Volkswagen Passat 1.8

Ario

Woohoo the 2L 6spd DSG Passat B8 is here in VW showroom

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_overview.php?CarCode=11749

So basically variants:

1. 1.8T Comfortline $155.8k - 178hp.17" rims no sunroof, no Nav, no reverse camera. else all same as Highline. Difference of $6.5k from Highline

2. 1.8T Highline $162.3k - See above.

3. 2.0T $183.8k, $20k more than Highline - All the features, 18" rims + 40bhp more, 100Nm torque, DCC, ACC,

Didn't have a chance to test drive the 2.0T, but test driven the 1.8T. Basically plenty of punch and I think it's really good enough for our local roads. Only issue is of cos the 7spd DSG. Wondering if it's the dry DQ200 or wet 7spd? Any owners of 2015 cars still experiencing problems with 7spd DSG?

Really tempted, but if I can mix and match a little, my ideal car wld be to be the price of 1.8T highline, and trade the sunroof, nav system and reverse camera for 6spd DSG. If got this configuration, I will have signed on dotted line 

Perhaps you should consider Mondeo too.

At $160k+ can get Audi A4 leh...

But it's 7 year old model leh, and the features lose to passat. Really just buying the brand name nia

chop chop book liao.... last time I also like Passat... think too much liao ended up book other car... haha...

I alrdy driving a Passat now, although it's 2 generations ago. This passat really very different from the B6 i'm driving now

Perhaps you should consider Mondeo too.

Did consider mondeo, but my heart still prefer VW :mellow:

2L 6DSG

don't consider the rest

Mai too nia

If price is no issue of cos whack 2L lah. But it's almost 30k more than the base model

engine and features will make you smile every day

not to mention no dsg gb reliability worries

worth the extra if you ask me since it is not an affordability issue if you can consider such cars

Edited by Enye

engine and features will make you smile every day

not to mention no dsg gb reliability worries

worth the extra if you ask me since it is not an affordability issue if you can consider such cars

150k to 180k is up a notch leh. 20% increase. Hopefully COE will come down and the price will be $16x then.

your quoted prices include overtrade on your existing car already?

they should be able to offer quite good overtrade for the passat if they want to push sales

your quoted prices include overtrade on your existing car already?

they should be able to offer quite good overtrade for the passat if they want to push sales

VW have overtrade scheme? In fact the trade in value they offered is at least $10k+ lower than the prices I see on sgcm. Quite disappointed that current passat drivers dun get better trade in value

how old is your current passat?

last time my 9 year old car could get ~8k higher than paper value

gotta bargain with SE who brought in her sales team manager to close

how old is your current passat?

last time my 9 year old car could get ~8k higher than paper value

gotta bargain with SE who brought in her sales team manager to close

Coming to 3 years. I think is no demand so dealer not willing to take in.

7 years life left on your Passat?

Better drive on

No left 3 years

Seriously, if your mind is set on the new Passat

Go for the 2l one and stop thinking whether you can live with 1.8 7dsg

because when the gb gives you trouble, you are going to curse yourself for forgoing the 2l one

No left 3 years

If 3yrs left old car. I think you are better off waiting till next year to get the passat. Most likely they will have made the digital driver console avaiable then and might push prices down if they bring in new Audi A4.

I'm also interested in the Passat but waiting till they bring in the digital console.

Seriously, if your mind is set on the new Passat

Go for the 2l one and stop thinking whether you can live with 1.8 7dsg

because when the gb gives you trouble, you are going to curse yourself for forgoing the 2l one

Agree with you on this, for the 6spd DSG and 40 more horses, [inlove]  but it's $30k more [sweatdrop]

Just have to wait for the price to come down hopefully. I rem my passat B6 retail $106k then, COE only $10k. Those were the days...

Agree with you on this, for the 6spd DSG and 40 more horses, [inlove]  but it's $30k more [sweatdrop]

Just have to wait for the price to come down hopefully. I rem my passat B6 retail $106k then, COE only $10k. Those were the days...

think of it this way

those golf or jetta buyers who could pay 30k more also cannot get the gti engine and gearbox

So far i havnt seen any new Passat on the road yet..

I think still too new... plus past DSG scandal and current diesel scandal