Jtb 6th Gear November 6, 2012 Share November 6, 2012 i'm in the midst of considering bmw 118i, can anybody driving or own this vehicle give me some comments like FC and etc. Thanks and appreciate. :) Go for 328i if your budget is there...... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic November 6, 2012 Share November 6, 2012 (edited) Go for 328i if your budget is there...... ay, dont kay chuah ok? might as well say, got budget go for M3 sedan.... people talking about 118 / 116 becos no budget lah, you still want to kay chuah....sibei KNN Edited November 6, 2012 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelfinity 1st Gear November 6, 2012 Share November 6, 2012 ay, dont kay chuah ok? might as well say, got budget go for M3 sedan.... people talking about 118 / 116 becos no budget lah, you still want to kay chuah....sibei KNN Go go faralli Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged November 6, 2012 Share November 6, 2012 ay, dont kay chuah ok? might as well say, got budget go for M3 sedan.... people talking about 118 / 116 becos no budget lah, you still want to kay chuah....sibei KNN can i go for maser instead?? [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged November 6, 2012 Share November 6, 2012 If considering 118, in the $180-$200 price band also have 159 Sportwagon Octavia VRS Toyota 86 I would rather get any of these than the 118 :wub: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic November 6, 2012 Share November 6, 2012 can i go for maser instead?? [laugh] Can , 2007 Quattroporte very "cheap" to buy.....but after that very expensive to use....hahahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Markxfan Neutral Newbie December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 basing on my owner experience here..... owned a 118i sport for a couple of months. fc not great, unless u turn on the auto-engine cut at stop etc. if u disable it, city driving, expect 10km/L to 11km/L at best. highway wise also not so fantastic. my former MK6 GTi got better FC instead! handling is good though, but felt the front abit too light, i guess no thanks to the change to a smaller sized 1.6L engine. engine growl not so nice though. seats are comfy though and hugging. but considering that Aclass and V40 is now available, 118 looks is really outdated. A250 sport is a killer! V40 is nice too! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Markxfan Neutral Newbie December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 just to add to the above..... before bought, tested 116i urban, 118i sport, and 320i sport. 116i was quite lacking. Engine growl not nice, but v loud if u push it. handling is poorer compared to 118i due to the 16" vs 17". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oldman28 Neutral Newbie June 10, 2015 Share June 10, 2015 Hi, Considering to get a 2nd hand 118i ( F20 ), 5dr. Wondering if anyone can share: 1. Driving experience so far 2. Major problems for this car 3. Fuel consumption 4. Typical normal servicing cost both AD and outside workshop 5. Where can you buy accessories, for both interior and exterior, besides AD Also, just to check, when you open the oil cap of the engine after driving, when it is on idle mode, is it common to see some white smoke? Checked with PML and they mentioned that this is normal as twin turbo engine tends to be hotter than the normal engine. So this little white smoke coming out is nothing alarming. Tried insisting that there could be some leak or some fault somewhere. Immediately they showed me 6 series with the same twin turbo engine and it is the same. Anybody has anything to share on this? Thank you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoflight 5th Gear June 10, 2015 Share June 10, 2015 btw its TWIN POWER engine why all of you always like to say TWIN TURBO BMW not Nissan GTR leh haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear June 10, 2015 Share June 10, 2015 twin turbo sound better to boast to innocent xmm to get them up lorry and pikachu later mah 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oldman28 Neutral Newbie June 10, 2015 Share June 10, 2015 Oops sorry for the wrong usage of terms Any feedback? Thank you!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercury1 Turbocharged June 10, 2015 Share June 10, 2015 Those kind of xmm cannot tell the difference twin power turbo, twin turbo, twin screw, twin suction or any kinda twin for that matter twin turbo sound better to boast to innocent xmm to get them up lorry and pikachu later mah 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged June 10, 2015 Share June 10, 2015 Also, just to check, when you open the oil cap of the engine after driving, when it is on idle mode, is it common to see some white smoke? Checked with PML and they mentioned that this is normal as twin turbo engine tends to be hotter than the normal engine. So this little white smoke coming out is nothing alarming. Tried insisting that there could be some leak or some fault somewhere. Immediately they showed me 6 series with the same twin turbo engine and it is the same. Oil cap??? White smoke??? Eh? Come from radiator cap I understand, but oil cap... Though I know BMW is typically higher operating temperature. 110℃ versus most other cars 90℃. For performance. I wouldn't worry too much about it, smoke is normal as long as it's not a lot and not leaking out of the exhaust in clouds or anything, right? btw its TWIN POWER engine why all of you always like to say TWIN TURBO BMW not Nissan GTR leh haha See lor, this is what I talking about last time when reviewers everytime say it's twin-turbo engine ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear June 10, 2015 Share June 10, 2015 not white smoke la more like steam Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercury1 Turbocharged June 10, 2015 Share June 10, 2015 To be frank your question are kinda vague, hard to honestly advise leh. 1. Driving experience so far - Drives like a bmw? Test drive one for better experience. 2. Major problems for this car - Different car different problem, some are not taken care of and some are lemons while others are hardly driven. Major problem is catching fire these days unfortunately. 3. Fuel consumption - Answered in the earlier post 4. Typical normal servicing cost both AD and outside workshop - Save about 30%? Depends on what kinda servicing. 5. Where can you buy accessories, for both interior and exterior, besides AD - This is all on BMW SG, J's magic, Elebest, Eng Soon auto etc etc and of course Autobacs. To be honest I've not open my own oil cap when the engine is running, but I am not sure if that should be how the car's health is determined. if you like the way a BMW drives and its the car for you then all the above questions can really be found on line. I think if you have a car in mind post the date, mileage, price, overall condition etc, will help make your decision. Hi,Considering to get a 2nd hand 118i ( F20 ), 5dr. Wondering if anyone can share:1. Driving experience so far2. Major problems for this car3. Fuel consumption4. Typical normal servicing cost both AD and outside workshop5. Where can you buy accessories, for both interior and exterior, besides ADAlso, just to check, when you open the oil cap of the engine after driving, when it is on idle mode, is it common to see some white smoke?Checked with PML and they mentioned that this is normal as twin turbo engine tends to be hotter than the normal engine. So this little white smoke coming out is nothing alarming.Tried insisting that there could be some leak or some fault somewhere. Immediately they showed me 6 series with the same twin turbo engine and it is the same.Anybody has anything to share on this?Thank you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oldman28 Neutral Newbie June 10, 2015 Share June 10, 2015 Thanks for the reply Sorry if my questions were vague. Maybe I can rephrase some questions; 1. What are the more common problems that 118 owners faced? 2. I guess it's a engine oil cap. Not oil cap. Have attachéd a picture to be clear 3. Are there any online websites I could buy genuine BMW accessories? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oldman28 Neutral Newbie June 10, 2015 Share June 10, 2015 Sorry picture attached ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...