Ericongy 3rd Gear September 20, 2012 Share September 20, 2012 i have been dragging my car for the last one month because the handbrake cable spoil... i went to the ws in the caltax station in sembawang to check it out. they very helpful, remove both my car's rear wheel n check, they say no prob so i drove off... few hours latter, i park my car and pull handbrake...knn, got stuck again.... went to amk workshop n after checking n checking... they say must be handbrake cable spoil liao... now the problem is they dun have the handbrake cable in stock cause they never encounter such problem before... so i call n ask a few ws and stockist, they also say no stock.... my friend, who is working in one of the honda stockist and agree to find for me.... for now LL cannot pull handbrake... cannot park at slope.... anyone here experience "handbrake cable spoil" before? how come this problem will surface? i use my handbrake too often or what? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic September 20, 2012 Share September 20, 2012 If you park on a slope just put the car in gear point the wheels away from the curb and put a brick under each wheel if you need to! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged September 20, 2012 Share September 20, 2012 If you park on a slope just put the car in gear point the wheels away from the curb and put a brick under each wheel if you need to! Best is to park on level ground, totally no slope. Then put car into gear. Put brick is good idea but what if the brick slip off? Remember the rubber slip off case? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermit 1st Gear September 20, 2012 Share September 20, 2012 For some auto tranny cars, the inigtion key cannot pull out if gear is engaged. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear September 20, 2012 Share September 20, 2012 No I have not encountered handbrake cable spoil. But encountered metal plate for linkages below chassis partially torn off. Du to over putting of handbrake lever. Just RM$30 for bending and welding solved the problem. I think besides gearlock and turning wheels, and avoid steepslopes, there isn't much you can do, until the parts arrive. Keep a wooden choke with you, just in case. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic September 20, 2012 Share September 20, 2012 Best is to park on level ground, totally no slope. Then put car into gear. Put brick is good idea but what if the brick slip off? Remember the rubber slip off case? These days I wear 2 with tiger balm in between. Then wait for either the wife or me to scream first! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivanpaseo 2nd Gear September 20, 2012 Share September 20, 2012 Try get from scrapyard??? If not remove the brake cable, drip oil into the brake cable till it flow from end to end... Than see if the cable still stuck or not. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...