Vulcann 6th Gear October 25, 2012 Author Share October 25, 2012 A suggestion to donate the rewards : From ST Forum: http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-...ewards-20121025 Let NSmen donate rewards Published on Oct 25, 2012 The Constitution dictates that every male Singaporean has to serve. And service to the nation, whether in the form of national service or other forms of service, although appreciated, need not be rewarded. After all, it is a duty to the nation, and we should be careful about creating a culture that links service to rewards, be it financial or otherwise. I belong to the group of national servicemen who were required to do part-time Special Constabulary service during our A-level and early undergraduate years, only to be demobilised after 31/2 years and then enlisted for 21/2 years of full-time military service after graduation. I, like many of my peers, grumbled but we moved on, knowing that we were serving the nation. At no time did I expect to be rewarded. The $100 million would have been better spent if it were used to help needy citizens who are living from hand to mouth. Perhaps there should be an option for national servicemen receiving the goodies to donate them to the poor. What about those national servicemen who lost their lives in service? Have they been forgotten? Shouldn't they be rewarded posthumously too? Perhaps their families should be given the rewards, with an option to donate them to the poor. Lawrence Loh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear October 25, 2012 Author Share October 25, 2012 you implying i old oredy right! Bo bian la bro, 岁月不留人,岁月不留人。。。 Me sama sama le... [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toapayohkid 1st Gear October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 A suggestion to donate the rewards : From ST Forum: http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-...ewards-20121025 Let NSmen donate rewards Published on Oct 25, 2012 The Constitution dictates that every male Singaporean has to serve. And service to the nation, whether in the form of national service or other forms of service, although appreciated, need not be rewarded. After all, it is a duty to the nation, and we should be careful about creating a culture that links service to rewards, be it financial or otherwise. I belong to the group of national servicemen who were required to do part-time Special Constabulary service during our A-level and early undergraduate years, only to be demobilised after 31/2 years and then enlisted for 21/2 years of full-time military service after graduation. I, like many of my peers, grumbled but we moved on, knowing that we were serving the nation. At no time did I expect to be rewarded. The $100 million would have been better spent if it were used to help needy citizens who are living from hand to mouth. Perhaps there should be an option for national servicemen receiving the goodies to donate them to the poor. What about those national servicemen who lost their lives in service? Have they been forgotten? Shouldn't they be rewarded posthumously too? Perhaps their families should be given the rewards, with an option to donate them to the poor. Lawrence Loh wah. this guy steady and good suggestion. the $100 is not much to us as individuals, but collectively to needy. good power gesture. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 Bo bian la bro, 岁月不留人,岁月不留人。。。 Me sama sama le... [laugh] hahaha...no need to imply...i can confirm with you i old oredy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 wah. this guy steady and good suggestion. the $100 is not much to us as individuals, but collectively to needy. good power gesture. yes very true on what he is saying! 100 million can go a very long way in helping the needy especially those who have sacrificed for the country. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear October 25, 2012 Author Share October 25, 2012 yes very true on what he is saying! 100 million can go a very long way in helping the needy especially those who have sacrificed for the country. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 actually its better to give ntuc or any other grocery voucher if the gov wants to acknowledge our sacrifice. Gibe me free wayang ticket for what. My last movie adventure was Transformer and i rather watch DVD (RM 20 for 5 pcs) as sometime i will fall asleep while watching mobies. At least at home can pause or rewind! and i am a simple man...no need restraunt, treat gibe me breakfast lunch and dinner at food centre enuff oredy! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 if only forum have a 'like' button Some ppl are just "2 head snake". On one hand, complain KPKB so much about garment giving $$ to the ppl. On the other hand, when he receives the $$ from garment, he happily spend it. if really not happy, can write in and say he doesnt want to receive the $$. no one is forcing him to take the $$. KNN Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 our country needs more men like you, bro. i also like him leh. but i called my unit for my 8 ICT. they tell me they MR me liao. no more reservist Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 They are giving out vouchers and safra memberships, not cash. Hence my question on the true cost vs the advertised cost. Safra membership doesn't cost them any thing to give, except maybe admin costs to print membership cards. I'm sure the majority of the people getting the safra membership would not have considered it in the first place, so in this case it turns into a marketing exercise to draw in new potential members (like Mustank says, huat ah!). It will cost them the loss of annual fees from current members who get the year free and perhaps increased maintenence costs at the facilities, which will be offset by increased revenue from the usage of the said facilities. But then again not everyone getting the free membership will be utilising it. Unless i'm totally wrong and they are actually going to give safra the full market price of every single free membership, turning the situation into a right-pocket-to-left-pocket scenario since safra is under them anyway. I also don't believe for a minute that they will be paying full face value for the vouchers. I want to buy vouchers with a face value of 10 million dollars from your company, you not going to give me a special price? If not i'll go to the cinema chain/grocery chain (ntuc lol)/petrol chain next door and see what they can offer me. BTW, i got a friend who donates all his GST packages and whatever $$, that our garment gives, to charities. He doesn't want them and he act on it. this is what i called "got backbone". Not just NATO here and there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 i also like him leh. but i called my unit for my 8 ICT. they tell me they MR me liao. no more reservist You old man already lah......... liability to keep you in the ICT...... . what if you sprained your ankle when changing into your boots? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryu 5th Gear October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 $100M worth of SAFRA vouchers how to donate to charity and needy, they can't even use it to buy rice and daily necessities. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 haha...duno what exercise either...is ah pek ship sailing...most lao jiao navy guys should know...orange ship... Ahh okok, I'm on LST. Maybe will see you there next April lol. Although I'm kinda sad cuz my bday will fall within the ICT period. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 TAIWAN got Sea Thunder meh? I tot all the while is known as Starlight? Starlight is Army, Sea Thunder is .. Navy! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 Avatar!!! Bro you Navy too? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 Dining vouchers? Pool a bunch together, donate to the appropriate charity and they can arrange nice makan for old folks/low income families etc. Movie vouchers? Donate to orphanage and they can take the kids out for movie outing. A lot is possible if there is enough flexibility. These simple things that we take for granted like a nice meal or movie can mean alot of folks who are lesser off. What we need to know is the terms and conditions of the vouchers. If not transferable at least make them "donate-able" to charities, like what Lawerence Low is suggesting. I guess in time all will be known. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryu 5th Gear October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 For those still unsure what they are getting, details can be found here: http://www.mindef.gov.sg/imindef/press_roo...ml#.UIj2xWdO8tW Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johorat 1st Gear October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 (edited) Dumb sinkies is talking as if $100m is going to their pocket. Divide by the total number of NSmen it amount to no more than $50. That for the 2.5 years and 10years ICT. Edited October 25, 2012 by Johorat ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...