Vulcann 6th Gear November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 The luggage over-limit thing can understand but inflight service so CMI meh? From ST Forum: http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-...-times-20121109 90 mins to get hot drink on Qantas - after asking three times Published on Nov 09, 2012 LAST Saturday, I flew home on Qantas from Melbourne with my four-year-old child. I had a single piece of luggage, which exceeded the 23kg individual weight limit, but was within the limit for two. I had no problems about the luggage weight in earlier legs until the Saturday flight. The Qantas ground staff insisted that I pay an overweight charge. When I tried to explain, referring to the flexibility I was given on the earlier flights, he replied that he would charge me for those legs as well if I did not comply. I had to scramble to find another bag to repack, and meet the 23kg limit. Customer service on board the flight was poor too. I asked three times for a cup of hot chocolate for my child at meal time. It came 1 1/2 hours later, when hot chocolate was served to all. As a premium airline, does Qantas not know how to care for the needs of the young? Syndee Yap (Ms) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 (edited) sometimes the story can be one-sided but if it's true, then unacceptable lah.... comparing this incident, I would think you get better service with Tiger or Jetstar Edited November 9, 2012 by Othello Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 One sided story. Nowadays I always carry a travel weighing scale so as not to have any surprises at the check-in counter. Got 1 from Mustafa. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 firstly, the passenger was charged for over-weight luggage...then she comprain about services.... her story not credible...i think bcoz she was charged extra for luggage, then she already tulan, then became very agitated on board....but who ask her to take kangaroo plane? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 Although one sided story but seems like recently there are so many negative reports on qantas?! Esp their plane always have problems?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 Why travel qantas? Take SQ lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 One sided story. Nowadays I always carry a travel weighing scale so as not to have any surprises at the check-in counter. Got 1 from Mustafa. so many weighing scales in SG airport departure hall for use, why carry one ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 so many weighing scales in SG airport departure hall for use, why carry one ... His own one is the bestest. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 so many weighing scales in SG airport departure hall for use, why carry one ... Need to carry one so that can weight the luggage in the hotel ma. If overweight then can repack again before going to the airport. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 So far my Kangaroo experience quite OK leh though their pilots are more garang and FAs are quite "steady" even during turbulance, still continue to serve F&B. SQ one more "obedient" and quickly run to "take cover" whenever there's turbulance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 Tipical 'sikit atas' singaporean.... Only in Singapore where complaint will be handled immediately & expect a reply within 3 days, in other countries, they f* care you ... Nothing stated in all airline policies that 'she' cannot leave her seat and approach the strewards at the front or rear for a cup of drink. The moment the plane flies, all strewards were busy with their normal routines. Want anythings out of the routine, just approach the strewards and ask. Simple as that... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 Since when is Quantas a premium airline? And name like Syndee can already guess what sort of personality she has Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 Tipical 'sikit atas' singaporean.... Only in Singapore where complaint will be handled immediately & expect a reply within 3 days, in other countries, they f* care you ... Nothing stated in all airline policies that 'she' cannot leave her seat and approach the strewards at the front or rear for a cup of drink. The moment the plane flies, all strewards were busy with their normal routines. Want anythings out of the routine, just approach the strewards and ask. Simple as that... The person thought the airfare that she paid is BIG, so the cabin crew must provide super good services. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 Why travel qantas? Take SQ lah. Exactly. SQ still rocks as far as service goes. SQ = "Screw Qantas". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 Need to carry one so that can weight the luggage in the hotel ma. If overweight then can repack again before going to the airport. Ha..ha... didn't you see those ppls doing re-packing at departure hall beside the weighing scales. That's the purpose lar. I always carry one empty hand carrier in the suit case in event of emergency like overweight. Those hand carrier given by tour companies are very handy at times... If I'm travelling with family members, one of them will have an empty hand for such purpose (hand carry allow up to 10kg max) ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 small matter also want to write to ST and complain. Please la.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tatty Neutral Newbie November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 actually this baggage thing is overkill i once flew from london to singapore beside me was a man 3x my size i was charged for excess baggage if you combine weight of passage and luggage, my combine would likely be 1/2 or only 1/3 when compared to the passenger next to me but i am charged for excess luggage something wrong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 Ha..ha... didn't you see those ppls doing re-packing at departure hall beside the weighing scales. That's the purpose lar. I always carry one empty hand carrier in the suit case in event of emergency like overweight. Those hand carrier given by tour companies are very handy at times... If I'm travelling with family members, one of them will have an empty hand for such purpose (hand carry allow up to 10kg max) ... Sometimes very troublesome to take out everything and repack at the departure hall. So it is better to have a mobile weighing scale and find out the weight first in the hotel, then can slowly and comfortably repack in the hotel if needed. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...