Darryn Turbocharged September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 OK..i will write a lengthy one next time :- BTW, you been there before? That one - no. I have seen many roads where the right of way between pedestrian and car is unclear. When I was learning to drive, anytime a car crosses a footpath (i.e when turning out from a business driveway) the pedestrain has the right of way. Not sure who is in the wrong - but it could be as much a difference in understanding as much as anything else... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 (edited) That one - no. I have seen many roads where the right of way between pedestrian and car is unclear. When I was learning to drive, anytime a car crosses a footpath (i.e when turning out from a business driveway) the pedestrain has the right of way. Not sure who is in the wrong - but it could be as much a difference in understanding as much as anything else... No wonder......you should go there look look see see then you know wat i mean. Edited September 27, 2012 by Ronleech Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topspin 2nd Gear September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 (edited) couple of months back i was leave the prawning pool near bishan/Sim Ming. One way turn left. 4 ang mo (2m 2f)crossing the road like their father's own it, just walk and expecting vehicles to stop for them... I horn at them and the 2 males was pointing some sign at me. Knn...talent indeed. Not exactly sure about your situation, but as a general guide, if we are turning into a minor road/lane from a major one, and there is NO zebra crossing mark on the road, it is always good to give way to the pedestrian in such situations. Often time they have already started to cross the road before they realised your car is turning, so best to just let them continue walking across the minor road rather than honking them and asking them to take a 180deg turn, or worse make some younger children panic by the honking. Edited September 27, 2012 by Topspin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 (edited) Not exactly sure about your situation, but as a general guide, if we are turning into a minor road/lane from a major one, and there is NO zebra crossing mark on the road, it is always good to give way to the pedestrian in such situations. Often time they have already started to cross the road before they realised your car is turning, so best to just let them continue walking across the minor road rather than honking them and asking them to take a 180deg turn, or worse make some younger children panic by the honking. The situation is, i left car park turn out and they are 5m away from me..they still jump onto the road and walk across while i am driving straight....hmmmm for all i wish ppl will treasure their life, but still there are ppl like them throw their life away....what can i say??!! Edited September 27, 2012 by Ronleech Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 OIC...next time i will simply run over them lor.... BTW...when europe side collaspe, i will sure employ an ang mo maid, ask her to mop floor everyday......to exercise my heart!!! Been there done that in down under....ask ang moh to do everything in the kitchen...clean,wash,scrap ,sweep and mop....im HOD of kitchen....haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doosan 1st Gear September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 They are not used to being treated like that in Asia. They go Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia, Vietnam, walk around like king, all the vehicles stop for them. You horning them is a big dent to their ego, you know? sori, not in bodohland. if the way they behave here and behaving similar way in bodohland, either they laid in hospital bed, or in mortury in bodohland Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johnny_Lim Neutral Newbie September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 Saw 2 idiot ang moh racing along Robinson Rd during lunch hour early this week. 1 in a red ferrari (SKA plate), the other a black lambo. Both cars were roofless & both had a passenger each. it fits the description of the 2 of the same cars i saw along marina bay area (The bridge there) last sunday, a red ferrari (SKA), Black Lambo and 1 Maserati was racing, when they saw the TP in front they jam brake so funny Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 OIC...next time i will simply run over them lor.... BTW...when europe side collaspe, i will sure employ an ang mo maid, ask her to mop floor everyday......to exercise my heart!!! I'll get a French maid and get her clean celing fan everyday. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stevel 1st Gear September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 Dunno what the race of driver has to do with it. Is it because you seldom see ang moh driving badly so you wish to highlight. To me a bad driver is a bad driver. There are enough of we Singaporeans as bad drivers, prolly more %age wise than any other on our roads. Inferiority complex. Just like how we keep telling one another "driver, not car" to stop generalisation, the race/nationality card playing should stop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 I got horn when I stopped at a Zebra crossing when I see a women at a pram at the pavement in Switzerland. Apparently, zebra crossing there doesn't mean perdistan have right of way, but its still better to be safe than sorry. You do not see I go to forum & rant about Switzerland drivers. I have seen bad drivers everywhere, & I have been driving in quite a few places, but Singapore rank by a country mile, on the fluency of bad drivers I have seen, for a first world country I have been to. If all (or most) Singapore drivers are angels on the road, then maybe the thread hold water, but anyone that is honest will know its not the case. If I have to start a thread about bad drivers in Singapore (which i bet at least half are Singaporeans), I will need to start more than 10 threads a day. Sorry, but this kind of race, ethical bashing should stop, unless the argument hold water, (say behavior is not common to Singaporeans, like not wearing a shirt when in public places). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sga54g 1st Gear September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 I'll get a French maid and get her clean celing fan everyday. Good idea! But I don't have ceiling fan... Only got 5 units of A/C! Okie, 1 for each day, wkend can rest... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 They are not used to being treated like that in Asia. They go Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia, Vietnam, walk around like king, all the vehicles stop for them. You horning them is a big dent to their ego, you know? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear September 28, 2012 Share September 28, 2012 I'll get a French maid and get her clean celing fan everyday. Why leh? French gal dun wear panty huh? I only know european gal dun like to wear bra... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianake 2nd Gear October 1, 2012 Author Share October 1, 2012 Dunno what the race of driver has to do with it. Is it because you seldom see ang moh driving badly so you wish to highlight. To me a bad driver is a bad driver. There are enough of we Singaporeans as bad drivers, prolly more %age wise than any other on our roads. yes. when i was in australia and in germany, i have not seen any ang moh who drive badly and they sledom use horn in their own country. maybe they got influenced by our sinkie style after staying too long here. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...