Always be alert when driving.

Firefly968

Was cruising leisurely until almost bang this grey fit at the junction [;)]

There was no pedestrian crossing the road. Unless he saw something/someone that I missed [confused]

The incident is at around 2 minute mark.

Wa you nearly crash into him le. But why he stop, the opposite car and bike are so far away. BTW, you should reduce your speed when approaching the junction. More ever, you are turning right.

On 10/18/2012 at 9:18 AM, Firefly968 said:

There was no pedestrian crossing the road. Unless he saw something/someone that I missed [confused]

He saw the motorbike lah, you are not alert, don't anticipate in future, else one day you might bang someone's tail at zebra crossing.

Is this your normal driving style? No offence, but you are bit rough in driving. You were not controlling the speed properly even in earlier junction. You need to slowdown in junctions (irrespective of what the front car is doing), look out and then make right turns. But Fit is another driver stopped abruptly without seeing the danger at his ass!

Practice defensive driving bro!

On 10/18/2012 at 9:27 AM, Steptronic said:

Is this your normal driving style? No offence, but you are bit rough in driving. You were not controlling the speed properly even in earlier junction. You need to slowdown in junctions (irrespective of what the front car is doing), look out and then make right turns. But Fit is another driver stopped abruptly without seeing the danger at his ass!

Practice defensive driving bro!

Just imagine, if TS bang into that FIT ass hard and push the fit further down the junction. I am sure that that the fit will be jialat by the on coming vehicle.

On 10/18/2012 at 9:30 AM, Dscheng said:

Just imagine, if TS bang into that FIT ass hard and push the fit further down the junction. I am sure that that the fit will be jialat by the on coming vehicle.

I seriously think if we have to bring a rule for license to be renewed once in 3 years with Inspectors sitting with driver. The driving day by day is deterioting.

1. No signals

2. No lane discipline

3. No 2 sec rule

4. Road hogging

5. Tailgating

On each of the above instances, driver would get "-5" during the test. -10 would make drivers disqualify

Nothing wrong with fit driving, in fact you should anticipate that fit maybe slowing down to stop at right turing and not assuming that every car you following behind will just turn right when there is empty traffic on the other direction of the road.

On 10/18/2012 at 9:35 AM, Steptronic said:

I seriously think if we have to bring a rule for license to be renewed once in 3 years with Inspectors sitting with driver. The driving day by day is deterioting.

1. No signals

2. No lane discipline

3. No 2 sec rule

4. Road hogging

5. Tailgating

On each of the above instances, driver would get "-5" during the test. -10 would make drivers disqualify

How I wish my company sent me to defensive driving course, then i can enjoy drifting [laugh]

Thanks bros for the feedback. All constructive criticisms welcome.

When I approached the junction, I noted that the on coming traffic which was still quite far away. Then when I reached the short fences, I checked there was no pedestrian then look forward to see the car still there. So had to either step the brake harder to stop behind the car or ease the brake to stop beside the car. I chose the easier method.

On 10/18/2012 at 9:46 AM, Firefly968 said:

Thanks bros for the feedback. All constructive criticisms welcome.

When I approached the junction, I noted that the on coming traffic which was still quite far away. Then when I reached the short fences, I checked there was no pedestrian then look forward to see the car still there. So had to either step the brake harder to stop behind the car or ease the brake to stop beside the car. I chose the easier method.

Thats why I say don't anticipate infront will be clear for u, alot of crashes happen at zebra crossing because of this.

When you need to turn, always wait till front car go off, u checked then u move, because the car infront might have enough space to clear the pedestrian or vehicle but u might not, and if you keep anticipating, you might hit the oncoming.

Don't know if you still remember the incident where the bus turning right at a junction hit and killed a girl walking across the pedestrian crossing.

T.S. I think you should drive with care and take pre-caution. Regardless whether the driver in front sees something or not, ALWAYS slow down at a junction. Be safe rather than sorry.

It would be very interesting if that you bang into the fit/jazz.

I wonder how the insurance would reacted to the claims...

Next time, just go and bang ok? And when you win the case, let us know.

I think you are not attentive thinking it is a lesiurely drive. The fit is a prudent driver stopping at junction to clear and even if clear the pick up may not be fast enough for u to move as the oncoming vehicle is also moving fast.

On 10/18/2012 at 9:54 AM, Deckbuild said:

Thats why I say don't anticipate infront will be clear for u, alot of crashes happen at zebra crossing because of this.

When you need to turn, always wait till front car go off, u checked then u move, because the car infront might have enough space to clear the pedestrian or vehicle but u might not, and if you keep anticipating, you might hit the oncoming.

Don't know if you still remember the incident where the bus turning right at a junction hit and killed a girl walking across the pedestrian crossing.

Good point about the anticipation part.

We can anticipate all we want but there is always the chance of the unanticipated might happen.

  On 10/18/2012 at 10:04 AM, Vhtfhwlego said:

It would be very interesting if that you bang into the fit/jazz.

I wonder how the insurance would reacted to the claims...

Next time, just go and bang ok? And when you win the case, let us know.

You will be disappointed as I have no interest to bang anyone.

Just sharing an incident here to show we have to be alert when driving.

Edited by Firefly968

Bro, if the Jazz not there I know you would have whacked the turn liao but you are not in a race track and you cannot assume everyone has the same confidence in driving as you or everyone's car has the same horsepower as you.

The Jazz did nothing wrong, it's just practicing safe driving and stopping first to confirm the coast is clear before proceeding. You dunno who is in the car. There could be a baby or an elder inside and the driver is just being careful. In fact you are the one not paying attention to him stopping. What's the point of pre-empting the traffic many step ahead when you forgot about the car directly in front of you? At the end of the day you situation awareness still sucks...

I hope you also do a self-check on your confidence in driving, over-confidence is the recipe for accidents...that's why it's called accidents..

On 10/18/2012 at 10:18 AM, Firefly968 said:

You will be disappointed as I have no interest to bang anyone.

Just sharing an incident here to show we have to be alert when driving.

Good that u share, I bet u r not the only one driving like that but it's a lesson learn, others should stay alert all time.

I agree that e jazz was right to stop and check oncoming traffic frm his left. If he did not, it will be a different story and video title....

Still, TS, glad u alert enuff to stop in time.....and yes, a lesson for all to remember to slow down when approaching junctions and stop first before risking a turn without checking....less than 30secs but save a whole lot of time and $....with insurance, repairs and all.

Safe ride....thnx for sharing.