Why do they ban passengers from bringing

Philipkee

err some planes offer plastic knives and so on. My question is, what is the rationale of distributing metal knives when security is so paranoid in not allowing ANY sharp objects to be brought by passengers on board the plane? I know MAS allows metal knives but first time I took SQ.

On 10/8/2012 at 3:36 AM, Philipkee said:

err some planes offer plastic knives and so on. My question is, what is the rationale of distributing metal knives when security is so paranoid in not allowing ANY sharp objects to be brought by passengers on board the plane? I know MAS allows metal knives but first time I took SQ.

the so-called security measures doesn't make sense in the first place...just like many things in this world too...[laugh]

just like I also don't see the need that we should bring out our laptops individually from our bag and put onto the plastic trays for screening before plane boarding...it creates unnecessary hassle. [laugh]

  On 10/8/2012 at 3:25 AM, Philipkee said:

sharp objects into a plane when they distribute metal knives during meal times?

only recently they issue metal cutleries.

after the 9/11 incident, all airlines change to plastic cutleries for a long time, and only recently (i noticed), they resume back to metal cutleries.

On 10/8/2012 at 4:02 AM, Donut said:

after the 9/11 incident, all airlines change to plastic cutleries for a long time, and only recently (i noticed), they resume back to metal cutleries.

cos after eating, those plastic knife, fork & spoon are found on the floor and on seat ..... [furious]

I kana once ... [whip]

On 10/8/2012 at 3:33 AM, Lazyd said:

IIRC, SQ still offers steel cutleries...

Yup, can confirm that.

My recent SIN-LA business class SQ flight ... they're still on METAL cutlery.

On 10/8/2012 at 4:11 AM, Picnic06 said:

cos after eating, those plastic knife, fork & spoon are found on the floor and on seat ..... [furious]

I kana once ... [whip]

Don't comprain hor, lucky it is not metal fork. [laugh][:p]

  On 10/8/2012 at 3:52 AM, Damienic said:

the so-called security measures doesn't make sense in the first place...just like many things in this world too...[laugh]

just like I also don't see the need that we should bring out our laptops individually from our bag and put onto the plastic trays for screening before plane boarding...it creates unnecessary hassle. [laugh]

And the mobile phone thingy as well.

Nobody told the poor sods that they didn't need flying lessons. Just switch on mobilephones can liao..

On 10/8/2012 at 4:02 AM, Donut said:

actually plastic still can kill if really want to lor. [:/]

On 10/8/2012 at 4:54 AM, Sabian said:

Nobody told the poor sods that they didn't need flying lessons. Just switch on mobilephones can liao..

sorry i didnt follow on this.

what with the mobile phone?? what happen??

is all crap the security. it's just to improve the sales for inside the boarding area.

no drinkable liquid allow but they are sold inisde. so u wan go buy. $ generated....

wanna food inisde got sell. $ generated again....

it's all about $. they even charge to create this $ generating opp.

On 10/8/2012 at 4:54 AM, Sabian said:

Please... don't give them the idea to check in the mobile phone! [laugh]

On 10/8/2012 at 4:56 AM, Joseph22 said:

sorry i didnt follow on this.

what with the mobile phone?? what happen??

.. the terror will bring up his phone...

"Divert to xxx city or else I make a phone call and the plane will dive 20k ft." [;)]

On 10/8/2012 at 5:19 AM, Ben5266 said:

.. the terror will bring up his phone...

"Divert to xxx city or else I make a phone call and the plane will dive 20k ft." [;)]

:o:o:o