Pisces69 6th Gear October 12, 2012 Share October 12, 2012 That is not a excuse. Drive 4km...40km or 400km you need to be alert to your surrounding. If not...confirm will be a menace to other road user. Many people dun even look at the rear view mirror when driving even if its on a straight line. Not checking mirror cud b why we hv so many road hoggers. Hahaha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMniceguy Clutched October 12, 2012 Share October 12, 2012 Just moved to left lane if you see fast car coming, people rushing for important matters...stop hogging the lane...right lane on NSHW is for fast cars...just be considerate on the road...sometime I hit above 220km/h (Short distance only) but realising that NSHW is not safe for high speed, better be cautious at all times.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 12, 2012 Share October 12, 2012 correct!!!! by the way there is no known cure for stupidity... so hoggers will exist no matter what Yeah there is - its called a gun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic October 12, 2012 Share October 12, 2012 Yeah there is - its called a gun and how do you suppose to use that gun on them???............. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged October 12, 2012 Share October 12, 2012 erm 4 fingers point back nia.. where got 9.. lol Both hands dude Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged October 12, 2012 Share October 12, 2012 THe NSHW belongs to Malaysia, why make a meal out of it, it's as if we Sillyporean own it, let alone race and speed like there is no tomorrow . . . Tell me who is chasing U, jus showing off your new toys, when thry do come back to Sillporean road, all ' kuai kuai ' behaved like angel ! Can't understand such mindset, grow up please ! I can relate that some driver/s have kids and older folks in the car, so safety are of prime consideration when on HSHW. Accident can happen for a reason, drive safe ya! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nainar 1st Gear October 13, 2012 Share October 13, 2012 Singaporean drivers are not suited for long distance travel...they are more suited to those roads with a traffic light every 200m....so if you ask them to drive on a straight road with no traffic light for over 40Km at a stretch...confirm will be obvious of the surrounding and blur. This quiet a plausible explanation.Their daily life revolves around this and get out in NSHW where no lights or much traffic as in Singapore.I ave seen men using razors for shaving in the car and women applying lipsticks.It gets that bad.where is the question of checking all rear view mirrors?. I usually set up my mirrors so as to reduce blind spots and gave it for servicing.When I collect the car back I see only my car's a** in the mirrors and a bit of the road.Because it was taken out for a drive to test by a driver accustomed to Singapore .So if the driver is seeing his own car's rear being oblivious of what is behind him what purpose rear view mirror brings? Nainar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear October 13, 2012 Share October 13, 2012 Just moved to left lane if you see fast car coming, people rushing for important matters...stop hogging the lane...right lane on NSHW is for fast cars...just be considerate on the road...sometime I hit above 220km/h (Short distance only) but realising that NSHW is not safe for high speed, better be cautious at all times.... I hit 180+ KNN one local Altis just cut in without signal.. lucky i brake swee swee on time.. wanted to stare but realise it was an old uncle.. then just didnt bother.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nainar 1st Gear October 13, 2012 Share October 13, 2012 THe NSHW belongs to Malaysia, why make a meal out of it, it's as if we Sillyporean own it, let alone race and speed like there is no tomorrow . . . I can relate that some driver/s have kids and older folks in the car, so safety are of prime consideration when on HSHW. Accident can happen for a reason, drive safe ya! Mate, this is fantastic statement of the fact! The NSHW is owned by Malaysia and not Singapore. If the question is about the government policies makes sense. But the discussion is in general about the driving habits. Every part of the world has its own unwritten rules and unwritten rules which govern the violation of the written rules. Like once in Italy, a colleague of mine, in a one way, drove in reverse gear at 40kmph for more than 600 meters before taking the lane in search of a parking lot. Yes, it is against the law and unsafe but he was so well versed with that road that he knew it like the back of his palm. So, there are unwritten rules. This discussion is about those unwritten rules. Irrespective of the speed limit imposed by the road in NSHW, what is the unwritten rule? Do no hog the road. that is what the discussion is about. I am nobody to tell some one not to do a 220kmph in NSHW. What is that I can do to honor that unwritten rule is what is being discussed. There is no way I am giving my space to some one or panic when just because he is doing 200 kmph or flashing lights behind me, if I don't have space to move to left as I have already started an overtaking a maneuver. But can I be a little diligent when starting the maneuver? Can I pay attention to my rear view mirrors if there are cars behind me wanting to move forward? Can I give space to them, without jeopardizing my safety? Nainar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged October 13, 2012 Share October 13, 2012 *putting on stupid hat* I doing speed limit what...why you need to overtake? Cannot go faster anyhow. To go faster not safe. *taking off stupid hat* Yeah Man! 95% of the time, if someone is hogging on the NSHW it will be an S plate car! Also - I find that if you are going around 130-140, most of the time you are ok, I hate going 110-120 because you are always left-right, left-right....drives me crazy 130-140 shld still give way to cars coming from behind Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged October 13, 2012 Share October 13, 2012 Both hands dude both hands also got eight fingers the other two are thumbs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lava 5th Gear October 13, 2012 Share October 13, 2012 sunday 4-5pm every1 waiting for chance to overtake. slow n draggy. nothing wrong with my overtaking skill, my record is 2hour 15min including 1 stop to top up 1 stop to toilet. from jb to kl. lol u like to smoke big Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lydiachristopher 3rd Gear October 16, 2012 Share October 16, 2012 Another thing I notice is that SG hoggers will give way to MY tailgaters, but will not give way to SG car behind. Fully Agree man. Recently just following a S'pore registered Q7 with 80kph on right lane in NS highway. After i give signal to overtake........ Nothing happended..... High Beam........ Same....... End up Horn all the way..................... Same............... I overtake from left lane and the driver was showing me a face like s--t..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GemLeo 1st Gear October 16, 2012 Share October 16, 2012 if someone is already confident in driving more than 160 on NSH, i'm sure road hogging is nothing to rant about. flash high beam once.. if cannot, keep flashing.. if cannot.. leave your high beam on lor. I would think any smart experienced NSH driver would have already seen the road hogger some distance away. he should have reacted by releasing pressure on the accelerator, or flash high beam, and pace his approach to the hogger. if the hogger filter to left lane, you don't even need to use brakes. even if he doesn't, you don't even need to jam your brakes hard. anyway, just for awareness.. while driving on the right lane.. do sometimes glance to cars on your opposite direction.. I'm seen cars who just crash and fly to the central divider. I got into such situation before.. the debris from the opposite car crash fly into my tyre sidewall.. tyre burst.. car feel like suddenly lose power luckily left lane no cars.. and the car behind me slowed down in time. i managed to stop at shoulder lane. but also KNN la.. see so many sg plates drive pass.. bo lang stop to help.. LOL.. only know how to complain.. tsk tsk it could have been worse in many ways.. i'm glad im still here. want to speed... speed smart. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 16, 2012 Share October 16, 2012 130-140 shld still give way to cars coming from behind Absolutely! Don't wanna suggest otherwise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 17, 2012 Share October 17, 2012 Fully Agree man. Recently just following a S'pore registered Q7 with 80kph on right lane in NS highway. After i give signal to overtake........ Nothing happended..... High Beam........ Same....... End up Horn all the way..................... Same............... I overtake from left lane and the driver was showing me a face like s--t..... This type of yaya driver think Q7 is big fark. He need those MY timber lorry come n tickle his backside n see how fast e coward pull left n let it pass. Hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear October 17, 2012 Share October 17, 2012 This type of yaya driver think Q7 is big fark. He need those MY timber lorry come n tickle his backside n see how fast e coward pull left n let it pass. Hahaha i am heading up this weekend.. last week, my inlaws came so we didnt go too far up.. just ventured to JPO and bt indah jusco. this week heading to Melaka with wifey.. :Di hope the weather will be good. last week rain like siao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged October 17, 2012 Share October 17, 2012 i am heading up this weekend.. last week, my inlaws came so we didnt go too far up.. just ventured to JPO and bt indah jusco. this week heading to Melaka with wifey.. :Di hope the weather will be good. last week rain like siao... How's the crowd at JPO now? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...