Vulcann 6th Gear November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 Really have to go to that extent meh? Had decided with wifey during our wedding that we would accept losses as long as all all intended guests turned up. Our mentality then was that it would be our pleasure for folks to share our joy rather than to focus if we could recoup our wedding costs. From STOMP: http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sg...at_wedding.html Posted on 07 Nov 2012 Bride confronts friend for not giving an ang bao at her wedding Source: AsiaOne This article was contributed by the STOMP Team. A tweet by a bride who confronted her friend for not giving a red packet at her wedding has drawn flak from netizens after going viral. The tweet has since been retweeted numerous times by people who strongly object to the brides behaviour. Some have even questioned if marriages have become more of a business rather than a ceremony and celebration. In her tweet, the bride also tells her friend that if he or she was unable to give a red packet due to 'unforeseen circumstances', then that guest should let the couple know. The bride also mention that she and her family counted the red packets against the guest list. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear November 7, 2012 Author Share November 7, 2012 For the record we did thanks to generous contributions from both our own families Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 Wedding dinners are meant for the celebrations of the union of 2 persons, not to make $$$........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lurpsexx 6th Gear November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 Wedding dinners are meant for the celebrations of the union of 2 persons, not to make $$$........ Agree.. If cannot afford to hold a lavish dinner, then dun slap own face to look like a fatty.. Own wedding then own self pay is best.. Big enuf Liao to get married then dun need depend on parents or guests money to pay for the grand wedding dinner la.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 they should not even plan for a wedding dinner Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 this person is confirm not be consider a friend of the bride. dont give ang bao one thing. go and expose the tweet on stomp. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lurpsexx 6th Gear November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 IMHO, it's the people who dun give us money during our wedding who gives us the most during our lifetime... They genuinely wish us well , such that even though they may not have ang pow money,they still come n give us their blessings n genuine well wishes.. Later on in life, when we need their help, we will know who r the real ones who care about us... As For those who give big wedding Ang POWs, they may just be going thru the motion n perhaps the money is just a way of showing face.. Some may just use it as an excuse to "show" they did "care" abt the couple by giving more money.. Sometimes, we really forget what life is all about... Shame on this childish bride.. No money no fren fren .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 The practice of putting name on angbao already shown the type of society we are. Sadly. Sadly, if you do not have this practice, a lot of people will put a very small sum, or even empty angbao. However it is poor taste of the bride to tweet such thing. Some people may have forgotten to give angbao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rawafish96 Neutral Newbie November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 Weddings these days have become a revenue-making opportunity. Sad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 shocking, and hopefully this is just a one off case. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 market rate is just table rate/10.. u are only paying for yourself what. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 Haha... cheapo....must account for every single ang bao to hold the dinner?...they should just have two table for two families....I'm sure no one mind... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 Agree.. If cannot afford to hold a lavish dinner, then dun slap own face to look like a fatty.. Own wedding then own self pay is best.. Big enuf Liao to get married then dun need depend on parents or guests money to pay for the grand wedding dinner la.... Where in the report does it say the wedding was lavish? I'm not saying definitely, but also possible the couple held a modest one right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lurpsexx 6th Gear November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 Where in the report does it say the wedding was lavish? I'm not saying definitely, but also possible the couple held a modest one right? Modest or lavish, just dun expect to cover the wedding exps with the ang pows la... The dinner is a celebration of the marriage and sharing of the joys of the newly weds... Once money comes into play, bad taste liao... Come to think about it, if your fren dun give ang pow, then u dun invite? Hmmm..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 In olden days, red packet signifies luck and some $$ for goodwill. Now red packet = cost of wedding seat Back to this incident, I find it HARD to believe that they managed to match all ang pows ecxept 1. For mine, there were quite a few un-named and also quite a few unaccounted for but what the heck !! for the record, I only had to "pay" $6000+ to hold a dinner for 30+ tables. To me, that is already a blessing ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neost 6th Gear November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 Big failure. While we may be very successful in growing our country into a first world place, the quality of some of our fellow Singaporean are just unclass. Expecting ang pao from invited guests, then put down in the invitation as mandatory. Then also put down that ang pao will be opened infront of the guest and amount written against their names. See how many will turn up. Also, after the dinner still got energy to tally the ang pao against the guest names to see who gave and who didn't give?? During my time, after last guest left and when we retired to our hotel room is already past mid night. My wife and me were so tired that all we want to do was quickly count all the ang pao and get them ready to be deposited into the bank account first thing in the morning. Where got energy to take out the guest list and tally against their names. When we have the wedding dinner, we are prepared to make losses. Thats why we chose a fair cheap place to hold our dinner so that in case the ang pao cannot cover the full cost, we are still able to pay Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 do you all write your name on the ang bao? if yes, why? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 do you all write your name on the ang bao? if yes, why? i did not know have to write name also ... until a few years back. my colleague getting holding wedding dinner in 2 weeks time ... told me he will allocate one pocket in his jacket - just for my angpow (becoz i super ngeow wan ....) !! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...