.

1-2 weeks after release from DB, the boy died. Severe pneumonia.

He was the ONLY son, left behind two 60 year old parents and two elder sisters. (20yrs ago)

The OC did not admit regret, no remorse nothing, he even said he deserved it, and this was NOT HIS FAULT.

All Snr. NCOs knew otherwise, that sending the boy to DB was a grave mistake, he couldn't make it

since he had Asthma, and was very frail.

The vocation of the deceased was that of a storeman. (A Levels)

Moral of the story: Go figure.

I dwell with this thought and others every time, and it will be with me for the rest of my life.

9 months in the womb, child, teenager,young adult.... life is so fragile.

This IS a true story. And if you all wanna now what's happened to the OC, yes, I've been tracking him

every since I left, well, all my guys have, he holds a very HIGH position in one of the XX Group.

We're waiting for karma to come visiting.

Whatever law also no use.

This IS a true story. And if you all wanna now what's happened to the OC, yes, I've been tracking him

every since I left, well, all my guys have, he holds a very HIGH position in one of the XX Group.

Sad to say I think his "karma" will be to retire happily and rich after a long and "distingushed" career.

It's the same everywhere. Those that get ahead tend to be ruthless with no conscience.

I don't know of many nice guys at the top.

[:(]

Don't worry, the heavens have eyes! I always believe these words.

Retribution may not come to that b------d OC personally, but it may come to his loved ones or relatives. He could retire in good wealth and health, but someone beside him will suffer (in his place). Just wait and see. :angry:

Saving Private Ryan is when u die during REAL WAR then maybe exempted?

Military training is not going to war so in statistic, very unlikely u will DIE from enemy shooting.

if use such theory, if family left w 1 son or family have 1 son in the first place...all will be exempted.

Edited by Babyt

Sad to say I think his "karma" will be to retire happily and rich after a long and "distingushed" career.

It's the same everywhere. Those that get ahead tend to be ruthless with no conscience.

I don't know of many nice guys at the top.

[:(]

Whatever it may be it will come to him or his family. He can do as much charity work as he deems fit to,

it's all show to everybody who don't know otherwise he's just doing it for the sake of the attention, not from his

bloody farking little black heart! I can only pray he dies a slow and painful death, befitting of what he did to that boy.

"Ong, may you rest in peace, we never forgot you, boy."

Don't worry, the heavens have eyes! I always believe these words.

Retribution may not come to that b------d OC personally, but it may come to his loved ones or relatives. He could retire in good wealth and health, but someone beside him will suffer (in his place). Just wait and see. :angry:

We all are waiting.