Speed camera at BKE

Donut

On 11/14/2014 at 3:16 AM, Acemundo said:

haiz....not choice, we pay for their indecisiveness.

that's why nowadays even seeing the front car moving is not sufficient for me to turn my head to check blind spot.

I must see he clear the space liao before I chk blind spot!

Yep... expensive lesson... happens to me too.

Now make sure front totally clear before checking blind spot and move.

FYI - orchard blvd and tomlinson road junction (if you come out from the open air car park opposite wheelock) i saw them installing a camera. not sure if speeding or red light camera (it's covered in orange stripes). 

On 11/20/2015 at 2:54 AM, Sp4wn said:

FYI - orchard blvd and tomlinson road junction (if you come out from the open air car park opposite wheelock) i saw them installing a camera. not sure if speeding or red light camera (it's covered in orange stripes). 

that side always got mobile speedcam on overhead bridge... so very likely it's a speedcam...

any idea where the one near Botanic Gardens went to?

On 11/20/2015 at 3:19 AM, StefanK said:

that side always got mobile speedcam on overhead bridge... so very likely it's a speedcam...

Botanic Gardens that one removed already.

think can't speed there with all the construction going on.

Using that will get you 3 months at changi chalet hehe, some goodu got caught before

Just use Waze bah for advance warning

On 11/14/2014 at 2:02 AM, Acemundo said:

can we legally use this when driving in Singapore?

On 11/20/2015 at 3:19 AM, StefanK said:

woops. thats probably where i got my warning letter lol

On 11/20/2015 at 4:23 AM, Sp4wn said:

woops. thats probably where i got my warning letter lol

then never appeal?

"but but... I was only on my first gear...!!!"

On 11/20/2015 at 4:49 AM, StefanK said:

then never appeal?

"but but... I was only on my first gear...!!!"

ah .. warning letter only .. can appeal meh? besides ... i dont want to argue when im wrong .. lol

I drive a un-modded 2008 Subaru hatch with rims original from showroom and standard sized tyres.

My daily drive is from west coast to yishun taking the BKE, mandai road to yishun central and back again. Around 6am going up and 5:30 coming back down.

On 6th Dec last year, the Cam flashed. Speedo read 90kmh and Blackvue video review showed 85kph. I know my BV is lagging by about 5 kph from previous comparison.

So i waited for my "love letter" from TP. True enough, the sahman never arrived.

Later on 29th December, again kena flashed, same direction (towards woodlands). This time i was on cruise control steady on 90kph for sometime when i approached the cam. The BV had no GPS data.

So i wrote to TP basically asking if their cam setting or my speedo setting got problem.

This is their reply;

Thank you for your feedback.

2          There could had been vehicles in the vicinity on both occasions and as such the radar had read the vehicle as a heavy vehicle. Since heavy vehicle had a lower speed limit than road speed, the camera will be triggered. However we verified all images captured by the cameras and when we see such images we will reject them. Our cameras are also monitored daily.

I am writing this today because guess what, this morning again kena flash. But true enough quite obviously the flashing is intermittent as i've been driving consistently since traffic is very light at 6am and i've been commuting for at least the last 25 business days since Dec'16.

In my opinion, for the 3 occasions, there was little to no traffic nearby that would increase the profile to be mistaken for a heavy vehicle.

Any other hatches or fellow drivers experiencing the same misfire from this particular camera?

On 1/16/2017 at 10:32 AM, Raychay said:

Subaru marked by TP?

I think a few camera GPS data will be lower than car speedo.

Certainly is for my thinkware.

Was told that car speedo is more acurate than GPS.

On 1/16/2017 at 10:24 AM, mixedccr said:

I drive a un-modded 2008 Subaru hatch with rims original from showroom and standard sized tyres.

My daily drive is from west coast to yishun taking the BKE, mandai road to yishun central and back again. Around 6am going up and 5:30 coming back down.

On 6th Dec last year, the Cam flashed. Speedo read 90kmh and Blackvue video review showed 85kph. I know my BV is lagging by about 5 kph from previous comparison.

So i waited for my "love letter" from TP. True enough, the sahman never arrived.

Later on 29th December, again kena flashed, same direction (towards woodlands). This time i was on cruise control steady on 90kph for sometime when i approached the cam. The BV had no GPS data.

So i wrote to TP basically asking if their cam setting or my speedo setting got problem.

This is their reply;

2          There could had been vehicles in the vicinity on both occasions and as such the radar had read the vehicle as a heavy vehicle. Since heavy vehicle had a lower speed limit than road speed, the camera will be triggered. However we verified all images captured by the cameras and when we see such images we will reject them. Our cameras are also monitored daily.

I am writing this today because guess what, this morning again kena flash. But true enough quite obviously the flashing is intermittent as i've been driving consistently since traffic is very light at 6am and i've been commuting for at least the last 25 business days since Dec'16.

In my opinion, for the 3 occasions, there was little to no traffic nearby that would increase the profile to be mistaken for a heavy vehicle.

Any other hatches or fellow drivers experiencing the same misfire from this particular camera?

Computer won't be 100% accurate in determining if the vehicle is a heavy vehicle or not. Perhaps somehow to the speed camera, your car is being recognised as a heavy vehicle. 

Anyway, I have driven past with speedo at 100km/h without any issue  :secret-laugh: That is GPS speed of 95km/h.

This is their reply;

2 There could had been vehicles in the vicinity on both occasions and as such the radar had read the vehicle as a heavy vehicle. Since heavy vehicle had a lower speed limit than road speed, the camera will be triggered. However we verified all images captured by the cameras and when we see such images we will reject them. Our cameras are also monitored daily.

SUBARU in reverse is U R A BUS.

Hence all Subarus are heavy vehicles.:D

No problem, with sedan or SUV,

drive 90 in MCE , 90 or 80 in KPE

100 at AYE, BKE, TPE above Jln Kayu flyover with sharpshooter, all no letters. All within grace limits.

Got flashed in KPE to TPE after PIE exit, no letter.

Got flashed in KPE to ECP, 1st camera at 100km/m, got warning.

Most recent got demerit at Nicoll highway for 100km/hr 2yrs ago.

1st was at overhead bridge PIE to Jurong b4 Steven road, for 90+ many years back.

Then got 1 Thomson overhead bridge after AMK AVE 1. For 74km/hr

Another time at Hougang Ave 3, for 72km/h

Fastest ever was 120k/h at TPE to KPE overhead bridge before Ikea. 5yrs ago 9am on a Sunday.

Once on Bartley road to Tampines, TP at road pocket after Ubi, b4 Bedok reservoir, was travelling 100.

Asked me why I speeding, said can reach my faster.

If you are in a hurry and the road is clear, just drive.

Just slow down to the grace limits before you reached those mobile spots.

BTW I still move to the left when I see vehicle closing up behind my vehicle.

So those clean records guys.

Please... there are plenty of people willing to contribute to nation building fund.

Don't be the one holding back the contribution.

Sometimes there are valid reasons people need to contribute.

Edited by Atonchia

This is their reply;

I experience quite a number of times on AYE clementi, at 90KM/H, 75KM/H and 85KM/H. Mine was a sedan. so guess there is nothing to do with the car shape..