Gee 1st Gear October 10, 2012 Share October 10, 2012 Participants air perennial concerns such as overcrowding and strain on infrastructure by Ng Jing Yng 04:46 AM Oct 10, 2012 SINGAPORE - With only a couple of months to go before the Government finalises its White Paper on population - and after much has been said and done to address the foreigner issue and the rising housing prices - old chestnuts were brought up at a dialogue yesterday, as participants aired impassioned views on perennial concerns such as overcrowding and the strain on infrastructure. ... After the speech, the questions and comments came thick and fast. One participant said she was "completely bewildered, why an island-nation ... is selling our property to everyone in the world". Another described the surge in the number of immigrants in 2007 and 2008 - a period when the Lehman crisis was unfolding - as "very perplexing". He said: "There has been no apology or no real addressing of that issue, no wonder the MRT broke down." Others also wanted to know the mistakes that have been made in Government policies, with one participant wondering if the "cart was put before the horse" in terms of infrastructure and how Singapore can support more than five million people. There were also calls for the Government to reserve the majority of Certificates of Entitlement for Singaporeans, and for greater interconnectivity underground between buildings. Government buildings such as the Istana should also be moved out of prime area, one participant said. ... Summing up the dialogue, Mr Teo noted: "We are so used to scoring 95 marks, maybe 99 marks that when we score 75 or 80 marks, we think that we have become really a dismal failure ... Maybe in the last one year or so, two years or so three years or so, in our test papers we scored less than 95, 99, 90 marks but can we buckle down, fix the problems, move forward and get up back there again? I think we can, I have the confidence that we will be able to do so." -- more at http://www.todayonline.com/Singapore/EDC12...No-easy-answers my oh my.. never stops to amaze me.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged October 10, 2012 Share October 10, 2012 (edited) 99 marks... Edited October 10, 2012 by Wyfitms Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 10, 2012 Share October 10, 2012 The arrogance is still there. One wonders when it will stop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged October 10, 2012 Share October 10, 2012 How come no one ask why must we hit 6-6.5 million pple? Why that number? Can't we be happy at 4 million? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingkong 5th Gear October 10, 2012 Share October 10, 2012 Wonder who gave them 99??? Damn shameless!!! They didn't even get near to that figure in all those damed elections... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 10, 2012 Share October 10, 2012 How come no one ask why must we hit 6-6.5 million pple? Why that number? Can't we be happy at 4 million? don't care what numbers they give, just that don't increase CPF withdrawer age from 55 to 62 ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged October 10, 2012 Share October 10, 2012 (edited) 99 marks... so hao lian...... trying to say they are victim of their own success having raised our expectation too high that now we are expecting perfect score. come on la, i wouldn't agree we came close to scoring 95 marks in governance. i will give a 85 at our peak. at current stage, i only rate them 75 niah. Edited October 10, 2012 by Acemundo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear October 10, 2012 Share October 10, 2012 How come no one ask why must we hit 6-6.5 million pple? Why that number? Can't we be happy at 4 million? becos there's a ratio of working adult vs older folks (who don't contribute to tax at that time, and use more health care facilities) just look at japan and project the image there currently to singapore in 20 years time. if our health care is successfully, news headline might show "Singapore - great place for longevity" - 20 yrs later. its all numbers. if 1 adult vs 2 old folks, siao liao...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear October 10, 2012 Share October 10, 2012 This is Spore, profit driven by cheap labor rather than skilled labor. It has been like this for many years. Some real facts are like low productivity, highest public debt. Bopian unless migrate or change govt, which may not solve the problem too. There are other good things though. Safety, no natural disasters, low tax but cpf tax a lot n min sum keep rising. In short, cannot depend on govt any more. Better stand on our own two feet n if Spore collapse, at least we can run elsewhr. Damn, its sure good to be PR here or have PR elsewhr. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
New_Atlantis 3rd Gear October 10, 2012 Share October 10, 2012 How to make them understand? Can we have a referendum? please!! Btw who else here thinks that our GOV is getting too BIG! we may be heading the way of Grease, everyone want a comfy job in the GOV. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged October 10, 2012 Share October 10, 2012 How come no one ask why must we hit 6-6.5 million pple? Why that number? Can't we be happy at 4 million? Economies of scale....loosely speaking, if you have played those "Caesar" games, you realise as the city gets bigger, it needs more people to support the economic cycle...something like dat that.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged October 10, 2012 Share October 10, 2012 Economies of scale....loosely speaking, if you have played those "Caesar" games, you realise as the city gets bigger, it needs more people to support the economic cycle...something like dat that.... looks like they have been spending too much time playing board games Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear October 10, 2012 Share October 10, 2012 99 marks? Not 60.1 marks meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear October 10, 2012 Share October 10, 2012 (edited) so hao lian...... trying to say they are victim of their own success having raised our expectation too high that now we are expecting perfect score. come on la, i wouldn't agree we came close to scoring 95 marks in governance. i will give a 85 at our peak. at current stage, i only rate them 75 niah. 75, pui! at most 60 Edited October 10, 2012 by Jp66 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear October 10, 2012 Share October 10, 2012 This is Spore, profit driven by cheap labor rather than skilled labor. It has been like this for many years. Some real facts are like low productivity, highest public debt. Bopian unless migrate or change govt, which may not solve the problem too. There are other good things though. Safety, no natural disasters, low tax but cpf tax a lot n min sum keep rising. In short, cannot depend on govt any more. Better stand on our own two feet n if Spore collapse, at least we can run elsewhr. Damn, its sure good to be PR here or have PR elsewhr. Was talking to an ang moh Developement manager (contruction) fr Brisbane...He said a 120 mills project in OZ , from planning ,design to completion...is about 6 years.... I guessed NO cheap labourers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear October 10, 2012 Share October 10, 2012 Was talking to an ang moh Developement manager (contruction) fr Brisbane...He said a 120 mills project in OZ , from planning ,design to completion...is about 6 years.... I guessed NO cheap labourers That's coz they pay attention to build quality. And the developers are ultimately responsible for the building if it is structurally unsound or anything happens. Reputation and quality are both important aspects here. Singapore had the opportunity to phase both 'faster and cheaper' with 'better', however, the emphasis lately has been on 'cheaper' which translates to more profits. To heck with 'faster' and don't talk about 'better'. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged October 10, 2012 Share October 10, 2012 I remembered seeing in one of the forum, they were mentioning that if the government policies had been considering CPF as a source of income for retirement then there is no need for so many Singaporeans to sustain the old but rather they need the population to SUSTAIN the economic of Singapore. So if Singaporeans are not enough they just "IMPORT". So long the government can keep taxing and provide salary to their elites, they will keep importing. They are the only government throughout Singapore independence, how can they not see when the "2 is enough" policy should stop? Now after donkey years to repair the damage? If our government keeps changing, then it can be an excuse but with them running the government policies and NO ONE SAW THIS COMING??? haizzz... no wonder ex-AD in NTUC also can claim ignorance lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theobserver 2nd Gear October 10, 2012 Share October 10, 2012 I remembered seeing in one of the forum, they were mentioning that if the government policies had been considering CPF as a source of income for retirement then there is no need for so many Singaporeans to sustain the old but rather they need the population to SUSTAIN the economic of Singapore. So if Singaporeans are not enough they just "IMPORT". So long the government can keep taxing and provide salary to their elites, they will keep importing. They are the only government throughout Singapore independence, how can they not see when the "2 is enough" policy should stop? Now after donkey years to repair the damage? If our government keeps changing, then it can be an excuse but with them running the government policies and NO ONE SAW THIS COMING??? haizzz... no wonder ex-AD in NTUC also can claim ignorance lor people's vision on hindsight is always 20/20 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...