Vulcann 6th Gear November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 And you thought you have heard or seen it all... From CNA: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1235760/1/.html Meat supplier fined for passing off beef as mutton Posted: 07 November 2012 1328 hrs SINGAPORE: A meat supplier has been fined S$4,000 for passing off beef as mutton in its minced and chopped meat product. Basha Meat Supplier Pte Ltd was investigated by the National Environment Agency (NEA) and the Agri-Food & Veterinary Authority (AVA) following public feedback. The two agencies had tested the DNA of various samples of minced and chopped meat sold by Basha Meat Supplier as mutton. Beef was found in the samples. The supplier was brought to court November 6 where it was fined by the court under the Sale of Food Act. NEA said before the court's decision, it had been monitoring Basha's products, and subsequent samples did not uncover any beef in meat sold as mutton. In a media statement, NEA said on October 9 a similar deterrent sentence was passed to another meat supplier - Nabisha Mutton Supplier. NEA and AVA had tested the DNA of various samples of minced and chopped meat sold by Nabisha Mutton Supplier as mutton. Beef was found in the samples. The court fined Nabisha S$5,000, which is the maximum penalty for the first offence under the Sale of Food Act. NEA said the AVA is reviewing the maximum penalties specified under the Sale of Food Act to serve as a greater deterrent to offenders. This is part of its current review of the Act to look at other measures to enhance food safety. - CNA/fa ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear November 7, 2012 Author Share November 7, 2012 But I thought beef is more ex yes? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 But I thought beef is more ex yes? no leh.. lamb is more expensive. but of cos depending which part of the beef you use to compare lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 walau eh, indian cannot take beef but suay suay go eat how? :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMmadman 6th Gear November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 tat is sad, not the 1st time this has happened? how will the supplier feel if kena pork in his meat supply? sure riots ...... respect others pls, the hindus sure kpkb now.... later m. ravi not happy and go to court hehehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 $4000 nia, not even a slap on the wrist. At most a tickle .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear November 7, 2012 Author Share November 7, 2012 I suspect since it was minced meat, it could be that the residual meat was not completely cleared in the grinder which resulted in the mix-up. Whatever it is I agree this is a serious matter and I hope the authorities should whack the company hard to make an example out of this case so that the meat suppliers are more careful about their products. 4-5k fine hardly raises an eyebrow though... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 I suspect since it was minced meat, it could be that the residual meat was not completely cleared in the grinder which resulted in the mix-up. Whatever it is I agree this is a serious matter and I hope the authorities should whack the company hard to make an example out of this case so that the meat suppliers are more careful about their products. 4-5k fine hardly raises an eyebrow though... Reminds me how SBS is fined only $200 for overloading of passengers in buses. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 Govt shld be alot stricter than just a small fine. $4k is peanuts to a company. don't play play with food. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 Not original. Copy China butcher sell fake beef. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 I though this type of things only happen in china, now here also have... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 I wonder if the two companies have some sort of link, which would not be unusual. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear November 7, 2012 Author Share November 7, 2012 I wonder if the two companies have some sort of link, which would not be unusual. Err...one supplying beef while the other mutton? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 more importantly where did these supplies of chopped and minced meat go to? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 I suspect since it was minced meat, it could be that the residual meat was not completely cleared in the grinder which resulted in the mix-up. Whatever it is I agree this is a serious matter and I hope the authorities should whack the company hard to make an example out of this case so that the meat suppliers are more careful about their products. 4-5k fine hardly raises an eyebrow though... no leh...from the ch8 news upon tipoff AVA went to buy the suspected lamb meat and found out 99.9% of beef inside...when the reporter interviewed the shop (somewhere near Tekka market, shophouse) the owner kancheong say "now no sell beef, all chicken and lamb"... The other culprit I think is company in bedok. More jialat licence revoked. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear November 8, 2012 Author Share November 8, 2012 no leh...from the ch8 news upon tipoff AVA went to buy the suspected lamb meat and found out 99.9% of beef inside...when the reporter interviewed the shop (somewhere near Tekka market, shophouse) the owner kancheong say "now no sell beef, all chicken and lamb"... The other culprit I think is company in bedok. More jialat licence revoked. So blatant? Should revoke the licences of these clowns! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 8, 2012 Share November 8, 2012 no leh...from the ch8 news upon tipoff AVA went to buy the suspected lamb meat and found out 99.9% of beef inside...when the reporter interviewed the shop (somewhere near Tekka market, shophouse) the owner kancheong say "now no sell beef, all chicken and lamb"... The other culprit I think is company in bedok. More jialat licence revoked. like this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear November 8, 2012 Author Share November 8, 2012 like this? Haha best match [thumbsup] !! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...