Myxilplix Turbocharged October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 I am not condoning tossing cigarette butts out of car windows or any other form of littering, but some of the responses in this thread are making it sound like a capital offense. I wonder if it is because smokers are an easy target to hate? This is in the context of the topic about ciggies from cars and not smokers in carpark/lifts/common areas/general. Let me pose some questions and get some feedback: 1. How many people here have actually suffered damage to your car from cigarette butts tossed out from other vehicles, most commonly the car ahead of you in traffic? Please raise your hand and share your experience. Paintwork damaged? Ciggie butt got caught somewhere and started a fire (lol)? Dusty don't count, roads by nature are dusty. Also, convertible owners who kena ciggarettes thrown on your soft-tops when parked not counted, that's just despicable and akin to vandalism. 2. How many people here have suffered damage to your car because of other objects on the road? Please raise hand. First thing that comes to mind is stones kicked up by vehicle ahead and cracked windscreen/headlight/damage bodywork, i've had this happen to me a few times. Other debris also can. 3. How many of you when driving along actually notice cigarette butts that have been tossed earlier? Yes we notice when they first hit the ground because of the embers, like mini-firework especially at night. It's not like it's a huge issue and there are unsightly mounds of tossed butts lining our roads everywhere. Hell, how many people actually look down at the tarmac when driving or stopped at lights? As a motorcyclist i can honestly say cigarettes tossed from cars are not an issue. There are much worse things on the road to deal with that would more likely make me lose control/crash/die that a cigarette does not even register as a hazard (i've personally hit a bird, headbutted a bat, hit bugs big enough to snap my head back, got bruises from the type of stones that can crack your windscreen, not to mention all the debris on the tarmac itself). If a motorcyclist does not want to protect himself with proper riding gear and keep his visor down when on the move, that's his bloody problem. It's not like a tossed cigarette out a car window goes flying up into the air and spontaneously combusts everything it touches. They tend to go down (gravity works that way), maybe throw out a shower of embers, tumble on the ground abit and then nobody notices them anymore. Even the general public doesn't notice them because most of the time people tend to talk along pavements, not roads. Like i said, i don't condone it but if it's really such a big thing then i feel that we should be getting even more worked up about something like say, trucks overloaded with gravel spreading crap all over the place, because that is more likely to actually cause damage to your vehicles and cause motorcyclists to lose control of their bikes. But hey, smokers are easy to hate eh? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 I am not condoning tossing cigarette butts out of car windows or any other form of littering, but some of the responses in this thread are making it sound like a capital offense. I wonder if it is because smokers are an easy target to hate? This is in the context of the topic about ciggies from cars and not smokers in carpark/lifts/common areas/general. Let me pose some questions and get some feedback: 1. How many people here have actually suffered damage to your car from cigarette butts tossed out from other vehicles, most commonly the car ahead of you in traffic? Please raise your hand and share your experience. Paintwork damaged? Ciggie butt got caught somewhere and started a fire (lol)? Dusty don't count, roads by nature are dusty. Also, convertible owners who kena ciggarettes thrown on your soft-tops when parked not counted, that's just despicable and akin to vandalism. 2. How many people here have suffered damage to your car because of other objects on the road? Please raise hand. First thing that comes to mind is stones kicked up by vehicle ahead and cracked windscreen/headlight/damage bodywork, i've had this happen to me a few times. Other debris also can. 3. How many of you when driving along actually notice cigarette butts that have been tossed earlier? Yes we notice when they first hit the ground because of the embers, like mini-firework especially at night. It's not like it's a huge issue and there are unsightly mounds of tossed butts lining our roads everywhere. Hell, how many people actually look down at the tarmac when driving or stopped at lights? As a motorcyclist i can honestly say cigarettes tossed from cars are not an issue. There are much worse things on the road to deal with that would more likely make me lose control/crash/die that a cigarette does not even register as a hazard (i've personally hit a bird, headbutted a bat, hit bugs big enough to snap my head back, got bruises from the type of stones that can crack your windscreen, not to mention all the debris on the tarmac itself). If a motorcyclist does not want to protect himself with proper riding gear and keep his visor down when on the move, that's his bloody problem. It's not like a tossed cigarette out a car window goes flying up into the air and spontaneously combusts everything it touches. They tend to go down (gravity works that way), maybe throw out a shower of embers, tumble on the ground abit and then nobody notices them anymore. Even the general public doesn't notice them because most of the time people tend to talk along pavements, not roads. Like i said, i don't condone it but if it's really such a big thing then i feel that we should be getting even more worked up about something like say, trucks overloaded with gravel spreading crap all over the place, because that is more likely to actually cause damage to your vehicles and cause motorcyclists to lose control of their bikes. But hey, smokers are easy to hate eh? Why bother with such a posting ???? The simple question is " Do you think that it is right to throw a cigarette out of the car window ? Is this behaviour an anti social ? Would you tell your children that it is OK to do it if he/she saw the act ? It ia not about targetting smokers what-so-ever ..... most car has an asstray in the car, why cant a smoker throw the butt in tray and clear it once in a while ? Well, maybe the butt is thrash and cannot stay in the car, but why did the thrash come from ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 30, 2012 Share October 30, 2012 1 real life example If just so sway shirt caught fire how? :wacko: I've seen this before - except in a car. A lady dropped a ciggarette on her shirt and it caught fire. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 30, 2012 Share October 30, 2012 Doctors and hospitals love smokers. You'd think so right - but actually they don't. While they make money from them, smoking seriously affects the success rate of a whole range of procedures and treatments, with smokers being significantly less likely to recover, and being much more difficult to sedate under general anasethesia than non smokers. they also take longer to recover. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 30, 2012 Share October 30, 2012 Well if we're using GDP as a gauge of a government's capability either is good I've always found this smoking related disease term very interesting, esp when there has never been a cause and effect relationship between smoking and any disease. Sure there's correlation, but that's about it. Can anyone guarantee a smoker who gets lung cancer wouldn't have got it if he wasn't a smoker? What percentage of that $31 billion can be directly attributed to smoking? There is a LOT of literature that I could pull out to show you that there is a definite causal relationship between smoking and a whole range of diseases. Whoever it's going to be a wasted effort, because you don't want to know and don't want to learn. If you still believe, in this day and age, that smoking does not "cause" diseases, the only thing I could conclude is that you work for someone like Philip Morris. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalsubzero Clutched October 30, 2012 Share October 30, 2012 No only fine from NEA, I think TP should take action against such driver also! One hand on holding cigaratte, one on the wheels... U mean you always drive with 2 hands on the wheel on all time? Oh, how many steering wheels do you have since you said "wheels"? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 30, 2012 Share October 30, 2012 Throwing cigarette butts, littering and many others are minor offences. If you do it and get caught, just pay up and go. There are people who are employed to do their jobs. Much as we hate them, they are just doing their jobs. Yesterday, I parked my vehicle for about 10 mins, just to quickly get something from a shop. I didn't put a coupon. The parking warden appeared from nowhere and I got a $30 fine. No need to come here or any forums asking how to plead or write to escape fine. Count it as bad luck, pay up and go. There's nothing to rationalize or justify why you should not be fined...by comparing other offences or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged October 30, 2012 Share October 30, 2012 i've personally hit a bird, headbutted a bat, hit bugs big enough to snap my head back, got bruises from the type of stones that can crack your windscreen, not to mention all the debris on the tarmac itself Next time you come out of the bat cave, be more careful. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marvelicious 3rd Gear October 30, 2012 Share October 30, 2012 I am not condoning tossing cigarette butts out of car windows or any other form of littering, but some of the responses in this thread are making it sound like a capital offense. I wonder if it is because smokers are an easy target to hate? This is in the context of the topic about ciggies from cars and not smokers in carpark/lifts/common areas/general. Let me pose some questions and get some feedback: 1. How many people here have actually suffered damage to your car from cigarette butts tossed out from other vehicles, most commonly the car ahead of you in traffic? Please raise your hand and share your experience. Paintwork damaged? Ciggie butt got caught somewhere and started a fire (lol)? Dusty don't count, roads by nature are dusty. Also, convertible owners who kena ciggarettes thrown on your soft-tops when parked not counted, that's just despicable and akin to vandalism. 2. How many people here have suffered damage to your car because of other objects on the road? Please raise hand. First thing that comes to mind is stones kicked up by vehicle ahead and cracked windscreen/headlight/damage bodywork, i've had this happen to me a few times. Other debris also can. 3. How many of you when driving along actually notice cigarette butts that have been tossed earlier? Yes we notice when they first hit the ground because of the embers, like mini-firework especially at night. It's not like it's a huge issue and there are unsightly mounds of tossed butts lining our roads everywhere. Hell, how many people actually look down at the tarmac when driving or stopped at lights? As a motorcyclist i can honestly say cigarettes tossed from cars are not an issue. There are much worse things on the road to deal with that would more likely make me lose control/crash/die that a cigarette does not even register as a hazard (i've personally hit a bird, headbutted a bat, hit bugs big enough to snap my head back, got bruises from the type of stones that can crack your windscreen, not to mention all the debris on the tarmac itself). If a motorcyclist does not want to protect himself with proper riding gear and keep his visor down when on the move, that's his bloody problem. It's not like a tossed cigarette out a car window goes flying up into the air and spontaneously combusts everything it touches. They tend to go down (gravity works that way), maybe throw out a shower of embers, tumble on the ground abit and then nobody notices them anymore. Even the general public doesn't notice them because most of the time people tend to talk along pavements, not roads. Like i said, i don't condone it but if it's really such a big thing then i feel that we should be getting even more worked up about something like say, trucks overloaded with gravel spreading crap all over the place, because that is more likely to actually cause damage to your vehicles and cause motorcyclists to lose control of their bikes. But hey, smokers are easy to hate eh? Dafug did i just read??? You are clutching straws. End of. Your argument is so flawed that I do not even think it warrants a proper reply. Littering is wrong, end of story. Would you throw cig butts everywhere at home? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear October 30, 2012 Share October 30, 2012 (edited) There is a LOT of literature that I could pull out to show you that there is a definite causal relationship between smoking and a whole range of diseases. Whoever it's going to be a wasted effort, because you don't want to know and don't want to learn. If you still believe, in this day and age, that smoking does not "cause" diseases, the only thing I could conclude is that you work for someone like Philip Morris. I wished I worked for them. Up to the point when I found out what Google's offices are like, theirs was my fav office I'm not saying there is no correlation. There is an increased risk, however there is no cause and effect relationship (as per what the term states). Take lung cancer for example. Based on the same measurements for e.g., non-smokers have a 1% chance of getting it. Smokers 6%. There's in a risk in everything we do, not just in whether we smoke or not. For example, flying to KL is safer than driving, yet I enjoy driving so I do it. It's simple a matter of if the benefits outweigh the risk or not to each individual. Edited October 30, 2012 by Elfenstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear October 30, 2012 Share October 30, 2012 Dafug did i just read??? You are clutching straws. End of. Your argument is so flawed that I do not even think it warrants a proper reply. Littering is wrong, end of story. Would you throw cig butts everywhere at home? Not so much about littering, as to how much of a "hazard" it is. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear October 30, 2012 Share October 30, 2012 I am driving a manual car. Manual car still have 2 hands on the wheel right? Even when shifting it takes less than 1 sec ma. If you are smoking or using a phone definitely need a much longer time compared to shifting. The act of shifting the stick itself, yes maybe 1sec or less is possible. The TOTAL time taken from when your hand leaves the steering wheel, shifts, then goes back to holding the steering wheel is definitely at least 1sec or more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged October 30, 2012 Share October 30, 2012 The act of shifting the stick itself, yes maybe 1sec or less is possible. The TOTAL time taken from when your hand leaves the steering wheel, shifts, then goes back to holding the steering wheel is definitely at least 1sec or more. How long is your hand off the wheel when you are smoking or using a cellphone? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged October 30, 2012 Share October 30, 2012 (edited) The act of shifting the stick itself, yes maybe 1sec or less is possible. The TOTAL time taken from when your hand leaves the steering wheel, shifts, then goes back to holding the steering wheel is definitely at least 1sec or more. How long is your hand off the wheel when you are smoking or using a cellphone? I think it is going to be alot longer. Edited October 30, 2012 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged October 30, 2012 Share October 30, 2012 (edited) but hor... offence means offence mah... 1 s or 1 hr also offence mah no meh? like stealing mah... steal 1c or still 1m also stealing Shifting is part of driving. When you operate a manual vehicle you definitely need to shift. So you do it as quickly as possible so you do not spend too much time with only 1 hand on the wheel. I don't think smoking a cigarette or using a cellphone is necessary in order to operate a manual vehicle properly right? Why increase the chances of getting into an accident by doing unnecessary things. Driving with 1 hand is dangerous. I saw a driver lose control of his car when he was driving with one hand and holding a cigarette in the other hand. Halfway through the bend his car went up the curb. I guess he lost control cuz his hand slipped off the steering wheel. If he had 2 hands on the wheel it would not be so easy for his hands to slip off. Edited October 30, 2012 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear October 30, 2012 Share October 30, 2012 (edited) I am pretty sure the NEA officers don't "fine" someone for smoking, anyway i do not like the idea of people smoking while driving . 1. The car smells like s--t 2. It is potential a traffic hazard since there is a chance of the driver swerving the car due to being burnt by either the cigg or the ash while he is driving. This applies to talking on the phone as well. 3. I have yet to hear non smokers people getting book for throwing cigg butt , so if you smoke , you probably done the act before and you well deserve it, one thing i am not happy about is the punishment is too light. Will people continue to smoke in the car and litter on the road? The issue is yes. Then the "deterrent' effect is not effective enough. Edited October 30, 2012 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged October 30, 2012 Share October 30, 2012 Shifting is part of driving. When you operate a manual vehicle you definitely need to shift. So you do it as quickly as possible so you do not spend too much time with only 1 hand on the wheel. I don't think smoking a cigarette or using a cellphone is necessary in order to operate a manual vehicle properly right? Why increase the chances of getting into an accident by doing unnecessary things. Driving with 1 hand is dangerous. I saw a driver lose control of his car when he was driving with one hand and holding a cigarette in the other hand. Halfway through the bend his car went up the curb. I guess he lost control cuz his hand slipped off the steering wheel. If he had 2 hands on the wheel it would not be so easy for his hands to slip off. actually I disagreemaybe is just me but I have habit of placing 1 hand on handbrake when not shifting gear in a manual car... I just change to auto but retain the same habit, call me unsafe but I find placing hand on handbrake may save my life in the event of sudden E brake especially so in heavy traffic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged October 30, 2012 Share October 30, 2012 I am pretty sure the NEA officers don't "fine" someone for smoking, anyway i do not like the idea of people smoking while driving . 1. The car smells like s--t 2. It is potential a traffic hazard since there is a chance of the driver swerving the car due to being burnt by either the cigg or the ash while he is driving. This applies to talking on the phone as well. 3. I have yet to hear non smokers people getting book for throwing cigg butt , so if you smoke , you probably done the act before and you well deserve it, one thing i am not happy about is the punishment is too light. Will people continue to smoke in the car and litter on the road? The issue is yes. Then the "deterrent' effect is not effective enough. non smokers if throw ciggie butt then something wrong liao... but I am quite sure drivers may throw other things like tissue, drink cans, etc ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...