Asiaone: Safety Breaches Led To Deaths of NSFs

Vulcann

like school student. our army now a day got lot of disobident soldiers liao. ignoring order and yet, those encik cannot do anything cause if got MP letter. they kenna drill like dont know what.

Please have some faith in our Armed Forces and the backbone aka NCO of the Forces. <_<

I am part of the NCO. have faith doesnt mean we have to be blinded by what is going on [:(]

anyway long time no see liao. where you go??

Hmm.....not sureif MR already still get called up, if i not wrong should be those active units on 2hrs NMT kena first, then NS MEN. If MR also kena call up, maybe that means our army already wipe out liao?

I am part of the NCO. have faith doesnt mean we have to be blinded by what is going on [:(]

anyway long time no see liao. where you go??

Times are changing...just because things are done differently from the past does make it any worse (or better)...it is just different thats all. Who's to say the old ways or new ways are better?

I am always around lah....just nothing to post thats all

Old Mr Private...in times of war, what happen to those who have MR...do we get call up? <_<

Hmm...good question Sir, I'll ask my minister at the next "Meet the Minister" session and let chew you ok? :D

MR is MR from reserve, not MR from war. ^_^

Hmm.....not sureif MR already still get called up, if i not wrong should be those active units on 2hrs NMT kena first, then NS MEN. If MR also kena call up, maybe that means our army already wipe out liao?

MR is Mindef Reserve. Those on MR will be called up only if a real war happens. But they have no ICT or IPPT. They are also considered non-active servicemen.

Edited by TVT

MR is Mindef Reserve. Those on MR will be called up only if a real war happens. But they have no OCT or IPPT. They are also considered non-active servicemen.

Spoken like a true MR-ian. [laugh]

Wrong. SAF has changed. But the soldiers are ignoring it. Commanders are required to asses the risks involved in each activity and are required to brief appointment holders. More often then not, it is the mentality of safety-reduce-realism that leads to personnel side disregarding the safety of the soldiers.

All the same lah. If SAF policy had changed but the soldiers didn't change, then it is still a failure!

Times are changing...just because things are done differently from the past does make it any worse (or better)...it is just different thats all. Who's to say the old ways or new ways are better?

I am always around lah....just nothing to post thats all

it is done the same lah my unit. MTLine how different can you operate. but they soldiers/driver are a lot worse liao. :ph34r:

Actually maybe I'm the only one that felt that this "reason" is a crap of bull! Although smoke grenades have harmful fumes, it's not as if all 6 six where lopped to him at once right? I believe it's due to the enclosure of the smoke grenades in the room at amplify the fumes. It's just unfortunate he got like severe reaction.

During training we are talking about realism here, to limit the number of smoke grenades thrown sound pretty BS to me. It's not like these grenades are explosive. Don't tell me next time even the blanks we fired are limited to only 1 or 2 mags and the rest we just "bang bang" universal rounds for the rest of the training? I just feel the PC is a scapegoat to sacrifice to the angry mob..

As for the second case, I believe we all experience this sort of complaceny one way or another during our NS, the "no helmet, seat no buckle" scenario. Tired, dirty, clusterfark with little space, short distance, it's damn "leychey" to buckle up if you're on FBO and rushing for mission. It's not easy to manuver around a rover with FBO and rifle. It's unfortunate the driver is not "licensed" which I'm puzzled why is he even allowed to drive in the first place.

how you know? you are on the BOI? you read the COI? you were there? was the space concerned an enclosed environment or an open one? how big was the dead volume of the room? what was the prevailing wind speeds that day? how do you know whether the smoke grenades weren't thrown in rapid succession? what was the effective airborne concentration of zinc chloride? what is the lethal airborne concentration? you know? you can answer? don't know then don't talk kok.

comparing effect of smoke grenade with firing blanks? whats with this analogy?

don't know just keep your mouth shut. don't just play the devil's advocate for the sake of doing so. just makes you look stupid.

Wonder how did the trainer managed to get 6canister instead of 2 required for the training? The guy who issue out those 6 cans not equally guilty of charges?

Kanna twice during my active days as part of Chemical Warfare course. Trust me, 1 canister in an enclosed container already caused most of us tears and salivas. Somemore cannot use water to wash it away else the burning feeling will get worse instead. 1 can is already so destructive so cannot imagine that officer throw in 6 cans instead. That guy must be a sadist!

Hmm.....don't think Chemical Warfare training uses these normal Smoke Grenade. I remember my chemical warfare training is held in a room where they release the tear gas and u are suppose to change the canister, then take off ur mask and shout out ur rank, name, ic before u are allowed to leave.

how you know? you are on the BOI? you read the COI? you were there? was the space concerned an enclosed environment or an open one? how big was the dead volume of the room? what was the prevailing wind speeds that day? how do you know whether the smoke grenades weren't thrown in rapid succession? what was the effective airborne concentration of zinc chloride? what is the lethal airborne concentration? you know? you can answer? don't know then don't talk kok.

comparing effect of smoke grenade with firing blanks? whats with this analogy?

don't know just keep your mouth shut. don't just play the devil's advocate for the sake of doing so. just makes you look stupid.

Chill man why such big reaction? <_<

My guess is as good as yours.... I've just saying what I think, I could be wrong but everyone's speculating their own theory too...

I'm not playing Devil's avocate here, I'm just frustrated we are slowly compromising realistic trainings for safety...I'm not saying it's a bad thing but only fear that we may soon have a strawberry army in time...

Kanna twice during my active days as part of Chemical Warfare course. Trust me, 1 canister in an enclosed container already caused most of us tears and salivas. Somemore cannot use water to wash it away else the burning feeling will get worse instead. 1 can is already so destructive so cannot imagine that officer throw in 6 cans instead. That guy must be a sadist!

That's tear gas...not smoke grenades..

Wonder how did the trainer managed to get 6canister instead of 2 required for the training? The guy who issue out those 6 cans not equally guilty of charges?

wah lau, where got draw exact ammo one? Sure to draw more one mah..... scarly one spoil how?

Last time I do Live Firing sentry, given 1 smoke bomb per team. We used it to flush out the wasp nest in the sentry post [:p]

Hmm.....don't think Chemical Warfare training uses these normal Smoke Grenade. I remember my chemical warfare training is held in a room where they release the tear gas and u are suppose to change the canister, then take off ur mask and shout out ur rank, name, ic before u are allowed to leave.

Yup, I've done that too. Chemical warfare is surely not smoke grenade. I am in combat training before and I can tell the difference.