Only Change 1 Tyre OK ?

TVT

Hi all

My front left tyre getting bald soon....but my front right tyre still has plenty of thread, not sure why the in-balance wear for both tyres even thou both were changed at the same time in Jan 2011. Even my rear 2 tyres (used almost 3 years liao) still has plenty of thread.

Question is: can I just buy 1 new tyre to replace the front left? Is this advisable in terms of safety considerations and will that cause any drive-shaft damage to my car?

Thanks. [:)]

Yeah at least change in pairs and put the new pair at the rear. Also get your alignment checked immediately after tire change.

Is it a must to do alignment after changing tyres?

Did u do tire rotation for every 10K km??

Alignment is not necessary unless your car is drifting left or right on a straight road

Think is not about changing 1 or pair, but making sure that wear on all 4 are almost even.

Don't tell me if all 4 almost new then 1 puncture, must change at least a pair, very dang poon leh.

How about swop with the spare tyre? Keep the bald tyre as spare instead.

In mechanical terms, there is no big deal to just change one tyre. The differences in rolling DIA and grip is not going to affect a normal car on the road.

How about swop with the spare tyre? Keep the bald tyre as spare instead.

Can't. My spare is a space saver - small wheel type...

Let us have a look at yr premature wear tyre. The cause can be due to improperly set wheel alignment angles, faulty suspension or a poorly cure tyres ( manufacturing defects).

Maybe and possible. But I did a wheel alignment 2 weeks back, and suspension seems alright. Tyre is Goodyear NCT5.

Front left always wear out faster due to the camber of the road.

The trick is rotate for even wear. This is true for mattresses also.

Front left always wear out faster due to the camber of the road.

The trick is rotate for even wear. This is true for mattresses also.

Camber of the road? U mean the road is not flat???

Tyres and mattress should rotate for even wear. Then how about sex partners leh? [:p]

Hi all

My front left tyre getting bald soon....but my front right tyre still has plenty of thread, not sure why the in-balance wear for both tyres even thou both were changed at the same time in Jan 2011. Even my rear 2 tyres (used almost 3 years liao) still has plenty of thread.

Question is: can I just buy 1 new tyre to replace the front left? Is this advisable in terms of safety considerations and will that cause any drive-shaft damage to my car?

Thanks. [:)]

you should change all 4. The rear tyres should also be replaced because of age. The compound is hardened over time and this affects the grip.

Camber of the road? U mean the road is not flat???

Tyres and mattress should rotate for even wear. Then how about sex partners leh? [:p]

The road is curved to the left so that rain water runs to the side.

Sex partner? If you eat your favourite food every day also jelat right?

The wheel alignment report should tell you something. Why dun you post it here?

It can be the car lower arm rubber bushing gave way. Even if you get the wheels aligned they will be out in no time. Your butt won't know wan.