Jtay 1st Gear November 11, 2012 Share November 11, 2012 On 11/10/2012 at 11:12 PM, BengGaBoy said: Cyclist should be off the road. Come on let's be realistic. Cyclist do not pay road tax Cyclist do not have insurance Cyclist do not have ViCOM check to ensure bicycle are safe & fit to be on the road Cyclist do not need to have license (to ensure they have basic road knowledge, acceptable eyesight and not colour blind) Cyclist do not have number plate (for enforcement purposes - e.g. dash red light) If cyclist need to have the above all, don't they look just like motorcyclist without the motor ? In short, Singapore roads are not meant for cyclist. If a particular cyclist has blatant disregard for his own safety on the roads, what makes you think that he will ride responsibly on the pavements? He'll probably end up running down some poor innocent souls ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gitanic 6th Gear November 11, 2012 Share November 11, 2012 On 11/9/2012 at 8:49 AM, Jimmylim said: wow, didn't know Nicoll highway cannot cycle... but Nicoll Drive only can drive right? Yap. And St Thomas Walk can only walk. Thomas' private walking path. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged November 11, 2012 Share November 11, 2012 (edited) On 11/11/2012 at 2:22 AM, Zeagle said: http://s109.photobucket.com/albums/n47/zea...ourDeFrance.mp4 Not against cyclists using the roads but please dun hog the lane. If he kept left and you overtake him, he can submit a video if he got onboard cam and say you drive inconsiderately. Never give 1.5m gap. So no difference cuz you have to overtake illegally anyway if you really in a rush and want to overtake. At least that is what the TP told me the driver will get charged with whenever I send in videos of drivers overtaking me closely in the same lane. Edited November 11, 2012 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged November 11, 2012 Share November 11, 2012 I have been driving for around 15 years and I never had any issue with cyclist, motorcyclist, drivers, trishaws, cabbies, etc.... Be anticipative, be alert, be patient, be understanding, be tolerant and anyone can have a good drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shannmugam Neutral Newbie December 23, 2012 Share December 23, 2012 Got The Car no , day / time / place of accident... Lodge a report at TP and will action on.. If son kena 3 days MC .......MPV driver... siao liao.. Dont worry son OK,,, HIt n run with witness and camera mounted on lamp post will get justice for U.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarmac 3rd Gear December 24, 2012 Share December 24, 2012 Can cyclists go on the expressways? If yes, would they not be road hazards. Is it still practical to give 1.5m berth while moving at expressway speeds. As an example, if Car A while avoiding a Jay-cycler hits Car B. Based on my understanding, Car A would be at fault and bears a good part of the responsibility to say the least. I also do not think a video from Car A would be of any help since the "culprit" does not require a licence to operate nor has any identification plate to trace. If no, would the principle(s)/reason(s) for saying no be equally applicable to arterial and smaller roads? If there were to be mitigating reasons, do the justifications weigh on the assumption of reduced likelihood in causing hurt and damage; and hence acceptable to road users? So far, common sense sharing of road use by motorists and cyclists is sought - in hope that the situation can be self-regulated. However, in times when something really bad happens, can the "good practices" be enforceable and sustainable? My 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ooosh 1st Gear December 24, 2012 Share December 24, 2012 (edited) Did the cyclist took basic and advance theory how much mileage on the road experience? Even motorbike has to take TP test...Please lah want cycle go east coast or cycle on pavement. The road is for motor vehicles.... Please dont follow what other country does....other country roads can cycle because people are using proper safeguard issues helmet, knee guards and is educated by gahmen....some countries even have lanes for cyclist. Other country can cycle as road is far and cars are few.... Dont monkey see monkey do....must also think if applicable anot.... Edited December 24, 2012 by Ooosh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic December 24, 2012 Share December 24, 2012 On 11/7/2012 at 1:20 PM, Zhutou said: tolong all cyclist la plz dun cycle on the road it doesnt benefit u or drivers cyclist on the road are opening their door to invite accident only it is even more dangerous than motorcyclist all drivers have to siam them and might eat alittle to the next lane the car on the next lane also need to siam abit and so on in the event of accident, if driver fault, kena claimed if cyclist fault, driver claim OD no matter whose fault, driver confirm bohua i simply dun understand why it is legal to cycle on the road sg road already so congested liao now bicycle also wanna add one leg in sardine liao leh~ agree... pls la dont cycle especially in CBD. if cycle go cycle around Punggol or ECP Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic December 24, 2012 Share December 24, 2012 On 11/9/2012 at 12:12 AM, Kb27 said: More cyclists on the road, going to be more problems for sure. One selfish recreational cyclist taking up one lane vs many people who need to move about... Now, imagine runners who want to keep fit also want to run on the left lane... not only that, the cyclist also cause bus to change lane as those cyclist in bus lane Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic December 24, 2012 Share December 24, 2012 On 11/11/2012 at 3:58 AM, Jtay said: If a particular cyclist has blatant disregard for his own safety on the roads, what makes you think that he will ride responsibly on the pavements? He'll probably end up running down some poor innocent souls so if he cycle in road and kanna bang by car, pls dont complain Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yr1985 1st Gear December 24, 2012 Share December 24, 2012 pest of the road Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwee 5th Gear December 24, 2012 Share December 24, 2012 It take two hands to clap. Frankly speaking , i personally don't pity any cyclist that was being knock by Motor vehicles. It can totally be avoided if cyclist just don't cycle on the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xxadidasxx Neutral Newbie December 24, 2012 Share December 24, 2012 Cyclist should cycle anywhere but not on road unless they set a lane for them My place sun mOrning always got alot cyclist group they cycle like the road belong to theirs somemore alot car must slow down for them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
987 1st Gear December 24, 2012 Share December 24, 2012 On 12/24/2012 at 6:01 AM, Yr1985 said: pest of the road speaking of pest on the road, 2 nights back, was driving along bukit batok road, there was a night cycling event going on, hundreds of cyclists on the road, equipped with road mashals, shut off one lane nevermind, some very reckless cyclist even over took the slower ones by going onto the 2nd lane of the road, totally outrageous and i strongly believe that these are part of the organiser. surely they should be the ones controlling the safety of the riders and not the hazards themselves! pity that i dont have a car cam to film. maybe some bro in the forum did so. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged December 24, 2012 Share December 24, 2012 On 12/24/2012 at 6:12 AM, Dwee said: It take two hands to clap. Frankly speaking , i personally don't pity any cyclist that was being knock by Motor vehicles. It can totally be avoided if cyclist just don't cycle on the road. Makes sense. If there were totally no vehicles on the road then there'll be no accidents as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JackRabbit 3rd Gear December 24, 2012 Share December 24, 2012 On 12/24/2012 at 8:12 AM, Neutrino said: When I was walking back from the gym last year two cyclist who I did not hear came right up behind me on the pavement and then both wrang really loud bells which made me jump and I had a fright. When I turned round they were sniggering so I told them as well as not being allowed to cycle on the pavement they should have more sense than to ring loud bells just behind pedestrians. They now laughed out loud. I said I'd ring the TP. They laughed even more and said no police would be bothered to react to so stupid a call which I thought was pretty much spot on. They were both in their 50s maybe 60s. What to do? once they pass by - you should throw stones at them and then run away. See who laughs last. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged December 24, 2012 Share December 24, 2012 what could happen to the hit n run driver?? just say that they tot they hit a tree branch lor... at most kena fine for a few thousands.... not that it never happen before. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cltey Clutched December 24, 2012 Share December 24, 2012 If in Malaysia KL cyclist sure die liao. Many cases like hit & run happened and cyclist dead also don't know what happen. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...