Shibadog Turbocharged October 26, 2012 Share October 26, 2012 Many people do not understand... The actual money that gahmen will spend is much less than $100m. That's just an inflated number they want people to see. To have a feel good feeling about it. How much does the safra memberships cost them? Practically nothing cos the infrastructure is already there. How much are movie tickets? Buy in bulk probably $2-$3 per tix. So in fact the actual amount spent is very very low. Now, if they were to set aside the real amount of $100m to good use, they will think it's too much. yup, wayang aja... anyway you know where the $ comes from anyway... LOL one benefit will likely be the added Consumption (fm an economist's POV) fm pple buying F&B at the movies and after a workout at Safra. Altho that will go into the operator's pocket , then a small portion back to govt coffers via corporate tax haha Again, fm an economist's POV, the govt gets quite a good deal, getting a boost to the economy by getting pple to spend more, without the govt actually spending the $100M. Compared against giving cash outright, where Govt will actually have to "spend" $100M and not all will be injected back into the economy as some will be kept as savings. Therefore, kill two birds with one stone - gain political goodwill and give a small bump to the economy (Esp in view of the dark clouds on the horizon). ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear October 28, 2012 Author Share October 28, 2012 This guy claimed he did not receive the appreciation letter... From ST Forum: http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-...-nsman-20121029 Not even a certificate of appreciation for NSman Published on Oct 29, 2012 I WAS an operationally ready national serviceman with the Singapore Armed Forces. After my full-time national service stint from 1976 to 1978, I did my 13-year cycle of in-camp training, and my last call-up for routine reporting was in 1995. When I reached my statutory age of 40, I did not even receive a certificate of appreciation ("Give a proper send-off for police NSmen" by Mr Suhaimy Hassan; last Friday). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 (edited) This guy claimed he did not receive the appreciation letter... wah... so many years ago, he still can't let it go aiyah face it, life's unfair even in NS, some chao keng and downgrades, some serves as clerks, while others cheong sua, build bridges, bo dai bo ji kena tekan or kena charged life is always unfair lah... but it depends on how you look at it no point keep harping on it Edited October 29, 2012 by Scion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toapayohkid 1st Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 (edited) This guy claimed he did not receive the appreciation letter... From ST Forum: http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-...-nsman-20121029 Not even a certificate of appreciation for NSman Published on Oct 29, 2012 I WAS an operationally ready national serviceman with the Singapore Armed Forces. After my full-time national service stint from 1976 to 1978, I did my 13-year cycle of in-camp training, and my last call-up for routine reporting was in 1995. When I reached my statutory age of 40, I did not even receive a certificate of appreciation ("Give a proper send-off for police NSmen" by Mr Suhaimy Hassan; last Friday). so log ago! that guy loser cheapskate. probably pining for his gold watch. Edited October 29, 2012 by Toapayohkid Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tatty Neutral Newbie October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 when on reached their statutory age what do we actually can expect to get from Mindef 1. letter? 2. Watch? 3. ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 when on reached their statutory age what do we actually can expect to get from Mindef 1. letter? 2. Watch? 3. ..... U sure will get a letter. After that, you can start throwing away your no.4, SBO, helmet and full pack! Watch usually you get it during your last few ICT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear October 29, 2012 Author Share October 29, 2012 wah... so many years ago, he still can't let it go aiyah face it, life's unfair even in NS, some chao keng and downgrades, some serves as clerks, while others cheong sua, build bridges, bo dai bo ji kena tekan or kena charged life is always unfair lah... but it depends on how you look at it no point keep harping on it Ask for nothing in life and you will be at peace with yourself. Anything extra consider it a bonus.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...