Vulcann 6th Gear November 7, 2012 Author Share November 7, 2012 it was the drink drive that ended him in For a while folks were speculating if his PRship would be revoked because of his conviction... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zhutou Clutched November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 tolong all cyclist la plz dun cycle on the road it doesnt benefit u or drivers cyclist on the road are opening their door to invite accident only it is even more dangerous than motorcyclist all drivers have to siam them and might eat alittle to the next lane the car on the next lane also need to siam abit and so on in the event of accident, if driver fault, kena claimed if cyclist fault, driver claim OD no matter whose fault, driver confirm bohua i simply dun understand why it is legal to cycle on the road sg road already so congested liao now bicycle also wanna add one leg in sardine liao leh~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear November 8, 2012 Author Share November 8, 2012 It takes two hands to clap. If both cyclists and motorists respect each other and does not chut patterns on the roads, the so-called conflicts will lessen. From ST Forum: http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-...yclist-20121109 Road courtesy exists, says novice cyclist Published on Nov 09, 2012 MR MOHAMED Salim Mohd Amin recounted his son's painful experience with a motorist in a road collision ("Effective penalties needed against motorists colliding with cyclists"; Forum Online, Wednesday). When I decided to take up cycling two months ago, I was apprehensive, imagining that there would be bullying by motorists and other road users against cyclists on the road. But my experience thus far, often at peak hours, has shown me that most motorists are very mindful of cyclists, and the courtesy is repaid by the cyclists, who thank them for slowing down and giving way. Cyclists who obey the traffic rules help greatly in making the sharing of the roads a pleasant and practical experience. I am especially gratified by the wide berth bus drivers offer me as a cyclist, along with a smile and a friendly wave to indicate that I can cycle on ahead in safety. I thank SBS Transit for educating its drivers on road courtesy, which also includes safe road practices, towards cyclists. On the other hand, cyclists who ride in groups should be considerate when they use the roads and parks' cycling lanes. I was cycling at East Coast Park when I came across a group of three cyclists riding abreast, chatting while they cycled, oblivious to the fact that they were blocking others. Consideration and discipline on the road require the concerted efforts of all users. Notwithstanding the above, I agree fully with Mr Mohamed Salim that cyclists who observe road rules must be protected and errant motorists who collide with cyclists must be penalised punitively. Suresh Menon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 (edited) More cyclists on the road, going to be more problems for sure. One selfish recreational cyclist taking up one lane vs many people who need to move about... Now, imagine runners who want to keep fit also want to run on the left lane... Edited November 9, 2012 by Kb27 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bomby929 1st Gear November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 Honestly I have no issues with cyclist on the road, but I have a huge issue with cyclist on the road that does not follow traffic rules. All you need is come Sat or sun.. go to pasir ris drv 3. Most (not all) cyclist that is on that road ride in a bunch, effectively taking the entire left lane. And most often than not (again not all) will not stop at traffic lights. Just the other day, one big bunch 20 -30 just ran pass a red light junction. Luckily for them and for me.. I check my right before I do a left turn into the road with the turn left on red green arrow in my favour. And the other common things are in a T-junction where the light are in favour of cars turning out.. again these cyclist (not all) just go straight.. All it needs is a driver not being mindful of his/her surroundings. Again, I just do not understand how some of the cyclist think.. you are using your lives (or body) against metal... losing end is who? who suffer most? Drive tio fine, go jail.. come out still can enjoy life.. while the cyclist have to suffer. Its just not worth it!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ungtiong 2nd Gear November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 to be fair "No traffic policeman was dispatched to track down the driver and I was informed later that the driver and the car was found at Marina Bay Sand" if no police was dispatched, how they find the car at MBS. anyway, the road name is hint enough, Nicol HIGHWAY....not suppose to cycle on the highway. but besides that the driver was at fault for not stopping. what if the cyclist was dazed on the road and another car ran over him... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unclepigpig 1st Gear November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 to be fair "No traffic policeman was dispatched to track down the driver and I was informed later that the driver and the car was found at Marina Bay Sand" if no police was dispatched, how they find the car at MBS. anyway, the road name is hint enough, Nicol HIGHWAY....not suppose to cycle on the highway. but besides that the driver was at fault for not stopping. what if the cyclist was dazed on the road and another car ran over him... Nicoll highway can cycle but Nicoll Expressway cannot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmylim 4th Gear November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 wow, didn't know Nicoll highway cannot cycle... but Nicoll Drive only can drive right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 to be fair "No traffic policeman was dispatched to track down the driver and I was informed later that the driver and the car was found at Marina Bay Sand" if no police was dispatched, how they find the car at MBS. anyway, the road name is hint enough, Nicol HIGHWAY....not suppose to cycle on the highway. but besides that the driver was at fault for not stopping. what if the cyclist was dazed on the road and another car ran over him... I thought in Singapore they are called expressways? I don't think Nicoll highway is an expressway right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BengGaBoy 2nd Gear November 10, 2012 Share November 10, 2012 Cyclist should be off the road. Come on let's be realistic. Cyclist do not pay road tax Cyclist do not have insurance Cyclist do not have ViCOM check to ensure bicycle are safe & fit to be on the road Cyclist do not need to have license (to ensure they have basic road knowledge, acceptable eyesight and not colour blind) Cyclist do not have number plate (for enforcement purposes - e.g. dash red light) If cyclist need to have the above all, don't they look just like motorcyclist without the motor ? In short, Singapore roads are not meant for cyclist. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jtay 1st Gear November 10, 2012 Share November 10, 2012 This issue about whether cyclists should be on the roads have been debated many times. Let's just accept that this is the fact - that cyclists are not allowed on the pavements / side walks because of pedestrian safety. And let's just accept that there will be cyclists on the roads. As drivers, we just have to be aware of their presence, and even if there are cyclists that don't behave on the roads doens't mean that we have the right to "bully" them by driving close to them or squeezing them off the roads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bencheong Neutral Newbie November 11, 2012 Share November 11, 2012 This issue about whether cyclists should be on the roads have been debated many times. Let's just accept that this is the fact - that cyclists are not allowed on the pavements / side walks because of pedestrian safety. And let's just accept that there will be cyclists on the roads. As drivers, we just have to be aware of their presence, and even if there are cyclists that don't behave on the roads doens't mean that we have the right to "bully" them by driving close to them or squeezing them off the roads. Fully agreed! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged November 11, 2012 Share November 11, 2012 Cyclist should be off the road. Come on let's be realistic. Cyclist do not pay road tax Cyclist do not have insurance Cyclist do not have ViCOM check to ensure bicycle are safe & fit to be on the road Cyclist do not need to have license (to ensure they have basic road knowledge, acceptable eyesight and not colour blind) Cyclist do not have number plate (for enforcement purposes - e.g. dash red light) If cyclist need to have the above all, don't they look just like motorcyclist without the motor ? In short, Singapore roads are not meant for cyclist. Cyclists are not allowed on pedestrian paths. Cyclists only allowed on the road. In short cyclists have to cycle on the road and it is meant to be that way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leo72 6th Gear November 11, 2012 Share November 11, 2012 This issue about whether cyclists should be on the roads have been debated many times. Let's just accept that this is the fact - that cyclists are not allowed on the pavements / side walks because of pedestrian safety. And let's just accept that there will be cyclists on the roads. As drivers, we just have to be aware of their presence, and even if there are cyclists that don't behave on the roads doens't mean that we have the right to "bully" them by driving close to them or squeezing them off the roads. have you come across cyclist using handphone while cycling on the roads? Imagine if they lost their balance, fall down and get hit by car, who gets the blame? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zeagle Clutched November 11, 2012 Share November 11, 2012 Not against cyclists using the roads but please dun hog the lane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged November 11, 2012 Share November 11, 2012 Just overtake from his right lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busybody 1st Gear November 11, 2012 Share November 11, 2012 Just overtake from his right lor. across the white line and risk going against flow of traffic?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doosan 1st Gear November 11, 2012 Share November 11, 2012 Cyclist should be off the road. Come on let's be realistic. Cyclist do not pay road tax Cyclist do not have insurance Cyclist do not have ViCOM check to ensure bicycle are safe & fit to be on the road Cyclist do not need to have license (to ensure they have basic road knowledge, acceptable eyesight and not colour blind) Cyclist do not have number plate (for enforcement purposes - e.g. dash red light) If cyclist need to have the above all, don't they look just like motorcyclist without the motor ? In short, Singapore roads are not meant for cyclist. swee swee ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...