Yrvsport 2nd Gear October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 it should not be a problem juz follow what your car spec rated..if it says ron92 and above it should be ok lor.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newdrive 1st Gear October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 On 10/25/2012 at 9:00 AM, Deckbuild said: Bro is it a one time incident? I don't believe the 5000 you just pump will straight away enter your engine, the fuel line should be left with some 2000? Edited: Ok, I just saw you typed everytime on 5000... my first full tank was on 2000... then i change to 5000. and this problem surface. when i pump 5000... my fuel light already blinking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leijasper 1st Gear October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 I'm driving a avante..pumping boleh land petrol at times.. Check light nvr appear.. Caltex sg 92/95 aft 1-2tank.. Check light appear.. Switch to boleh land one or pumping Caltex 97 sg n check light gone aft half tank of petrol used.. Haven tried switching to other petrol brands thou.. Also wondering what's wrong.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 On 10/25/2012 at 9:18 AM, Leijasper said: I'm driving a avante..pumping boleh land petrol at times.. Check light nvr appear.. Caltex sg 92/95 aft 1-2tank.. Check light appear.. Switch to boleh land one or pumping Caltex 97 sg n check light gone aft half tank of petrol used.. Haven tried switching to other petrol brands thou.. Also wondering what's wrong.. Me driving a 4 yo avante too. Just last week, the CEL came on. Went to a WS and straight away, the mechanic asked if I'm using RON92. Said yes and didn't had problem for the last 4 years. He removed the error code and told me to pump at least 98. Anyway, I couldn't do so right away as i still had a full tank of 92. 2 days later the CEL came back and I ignored it. Drove till it was time to top up petrol and filled up 98. After driving for around 50 plus km, the CEL went off by itself. Very strange cos it the operator's manual indicated that it is fine to drive on 92. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwanheng 1st Gear October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 On 10/25/2012 at 8:36 AM, Newdrive said: this is the second time i pump full tank only... bought this second hand car for 3 weeks. the first time i pump full tank dun have this problem. let me go back to 2000 and see if the same thing happens again. For my case everything I pump full I got this problem, Cannot start, or very hard to start and it continue until tank was not full. I got it resolved by changing a valve Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cba6p 1st Gear October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 is avante is using high compression ratio engine? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caravan 5th Gear October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 Sometimes engine check light may be due to improper tightening of the fuel filler cap. Did you check that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 On 10/25/2012 at 9:43 AM, Altivo said: Me driving a 4 yo avante too. Just last week, the CEL came on. Went to a WS and straight away, the mechanic asked if I'm using RON92. Said yes and didn't had problem for the last 4 years. He removed the error code and told me to pump at least 98. Anyway, I couldn't do so right away as i still had a full tank of 92. 2 days later the CEL came back and I ignored it. Drove till it was time to top up petrol and filled up 98. After driving for around 50 plus km, the CEL went off by itself. Very strange cos it the operator's manual indicated that it is fine to drive on 92. Try 95 and see how it goes......? 92 is more for 1 L car I guess. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leijasper 1st Gear October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 On 10/25/2012 at 9:43 AM, Altivo said: Me driving a 4 yo avante too. Just last week, the CEL came on. Went to a WS and straight away, the mechanic asked if I'm using RON92. Said yes and didn't had problem for the last 4 years. He removed the error code and told me to pump at least 98. Anyway, I couldn't do so right away as i still had a full tank of 92. 2 days later the CEL came back and I ignored it. Drove till it was time to top up petrol and filled up 98. After driving for around 50 plus km, the CEL went off by itself. Very strange cos it the operator's manual indicated that it is fine to drive on 92. Ya..I pump Caltex 98 den the check light go off too.. But funny lei, if all the way 98 abit waste $ lei.. Bro u Eva tried pumping esso or shell for ur car? Wat grade? Did problem persist? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged October 31, 2012 Share October 31, 2012 If 95RON fuel is the root of the problems and you find it too expensive to pump full tank 98RON, then mix 95RON with either 92 or 98RON. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SDK 1st Gear February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 Hi friends, I had my MIL (Engine check) triggered today. I used SPC's Levo 92 for the past two fills. And when I ignited the engine this morning, I noticed this amber lamp. Is it related to fuel? A mechanic said that I just need to fill-up my fuel tank with Levo-98 twice and within days, MIL would go off. Please advise. Thanks. Vehicle - Hyundai Avante (2007). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 On 2/15/2013 at 4:34 AM, SDK said: Hi friends, I had my MIL (Engine check) triggered today. I used SPC's Levo 92 for the past two fills. And when I ignited the engine this morning, I noticed this amber lamp. Is it related to fuel? A mechanic said that I just need to fill-up my fuel tank with Levo-98 twice and within days, MIL would go off. Please advise. Thanks. Vehicle - Hyundai Avante (2007). It's not so much of the fuel. But more so on carbon build up in the engine. I'm driving a 2008 avante and I've been always using 92. No need to go for 95 or 98. As for the engine light, I've kenna twice. What i did was buy a bottle of STP fuel injector cleaner and then pour it into the fuel tank when you fill up your petrol. After 2-3 fills, the light should go off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 I don't have CEL issue with change of fuel Octane or brands,, Usually pumped 98, and occasionally 95 or even 92.CEL turned on only during throttle body cleaning, it went off after awhile. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...