Which transmission of car u prefer

Richard_Peh

Which transmission of car u prefer  

186 members have voted

1. 1. Transmission

• Manual
    • Auto

When I am the driver, I prefer manual.

If I am the passenger, I prefer to be driven in a car with automatic transmission.

Agreed,gearshift & clutch very heavy,for "AngMoh" used the best.

Most saf vehicles very hard to drive cos repaired n maintained by low grade under qualified saf mechs.

Ty take great vehicles n turn then into pieces of junk.

U try driving a brand new saf landrover(mostly CO vehicle) n see how shiok ty r to drive.

Some SE will be like not interested already lo. Last year my dad wanted to get a 335i. Asked the SE if can get the MT version or not and they were not willing to help us. Maybe its because of the car we drove there they thought we just asking around for fun only. Ended up getting the auto one. Gearbox so jerky my family feels my MT car is smoother especially in 1st and 2nd gear...

If e Bmw 335i has a jerky autobox something is wrong wh e car. U sud hv it checked by e agent.

Those highend cars r very smooth to drive unless u fiddled with it till it spoil.

Some pple try to fiddle this n that...change this n that till e car become like junk.

If u dun know abt e workings of e car....leave it alone. Repair n service only by well trained mechs.

If e Bmw 335i has a jerky autobox something is wrong wh e car. U sud hv it checked by e agent.

Those highend cars r very smooth to drive unless u fiddled with it till it spoil.

Some pple try to fiddle this n that...change this n that till e car become like junk.

If u dun know abt e workings of e car....leave it alone. Repair n service only by well trained mechs.

It was brand new and totally stock.... Go back to check they also say no problem. Try other's 335i also equally jerky. Maybe shouldn't say jerky. Just not as smooth as my manual car when changing gears.

Those are the previous generations right?

Are there any manual R35?

i think Blitz did converted R35 to manual trans for drift purpose...

speaking of which, i wonder how the sales of R35s be affected if they came in proper manual only...

Edited by 987

It was brand new and totally stock.... Go back to check they also say no problem. Try other's 335i also equally jerky. Maybe shouldn't say jerky. Just not as smooth as my manual car when changing gears.

Maybe u push e car hard. When u drive an auto hard e shifts cud feel jerky.

If u drive normally it sud b smoother.

Manual over auto. Comparing N.A. with N.A., an Auto 2 litre with a Manual 1.6, the performance of a 1.6 manual is on par or if not better than a 2.0 auto. Other than traffic jams, I also thought that manual has the outright control during cornering, downshift for overtaking, better throttle response for pick up speed, and also the ability to control speed right down to crawling.

Nowadays, I read about technologies embedded into auto transmission cars, such as auto switching to neutral when driver lifts foot off the accelerator and also putting to neutral at traffic lights, all of this can be done in manual at the driver's own will without any electronics complication.

DSG by far is the best gear box for immediate shifting and great economy, but outright slow speed control and smoothness, a true manual still beats in and very much simple and reliable too. [thumbsup]

Maybe u push e car hard. When u drive an auto hard e shifts cud feel jerky.

If u drive normally it sud b smoother.

Nope. I didn't drive hard. In fact it is mostly during low speed driving in first and second gear where it gets jerky as I mentioned previously. For example first and second gear in a carpark. Of course if driving hard I expect the jerk to be more obvious....

Edited by Nzy

Nope. I didn't drive hard. In fact it is mostly during low speed driving in first and second gear where it gets jerky as I mentioned previously. For example first and second gear in a carpark. Of course if driving hard I expect the jerk to be more obvious....

If u had e chance to drive a few more cars of same make n model n all behave e same...then its likely a design flaw.

I guess u wil just hv to live wh it.

Good thing i prob get e merc C180 instead. So far nobody complain abt jerky autobox on it.

if the poll shows that a significant number would take a manual car over auto how come the poll figures flip when customers are at the AD

[rolleyes]

Is it tok is cheap. Tok wil say wan control n drive hard so manual better but how many of these pple actually wil buy these cars? Sounds impressive only but in reality those who actually buy wil take e auto. Hahaha.

In reality how many here wil pay a small fortune fr a car n thash its nuts off? Very few indeed. [laugh]

Manual for driving. Long road like US 380 or US 80.

Taipei to kaoshiung.

Auto for sg needs.

Up down up down. Sian seah.

For a fact got lady truck driver around that can drive circles around you boy boy.

Taxi, once ,

A crown drove from jurong point to geylang in 15 minutes, flew by VW Scirocco. VW want to play, I think auto.

That cab driver is certifiable, double confirm.

Scared he kill me or my mom.

Driving skill tip tip top, no jerks, no dragging gears, no over rev.

Unfortunately, I had to the right thing.

Think he drive PS3 or Xbox2 now at buangkok green.

Wah bro, I still can't understand what you're typing.........you England is really tok kong ah!!! [thumbsup] [thumbsup] [thumbsup]