Young pple got no hope

Ahtong

From the recent threads, how come only uni grads are facing employment issues?

The problem lies on practicality. You will be surprise of the real world difference between a Uni-grad and ploy-Dip grad. Partially also due to pay difference. A ploy-grad is more hands-on as compare to Uni-grad with the combination of pay value. An Uni-grad have a problem with lower pay. Even though, one may willing to accept lower pay. But to an employer, he knows that this Uni-grad may use this as a temporary shelter. Unless you are specialize in certain field, like law, medical or finance. In certain case of niche engineering needs.

The way I see it, some young ppl lack the skill of adapting to their work environment. Inter-person relationship skill lacking. Takes time for him to learn since he's expecting to be told what to do. If he's a newbie at work how to expect high pay? Learn some skill & experience first dan talk about pay lah. Graduate only expect high pay. Siao. And whose fault is it to have this kinda mentality?

The education system's fault perhaps.

24 yo blames stressful job for breakup

Link

The younger generation, could have not gone through the difficultics during growing up period. Too protected by the environment and families. -_-

Edited by HP_Lee

Dont thik he is a young guy.... graduated in 97/98?? This guy should be in his late 30's?? from the article, I think he only work for 2-3 yrs in his life....

I faced the same issue as him as I was graduated in late 1997, I agree that its not easy but its a good experience for young plp to experienced some difficulties in terms to face something even tougher when the age catches up..... But in this guy case, I think he is having some attitude problem. Hospitalised?? I think should be admitted to woodbridge bah... cant think of any illness that can make a young guys hospitalised due to pressure other than mental illness...

Dont thik he is a young guy.... graduated in 97/98?? This guy should be in his late 30's?? from the article, I think he only work for 2-3 yrs in his life....

I faced the same issue as him as I was graduated in late 1997, I agree that its not easy but its a good experience for young plp to experienced some difficulties in terms to face something even tougher when the age catches up..... But in this guy case, I think he is having some attitude problem. Hospitalised?? I think should be admitted to woodbridge bah... cant think of any illness that can make a young guys hospitalised due to pressure other than mental illness...

Hard to say. We can't jump to conclusions. This is faceless blog.

I was stuck with a shiity pay (below $2.6k) for the first 5 years of my working life and I graduated one year earlier. Now still shitty :wacko::D

like that u say shitty pay ahh??? I graduated in 97 and landed in Fast food industry... was offered 1.6K and working more than 60 hrs a week on average for 2 yrs+....

Quite high for Dip.. my friend was offered 1.6 or 1.8k for a Tech position with an Aerospace company.. He's a fresh outta army dip holder..

As for degree, fresh grad should range from 2.8k to 3.4k, depending on industry and company..

actually it's pretty high for dip holder i think...

typically degree holder abt 2.5-3k

What's the celling u guys willing to pay someone in his mid 30's with about 15 yrs of experience but armed with only N level ?

Weighing between experience and passport (qualification)

Let say marketing position, techincal position etc

What's the celling u guys willing to pay someone in his mid 30's with about 15 yrs of experience but armed with only N level ?

not for you to decide unless you're HR.

hiring manager only conduct interview to determine if the candidate is suitable. HR will nego and advise on payscale.

should be similar across most MNCs.

IMO, paper qualifications only applies to the 1st job.. everything after that is based on your experience..

The more specialised your field is, the harder to jump ship, but the more you can bargain (and more chance of kena headhunted).. ^_^

My young cousin NUS fresh grad juz got employed by some neighbourhood community center

He was paid $3700 doing only administration paper work

I dunno what's the benchmark but i think it's easy money

Anyhow for the TS attached letter

I suppose that guy is too strawberry

kaos... i got 10+ years exp... just finished my part time degree... pay only slightly higher then your cousin [bigcry]

Does not reflect across in general. [cool]

i know of 3 cases including myself...

i started with S$500 as well as used car salesman when no one wants to hire me....

So when no one wants to hire my friend, I approached 1 business owner to "help out"....

The other, draw $500 per month for the 1st month I pull him over to join me at S$2500 per month... so cannot really count but its a good starting point.

nowadays

father mother rich got hope

father mother not rich no hope

Depends. Poor background may spur him to strive extra hard n if right place right timing plus hard work he may make it big, but no 100% bao jiak..... [:)]

On the other hands, silver spoon etc may actually make him commonplacent or even retard. Just look around us.

Doesnt really matter what degree you hold, everyone else has an a cert somewhere.

What matters is your commitment and value add, boils down to an individual attitude.

Depends. Poor background may spur him to strive extra hard n if right place right timing plus hard work he may make it big, but no 100% bao jiak..... [:)]

On the other hands, silver spoon etc may actually make him commonplacent or even retard. Just look around us.

you know how big a difference can a good headstart be?

in most cases, the gap cannot be close within 1 generation

save for the lucky few. :ph34r:

you know how big a difference can a good headstart be?

in most cases, the gap cannot be close within 1 generation

save for the lucky few. :ph34r:

Depends.

The young husband n wife team freelance prop agents who sold my house eight years ago were selling hawker food previously. They struggled hard in the first few years making cold calls and practically camped at the nearby MacDonald office as their office. Met them recently and found they are doing extremely well with sub agents under them and closing deals fast n furious despite the ups n downs in the market. These ah being n ah lian were really greenhorns eight yrs ago but they learned fast. No head start but sheer hardwork n persistence, of course plus some luck. :D

Edited by 2012

not for you to decide unless you're HR.

hiring manager only conduct interview to determine if the candidate is suitable. HR will nego and advise on payscale.

should be similar across most MNCs.

Yes... but if it takes 3 months to hire a position and candidates keep turn down the offer... and the company is losing top talent...

hiring manager could wack the HR upside down. [laugh]

Once HR let go of their grip... it is up to the hiring manager. But of course, the hiring manager must take care of this dept's budget lah.