Joseph22 Turbocharged September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 Bro...in the 80s and 90s not many singaporean migrated overseas...but the same cant be said of now. I have many friends who migrated in the past few yrs. Their reasons maybe differrent but most dont see Singapore as it was...so they pack-off their bag and hope to lead a better life! on another note. in the 80s and 90s. not many are qualify to migrate overseas too. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 Bro...in the 80s and 90s not many singaporean migrated overseas...but the same cant be said of now. I have many friends who migrated in the past few yrs. Their reasons maybe differrent but most dont see Singapore as it was...so they pack-off their bag and hope to lead a better life! Rule of keeping Singapore alive and kicking...continue to import and then those move on vacancies can be filled. Isnt this what the churches are also following? Recruit new members to replace leaving members to keep it going. As long as the rate of import or new membership recruitment is greater than the departure rate, it is ok, given that more income will be generated and can continue to grow the pie and make sure more ppl are attracted to Singapore to invest. maybe when the 3 mil walk out, and the rest are all foreigners, u see that this country is nothing but an empty shell... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 on another note. in the 80s and 90s. not many are qualify to migrate overseas too. not true lei! most of my classmates who were Malaysian have migrated to Aussieland, UK and USA. But of course they were well-off to start with and studied till Uni (overseas). Maybe Singaporeans were contented back then but now many are becoming dissillusioned with all he goalpost shifting and nonsence spouting! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 Rule of keeping Singapore alive and kicking...continue to import and then those move on vacancies can be filled. Isnt this what the churches are also following? Recruit new members to replace leaving members to keep it going. As long as the rate of import or new membership recruitment is greater than the departure rate, it is ok, given that more income will be generated and can continue to grow the pie and make sure more ppl are attracted to Singapore to invest. maybe when the 3 mil walk out, and the rest are all foreigners, u see that this country is nothing but an empty shell... dont go there lar bro! but yes Sg is becoming an empty shell devoid of camaraderie amongst its citizens. Maybe when we lea SG for good we will then have a few good words to say about it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiger1 6th Gear September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 U shld still respect this man no matter what and no matter how much you dislike the current situation. I used to..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 dont go there lar bro! but yes Sg is becoming an empty shell devoid of camaraderie amongst its citizens. Maybe when we lea SG for good we will then have a few good words to say about it. Not targeting at churches but jus making a comparison and this is what is happening. Yes, as more and more imports, if there is no effort to integrate, we will be back to the early days of Singapore where there is a need to manage the 4 major races carefully but in the current context, it is Foreign Chinese, Foreign Others(Indians/Indon/Filipina/Myannmar), Ang Mohs and local born Singaporeans. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Creativeshoot Neutral Newbie September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 Then construction site those bangla also consider foreigner worker? yup... super low end. but they not here just work foreign worker. they go thru a sponsor evil programme to reach malaysia and other city thru singapore after a while here.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 (edited) Think PM mentioned that they are aware of this matter and he compare it to Singaporeans. Even if PR convert Singaporean, does it mean they wont? Also, Singaporeans are doing it themselves. So since both are doing, why bother who does it as long as I have cows to work for me? But..what percentage of Singaporean are doing this? and what percentage of foriegners are doing this? probably a couple of % vs 90+%?? unless majority of Singaporean are doing it, i find this arguement invalid leh. JMO. Edited September 27, 2012 by Baphomet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 I used to..... Good, continue to and remember his earlier contributions as well as those who supported him to make Singapore successful.... He is already a past for us to remember and respect, we should not write off everything that was done jus bcos of what we are facing today. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Creativeshoot Neutral Newbie September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 (edited) btw now then i realise PRs can be mata... always thought SPF, like SAF, RSAF and Navy, only accepts citizens nope... cisco take in from private( no idea one) to lcp, cpl, to 3sg...etc.. i dunno atos, but i heard they same....and they got news..on newspaper.. shoot themselves ,suicide ,on temple region at 6pm...due to own stress.... low iq, and eq, so u better don't stress them. Edited September 27, 2012 by Creativeshoot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 (edited) But..what percentage of Singaporean are doing this? and what percentage of foriegners are doing this? probably a couple of % vs 90+%?? unless majority of Singaporean are doing it, i find this arguement invalid leh. JMO. That was in my mind when he mentioned it...but it is more of a sweeping statement and will not be material given that both sides are doing it why penalize which group does it more or less...typical govt reply would be...as long as we continue to keep up our efforts in retaining them, this is the best we can do, ultimately, our doors are always open to anyone who wish to be part of the making of future Singapore... Edited September 27, 2012 by Cars08 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Creativeshoot Neutral Newbie September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 Bro...in the 80s and 90s not many singaporean migrated overseas...but the same cant be said of now. I have many friends who migrated in the past few yrs. Their reasons maybe differrent but most dont see Singapore as it was...so they pack-off their bag and hope to lead a better life! so true.. if now situation, then u pay gst already...haha..still got make money la....dun liddat la.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Creativeshoot Neutral Newbie September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 yes!!!! we need more FT......more people!!! especially pretty ATBs with fresh cheesepies...fill my neighborhoots with more fresh ATBs....current ones are abit stale ..... instead of flying up to ATB land monthly, hunting locally would be a cost savings..... Lao Lee looks like a china male doll dressed like that....so nice!!!! cannot tahan ur post...i got stomache ache...also feel like the stomache jamm tio... cannot release liao.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 (edited) That was in my mind when he mentioned it...but it is more of a sweeping statement and will not be material given that both sides are doing it why penalize which group does it more or less...typical govt reply would be...as long as we continue to keep up our efforts in retaining them, this is the best we can do, ultimately, our doors are always open to anyone who wish to be part of the making of future Singapore... During election promise you everything. After election twist their words again. Near election promise again.. The same cycle continues. PAP will never change. Im amazed at the FAITH shown by their supporters. It really takes great FAITH to do what they did every election. More good years ahead! Edited September 27, 2012 by Baphomet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 More good years ahead! For better or worse till death do us apart... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 luckily most of the foriegners do not want to become citizens..Ive asked all my foreign staffs/friends. the ones from China, India, Bangladesh and Philippines all said no to Singapore Citizenship. Only those Chinese malaysians wanted to get Singapore citizenship. lucky? these are the smart ones that brings sing dollar back to their own country... look at china, now their currency is stronger than hk, ever wonder y? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zze121 3rd Gear September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 Looks like sg is going on not a fast track but a express track on full speed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brendon1980 Neutral Newbie September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 I am just curious what will happen in the coming future? 10years time when india and china labour become too expensive then we source from Africa, after which another 10years passed, we source from where? Face the fact, when place infront of employers, is it the renumeration package numbers more important or with real expertise more important? If expertise is really more important, then ask ourselves if our education or training or upgrading is useless isnt it? Cost is the potential issue. So in long run, as the salary keeps on maintaining at a sluggish pace, what will eventually happen? Inflation? With the increasing housing prices, who is the last in line that can finally afford? Or rather who is the fool to take the last queue number and when that happens what are we expecting? I am just curious at how our garment foresee the future and what kind of long term planning we have. At the rate we are going, soon we will meet an abyss of uncertainty. I really cannot see 30years down the road, is the garment going to send all this foreign import back? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...