Volkswagen Passat 1.8

Ario

Did not go thru the two with a fine tooth comb.....wheels are different ? 17 vs 18 ? The seats are different ! That's for sure !

Both trims come with 17 inches (2.0 will come with 18 inches). Seats are the same for the 2 trims under 1.8.

Ooi.....you happen to be a VW salesman ?

The seats I saw in the showroom for the $164K model have lap support and seem better and plusher than the base model.

Wheels I am not sure.....I thought I saw 18" rims.....maybe just for the showroom display.

Oh...yes, the cluster ! I think the base model is plain B/W and the Highline model is colour ?

Anyway, if I were to get the new Passat B8, I would never buy it new ! Better wait for a year or two ! New models always have teething problems. Wait for others to ride out the storm....

Would also prefer the 2litre model with the 6speed DSG and the new interactive colour cluster ! Looks really nice !

Ooi.....you happen to be a VW salesman ?

The seats I saw in the showroom for the $164K model have lap support and seem better and plusher than the base model.

Wheels I am not sure.....I thought I saw 18" rims.....maybe just for the showroom display.

Oh...yes, the cluster ! I think the base model is plain B/W and the Highline model is colour ?

Anyway, if I were to get the new Passat B8, I would never buy it new ! Better wait for a year or two ! New models always have teething problems. Wait for others to ride out the storm....

Would also prefer the 2litre model with the 6speed DSG and the new interactive colour cluster ! Looks really nice !

As edwin15 highlighted above, comparison info is available in the website. One doesn't need to be a VW salesman to do a fair comparison.

It is a good car,but the gearbox still a bit worrying :a-noway: ...only if they change to a ZF 9 speeder from the Land Rover...the problem will be gone.

I'm not sure you would want to get the ZF 9 speed:

Problems with the ZF-designed nine-speed automatic transmission are continuing to pile up, with customer complaints continuing to roll in regarding new Jeep, Chrysler, and Acura models.

http://blog.caranddriver.com/holy-shift-zf-9-speed-automatic-problems-mount-chrysler-releases-third-software-update-for-jeep-cherokee/

To sidetrack. Seems like there is also going to benew model of Audi A4. Anyone know when this will get to Singapore.

Passat;, I think if intend to buy can hold off purchase for a while and wait for them to get the active drive display in first.

I still think its pretty lame for VW Singapore to bring in new Passat to Singapore but not make available one of the new "killer" features.

To be honest, I have looked at the passat and am still considering it. However quite disappointed that the Singapore offering is lacking a lot of the europe features. This makes reading a lot of the passat on the web reviews pointless as these reviews were done on a fully featured Passat.

VW Singapore should make all these extra stuff available as options that can be purchased.

So the 2 litre uses a 6 speed Dual clutch GB and the 1.8 uses the 7 speed Dual Clutch GB, I would imagine manufacturers would use the same GB for the same model of car.

VW roadshow at SUNTEC.

So the 2 litre uses a 6 speed Dual clutch GB and the 1.8 uses the 7 speed Dual Clutch GB, I would imagine manufacturers would use the same GB for the same model of car.

I believe it is due to the torque limit of the 7-speed dry DSG gearbox. If you look at the car list in VW, all the high power car are NOT using the 7-speed (e.g. Golf GTI). I think the 2.0T may have more torque that the 7-speed dry DSG can handle.

From http://en.volkswagen.com/en/innovation-and-technology/technical-glossary/7-gang-dsg-getriebe.html

The 6-speed DSG is suited to higher-powered engines with torques of over 250 Nm. The dual clutch consists of two multi-plate clutches running in an oil bath.

The 7-speed DSG gearbox comes in two different versions:

• For smaller engines: the maximum torque is 250 Nm. In this instance the dual clutch is dry-running, without an oil bath.
  • For engines subjected to higher loads: the maximum torque is 600 Nm. This DSG is therefore designed to cope with high torques

seem like both gearboxes are running at the torque limit

250NM for 7DSG

350NM for 6DSG

Actually I think this may be quite conservative limits. I know a lot of Mk5 GTI owners who boosted their cars to have between 400-500Nm torque, yet their 6DSG is still working well after many years.

Would the 7DSG be related to the problematic one which gaves issues previously? I would imagine the 7DSG GB will limit any mod potential on the 1.8 L given the car is already running at the torque limit.

Actually I think this may be quite conservative limits. I know a lot of Mk5 GTI owners who boosted their cars to have between 400-500Nm torque, yet their 6DSG is still working well after many years.

Would the 7DSG be related to the problematic one which gaves issues previously? I would imagine the 7DSG GB will limit any mod potential on the 1.8 L given the car is already running at the torque limit.

I believe it's related. Yes the gearbox has not had a good reputation in the past, maybe I'm lucky but I'm now on my 2nd car with 7DSG and both have been flawless for over 160,000km in total.

To sidetrack. Seems like there is also going to benew model of Audi A4. Anyone know when this will get to Singapore.

Passat;, I think if intend to buy can hold off purchase for a while and wait for them to get the active drive display in first.

I still think its pretty lame for VW Singapore to bring in new Passat to Singapore but not make available one of the new "killer" features.

To be honest, I have looked at the passat and am still considering it. However quite disappointed that the Singapore offering is lacking a lot of the europe features. This makes reading a lot of the passat on the web reviews pointless as these reviews were done on a fully featured Passat.

VW Singapore should make all these extra stuff available as options that can be purchased.

u be surprise. Its like the MK7 Golf without the performance pack. I guess its trying not to put this in because it would kill off the Audi S3 market

Woohoo the 2L 6spd DSG Passat B8 is here in VW showroom

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_overview.php?CarCode=11749

So basically variants:

1. 1.8T Comfortline $155.8k - 178hp.17" rims no sunroof, no Nav, no reverse camera. else all same as Highline. Difference of $6.5k from Highline

2. 1.8T Highline $162.3k - See above.

3. 2.0T $183.8k, $20k more than Highline - All the features, 18" rims + 40bhp more, 100Nm torque, DCC, ACC,

Didn't have a chance to test drive the 2.0T, but test driven the 1.8T. Basically plenty of punch and I think it's really good enough for our local roads. Only issue is of cos the 7spd DSG. Wondering if it's the dry DQ200 or wet 7spd? Any owners of 2015 cars still experiencing problems with 7spd DSG?

Really tempted, but if I can mix and match a little, my ideal car wld be to be the price of 1.8T highline, and trade the sunroof, nav system and reverse camera for 6spd DSG. If got this configuration, I will have signed on dotted line 

So basically variants:

1. 1.8T Comfortline $155.8k - 178hp.17" rims no sunroof, no Nav, no reverse camera. else all same as Highline. Difference of $6.5k from Highline

3. 2.0T $183.8k, $20k more than Highline - All the features, 18" rims + 40bhp more, 100Nm torque, DCC, ACC,

Didn't have a chance to test drive the 2.0T, but test driven the 1.8T. Basically plenty of punch and I think it's really good enough for our local roads. Only issue is of cos the 7spd DSG. Wondering if it's the dry DQ200 or wet 7spd? Any owners of 2015 cars still experiencing problems with 7spd DSG?

Really tempted, but if I can mix and match a little, my ideal car wld be to be the price of 1.8T highline, and trade the sunroof, nav system and reverse camera for 6spd DSG. If got this configuration, I will have signed on dotted line 

At $160k+ can get Audi A4 leh...

So basically variants:

2L 6DSG

don't consider the rest

Mai too nia

So basically variants:

chop chop book liao.... last time I also like Passat... think too much liao ended up book other car... haha...