Import dogs

Heavenspirit

yeah la..he dun no about dogs la.....confused hahaha...bull bog is ugly dog leh

bull terrier or pit bull terrier is different,,,,,i wish i own one haha

No such thing as a bad dog but bad owners.

I'm always curious about why some people must have a certain breed, like you must have it, you cannot have another dog with bit more fur, or less fur. There are thousands of disowned dogs in Singapore every day, both pedigree and cross breeds. They need a lot of love too. It's not like when you bear children, you can choose how they look or behave.

Wise words. Unfortunately ppl like cute dogs to make up for their lack of personality.

I hope u all adopt and not add to the problem of our already over flowing kennels.

Do the right thing adopt a life they make great pet especially mongrels. Regardless of shape and size they are hardier and like some one pointed out they are local talents.

Do also note it's a dogs life time of care. Not cause u got up one day and decided u like a particular breed. Pedigree dogs tend to come with a lot of health problems due to poor breeding.

Pls choose a dog for the rite reason. I know a guy who wante a big fierce dog. But strongly suspect it's to make up for his small..... Cause he returned the sweet mongrel cause it was not aggressive.

If u need help adopting I can help u. Pm if u keen.

My humble addenda to the above.

Pls stop by your local Nlb branch, read up ALL or at least attempt to.

Then head out to the commercial stores to read up.

Then curl up and read the Internet.

Then find out our AVA policy re Canis familiaris, dog bite etc.

Then check out nearest pet food store. Kibble, otic care, eye care, toothpaste, rawhide, heart worm meds, flea and tick, dog crate.

Then check out your nearest vet

Then check out your budget. vets need to eat too. They don't like kibble much. I tried.

Vets are your best resource. They appear to love your dog more than you. Haha

And how much you can afford on training

In short, know what you are doing really well.

You do know how to drive ya? Scary if you roll onto the road agar agar yes?

So big fierce dog for small dudes, and small cute dogs for big man?

I could not resist it. Hahaha.

How about dudes with lots of dogs???????

Cheers!

I hope u all adopt and not add to the problem of our already over flowing kennels.

Do the right thing adopt a life they make great pet especially mongrels. Regardless of shape and size they are hardier and like some one pointed out they are local talents.

Do also note it's a dogs life time of care. Not cause u got up one day and decided u like a particular breed. Pedigree dogs tend to come with a lot of health problems due to poor breeding.

Pls choose a dog for the rite reason. I know a guy who wante a big fierce dog. But strongly suspect it's to make up for his small..... Cause he returned the sweet mongrel cause it was not aggressive.

If u need help adopting I can help u. Pm if u keen.

I dont mind adopting, but must have liking for the dogs, pm me if u hv pug or bulldogs.

Buy or adopt. We should 1st make sure we read about pros and cons of various breed, join a dog club or forum, are ready for a long term commitment and train the dog. Some just read about the good and ignore the bad (most books or website often focus more of the goods and mention very little about the bad). I often come across the true reasons for people giving up their dogs are the fact that they didn't know the dog can be destructive (furniture, wires, remote controls, doors, wall, etc destroyed) if not train and dealt with properly, or the fact that their house will be constantly dirty (dirtier eg. fur, drool, sperm, etc on floor before they have dogs) despite regular grooming and cleaning of the house, etc.

My family and myself have been importing and adopting dogs since the '70s (my father started importing his own dogs since the '60s) and we had great moments but also all sort of problems. Some of the more mature dogs (show dogs that passed their prime or diagnosed to be unfit for breeding) we imported or adopted had long term medical problem that required a lot of time and effort to keep the medical condition in control. Some of them have behavioural problems that need plenty of time to be trained and rehab. So you will either need to have plenty of time and know how to deal with the problem (I had loads of time cos I was still a boy then) or let the professional do the job which require lots of money. Some of those we adopted had hereditary problems or serious medical conditions (which was not apparently before we adopt) that require expensive operations or treatment....which do not guarantee success. Some of the trickier conditions were tick fever, cancer, etc...cost of treatment may run into as little as a few thousands to tens of thousands (and dogs may still ended up dead after that). So it can be stressful to manage our time (to send dogs for regular treatment), money and emotions.

Importing dog from good breeders tho may be safer but also does not mean problem free. There will still be a chance that, despite all the DNA test, test on parents' condition and genetic linkage, etc, the puppy may still have medical conditions. Of course, most breeder, will often to take the pup back and refund the money (exact amount, etc...depends largely of the kennel contract), but will most of us do that? Not for me. Some of the better breeders (if they haven't already know you) will require your family and you to fly to their kennel at least once (most will want to meet a few more times) so they can get to know you better before they will consider selling any puppy to you. Then there is the long wait (6 months to 3 years) cos the better breeders do not breed unless they need to improve on their stock. Looking for a right stud or bitch may take a long time cos of the need to travel (sometime across continent), etc....

Edited by Silver_blade

We lost an adopted dog (from SOSD) thru illness 1.5 years ago liao ...

Recently wifey wants to get another dog... and so we went to adoption drive at Pasir Ris farmway last weekend ... and we also went to see some puppies for sale ...

We are looking at Labrador or Schnauzer ...

Considering whether to buy one (above) or adopting another dog from SOSD, ASD, VFA, etc ..

Would like to hear opinions from Bros here on choice to make like adoption or buyin ...

And if there is any info on breeders (on Labrador / Schnauzer), can also let me know the company name ...

Recently wifey wants to get another dog... and so we went to adoption drive at Pasir Ris farmway last weekend ... and we also went to see some puppies for sale ...

Considering whether to buy one (above) or adopting another dog from SOSD, ASD, VFA, etc ..

Would like to hear opinions from Bros here on choice to make like adoption or buyin ...

And if there is any info on breeders (on Labrador / Schnauzer), can also let me know the company name ...

Either adopt or go overseas breeders. Sg breeders I dun trust

Recently wifey wants to get another dog... and so we went to adoption drive at Pasir Ris farmway last weekend ... and we also went to see some puppies for sale ...

Would like to hear opinions from Bros here on choice to make like adoption or buyin ...

Bro, I don't have dogs but I have cats.

I would always advise one to adopt.

1) You save a life.

2) you give the pound a chance to take in another stray.

3) Mongrels are hardy vs most of the pure breed - only the strongest DNAs get passed down in mongrels while most pure breeds have some form of genetic weakness.

4) Mongrels are just as adorable - not just in appearance but also in character. The thing is to find a suitable one. Once you find one, the connection is priceless.

5) All dogs will give you back 101% love, regardless if it is mongrel or pure breed.

6) when you adopt from the pound, the volunteers there will be able to give you a brief of the dog's behavior and character. From there, you can make a more informed decision.

You are once a dog owner. I am sure you know the love from an adopted one or a bought one is all the same. [bounce2]

If at the end of the day you still want a pure breed, there are also many pure breeds in the pounds waiting for a chance to be part of a loving family.

Buying a dog costs you maybe $1k. Why not use this $1k on an adopted dog's vet fees, and food? Or donate it to the pound?

My cats are all adopted. All are long kang cats except for one pure breed who unfortunately left us after 13 sweet years. Never once regretted bringing them back home.

i adopted my golden retriever thru' someone whom wanted to give him up; He was 6-7 months then and now he is 41/2 years old and is happy and healthy;

SPCA has a website and you just have to pay a small minimal amount; the popular ones are taken up very fast, the larger and older ones are slow to go, many a times you can find "atas" dogs there too; Of course there are many other NGO animal websites. You have to make and take the time; It took me almost 3 months

Adoption is better than buying but have to be careful, many are quite traumatised due to the many or sudden change in enviroment; Mine refused to even go out of the house initially for 1 week plus and now jumps for joy at the minute i tell him we are  " go walk walk"

Surprisingly mine had ticks and so many issues;  BTW mine was not from SPCA but someone whom wanted to give him up;

Have patience and trawl the internet, you may find many people wanting to give dogs to good homes.  

Thanks for the advices Bros :)

Will look around somemore ... as there are quite a few donation drives now, esp in Dec period ...

The time will come when we look at the eyes of the dog, and know that this is the dog, this is the love connection ... then we will have the dog :))

Me too adopted a pure bred large golden retriever when he was 1.5 years old. He is now 13 years old and as playful and as adorable as the day me and my daughter brought him home. His owners had to give him up as they were moving into HDB. I was happy to give him a chance to live as I have a garden. He has repaid many times with his affection and antics to me and my whole extended family. 

Be prepared for life with a dog. It takes effort and money to be a responsible dog owner for the next dozen years or so. You have to brush the coat, bring for walk rain or shine, bring to vet for vaccination. Every time my dog goes to vet, the bill is $100+ as there is no medisave nor subsidies for pets. 

Food is $100 a month on kibbles and canned food. Strictly no human food to preserve teeth and skin health. And no matter how well you feed the dog, they will still smell as they age.

Lastly be prepare to pick up warm dog poo on the walks. It is the responsible thing to do as a dog owner. 

If you have kids, they will grow up loving and respecting animals with a dog in the house. Your job gets easier if the kids take turns to walk, brush and clean up after the dog. 

In the dog, you have a friend for life. And no matter how bad your day, the dog will welcome you home with a wag, a happy face and a lick.  

Me too adopted a pure bred large golden retriever when he was 1.5 years old. He is now 13 years old and as playful and as adorable as the day me and my daughter brought him home. His owners had to give him up as they were moving into HDB. I was happy to give him a chance to live as I have a garden. He has repaid many times with his affection and antics to me and my whole extended family. 

Be prepared for life with a dog. It takes effort and money to be a responsible dog owner for the next dozen years or so. You have to brush the coat, bring for walk rain or shine, bring to vet for vaccination. Every time my dog goes to vet, the bill is $100+ as there is no medisave nor subsidies for pets. 

Food is $100 a month on kibbles and canned food. Strictly no human food to preserve teeth and skin health. And no matter how well you feed the dog, they will still smell as they age.

Lastly be prepare to pick up warm dog poo on the walks. It is the responsible thing to do as a dog owner. 

If you have kids, they will grow up loving and respecting animals with a dog in the house. Your job gets easier if the kids take turns to walk, brush and clean up after the dog. 

In the dog, you have a friend for life. And no matter how bad your day, the dog will welcome you home with a wag, a happy face and a lick.  

Good one bro. Good inputs.  My dog bills used to be coming above $300-$400 initially due to a barrage of blood tests. As he was not well cared by the previous owner and he had high urea content ; so i had to send him for at least 4 blood tests  every month just to monitor his urea level which was like 2-3 times the normal high level. I was worried he might have kidney issues and was full of ticks

Food wise: actually we practise like 50-50% kibbles and balance in home cooked food like fruits, veg and some seeds. Nowadays we hear a lot about cancer and all those kind of things

Anyway happy to hear that your Goldie is 13 years (which is like 91 years in simple human years) Keep it up ... you did a good deed by adopting.

Puppy mills are realy a cruel lot , though I may be wrong, somehow heard only negative and horrendous things like how the poor bitch is made to do nothing but deliver her whole life...... its really cruel to the fullest     

I have 3 dogs, all adopted.

I do my part in weeding out demand for the dog mills and at the same time give each dog and my self another chance.

All I can say is I believe I got the better deal.

Please give adoption a chance.

sorry.. word of caution for guys who may want to adopt dogs...  please dont adopt an older dog as your first dog...  

tho its cruel to say this.. you may not have experience to take care of one...  

Adoption is of cus the most humane option for seasoned dog owners.. but its really not for everyone...

Good one bro. Good inputs.  My dog bills used to be coming above $300-$400 initially due to a barrage of blood tests. As he was not well cared by the previous owner and he had high urea content ; so i had to send him for at least 4 blood tests  every month just to monitor his urea level which was like 2-3 times the normal high level. I was worried he might have kidney issues and was full of ticks

Food wise: actually we practise like 50-50% kibbles and balance in home cooked food like fruits, veg and some seeds. Nowadays we hear a lot about cancer and all those kind of things

Anyway happy to hear that your Goldie is 13 years (which is like 91 years in simple human years) Keep it up ... you did a good deed by adopting.

Puppy mills are realy a cruel lot , though I may be wrong, somehow heard only negative and horrendous things like how the poor bitch is made to do nothing but deliver her whole life...... its really cruel to the fullest     

ya.. and one more thing.. i hate it when they always breed the dog in ''season'' 

last time so many schnauzer... then poodle..  now jap spitz..

i really pity the bitches...  cannot recover the body enough kenna forced to mate again..