Hamburger Hypersonic September 25, 2012 Share September 25, 2012 On 9/25/2012 at 8:03 AM, Hjteo said: Hi Hamburger, Is the price very reasonable? Don't want to go Thong Sia again for my old Kinetic. should be below 60. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged September 25, 2012 Share September 25, 2012 Unker Doosan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged September 25, 2012 Share September 25, 2012 Mechanical watch must wear to keep it running else problem will start to crop up. I have 2 Seiko automatic and I wear both everyday Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doosan 1st Gear September 25, 2012 Share September 25, 2012 On 9/25/2012 at 8:28 AM, Count-Bracula said: Mechanical watch must wear to keep it running else problem will start to crop up. I have 2 Seiko automatic and I wear both everyday halo dee dee...... u mean u put them on both hands yar [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Racing Clutched September 25, 2012 Share September 25, 2012 Any 1 been to thong sai n saw those beautiful wall clock ? He sell them or not ? V exp 300-900 each. If he sell cheaper, I dun mind buying. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tangrol Neutral Newbie September 25, 2012 Share September 25, 2012 Actually how much will normal servicing of seiko cost? Bought a mechanical seiko for my dad in hk and he told me the watch is running too fast Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doosan 1st Gear September 25, 2012 Share September 25, 2012 On 9/25/2012 at 2:05 PM, Tangrol said: Actually how much will normal servicing of seiko cost? Bought a mechanical seiko for my dad in hk and he told me the watch is running too fast the famous "san_zhai" brand tat tiongkok is expert abt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackmore 1st Gear September 25, 2012 Share September 25, 2012 On 9/25/2012 at 2:05 PM, Tangrol said: Actually how much will normal servicing of seiko cost? Bought a mechanical seiko for my dad in hk and he told me the watch is running too fast It should be in the region of 100 plus with parts base on last month servicing , so far my experience with Thong Sia has been positive for my 2 Seikos the past 8 yrs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched September 25, 2012 Share September 25, 2012 On 9/25/2012 at 2:05 PM, Tangrol said: Actually how much will normal servicing of seiko cost? Bought a mechanical seiko for my dad in hk and he told me the watch is running too fast I tuned my automatic seiko5 watch as it was running abit slow over time (3yrs?). I bought a tool to open the watch case, and saw there's a lever inside with a "+" and "-" sign. It's very very small sign and thats why these watch repairers have the mini magnifying glass attached to their eye to see these parts. I turned the lever towards the "+" and guess what - the watch ran super fast. within 1hr, it was faster by 5-10mins. Then I realised being just 5mins faster per day is also bad. So have to keep on tuning until it's like 1min faster per week. But then it's ok cos most of the time I don't wear this watch much on the weekend so it slows down abit and its just perfect nowadays. I finally managed to tune it exactly to what I needed after about 5-6 times opening/closing the watch case. There's alot of trial and error in this tuning and so if you send you automatic watch over, I think most old timer watch repairer would tune it and wear it over the next 1-2 days so that it mimics actual usage/winding and continue to adjust. Maybe modern professionals would use a watch winder. Enjoy your automatic/mechanical watch! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Billcoke 2nd Gear September 25, 2012 Share September 25, 2012 On 9/22/2012 at 3:39 AM, Fcw75 said: Sent my Seiko Kinetic Auto Relay Titanium for repair at Thong Sia. No problem after repair. Been wearing this watch for 11 years liao. Mine is also Auto Relay, what happened to your watch? How how did your Auto-Replay last before it needs repair? and how much was the repair cost? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic September 25, 2012 Share September 25, 2012 On 9/25/2012 at 7:29 PM, Billcoke said: Mine is also Auto Relay, what happened to your watch? How how did your Auto-Replay last before it needs repair? and how much was the repair cost? The second hand jump 2 secs at a time. Wore it for abt 6 years before send in for repair. The capacitor was spoilt so had to replace it. No battery to replace but had to replace the capacitor...LPPL. I think it's about $150 man! But I still love the watch la. Bought this watch when the govt give GST rebate or something in 2001. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timmz2000 Neutral Newbie June 16, 2015 Share June 16, 2015 Any recommendation for the watchface glass repairs and polish? Hit a hard corner and got a deep scratch. Thanks in advance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunny Hypersonic June 16, 2015 Share June 16, 2015 On 6/16/2015 at 1:17 AM, Timmz2000 said: Timmz2000, on 16 Jun 2015 - 09:17 AM, said: Any recommendation for the watchface glass repairs and polish? Hit a hard corner and got a deep scratch. Thanks in advance. 1) thongsia for parts change with originals 2) K2 (Mr Goh) for servicing/repair 3) others - let other bros recommend 4) none of above, leave it as it is 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic July 26, 2015 Share July 26, 2015 (edited) On 9/25/2012 at 5:20 PM, Kianbeng said: I tuned my automatic seiko5 watch as it was running abit slow over time (3yrs?). I bought a tool to open the watch case, and saw there's a lever inside with a "+" and "-" sign. It's very very small sign and thats why these watch repairers have the mini magnifying glass attached to their eye to see these parts. I turned the lever towards the "+" and guess what - the watch ran super fast. within 1hr, it was faster by 5-10mins. Then I realised being just 5mins faster per day is also bad. So have to keep on tuning until it's like 1min faster per week. But then it's ok cos most of the time I don't wear this watch much on the weekend so it slows down abit and its just perfect nowadays. I finally managed to tune it exactly to what I needed after about 5-6 times opening/closing the watch case. There's alot of trial and error in this tuning and so if you send you automatic watch over, I think most old timer watch repairer would tune it and wear it over the next 1-2 days so that it mimics actual usage/winding and continue to adjust. Maybe modern professionals would use a watch winder. Enjoy your automatic/mechanical watch! Yes thats what i do with my Vintage seikos. The trick is to record how much slower/faster and then take note how much you push the lever. Depending on the movement 1mm shift is about 2-3mins. Then just adjust accordingly Seikos are very hardy, inexpensive and fun to play with. Handling all those vintage Seikos i had before really gave me much confidence and Practical knowledge in automatic movements. Edited July 26, 2015 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged July 26, 2015 Share July 26, 2015 I changed my Seiko diver watch glass at agent. Cheap cheap. I think s$50. I bought my watch from a parallel shop. Agent (seiko) never even question me abt the source of the watch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged July 26, 2015 Share July 26, 2015 Did not know got this Seiko thread. Any bro here got a SARB 035? Where you buy from and how much? I was quoted S$765 at a Seiko shop. CO said she'll buy for me a Grand Seiko but I said no. So expensive! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear July 26, 2015 Share July 26, 2015 On 7/26/2015 at 10:20 AM, Count-Bracula said: Did not know got this Seiko thread. Any bro here got a SARB 035? Where you buy from and how much? I was quoted S$765 at a Seiko shop. CO said she'll buy for me a Grand Seiko but I said no. So expensive! $765 is steep. Can get from skywatches at $418 only. You can either buy online or visit their shop at people's park. http://www.skywatches.com.sg/reviews/seiko-automatic-watch-sarb035-sarb035j.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wildfaye29 Turbocharged July 26, 2015 Share July 26, 2015 Ahh, Seiko, my first atas watch. http://blog.goo.ne.jp/ryuichishimizu/e/513534569d6919e3e32fec7d554234ee This was a bday present $650 in year 2000. I have used it daily for 15 years! Been to Thongsia 2x for batt chg and servicing. About $100 each time. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...