JaydenSTI 1st Gear September 18, 2012 Share September 18, 2012 political warfare is part and parcel of work life, i had tried my best to avoid it during my first 10 years of work, and to certain extend, it hinder career advancement...... as you progress through your career, you need certain "combat skill" to just stay "alive", not to mention progress further..... by the way, if you are one outstanding performer in your organization, you will definitely being included in others political planning, without doubt. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged September 18, 2012 Author Share September 18, 2012 political warfare is part and parcel of work life, i had tried my best to avoid it during my first 10 years of work, and to certain extend, it hinder career advancement...... as you progress through your career, you need certain "combat skill" to just stay "alive", not to mention progress further..... by the way, if you are one outstanding performer in your organization, you will definitely being included in others political planning, without doubt. can ... but my only motto is dont carry balls .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear September 18, 2012 Share September 18, 2012 bring your ideas to your competitor and join your competitor??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged September 18, 2012 Share September 18, 2012 (edited) What is done cannot be undone. Now can only hope such thing will not happen again in future. Have a chat with your boss and tell you how you feel about the whole incident and see what your boss has to say. No need to get too defensive or to point fingers. Let your boss deal with it from here. Hopefully your boss will be more careful the next time he share such info with anyone. Edited September 18, 2012 by Silver_blade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic September 18, 2012 Share September 18, 2012 (edited) You want payback? Tell your boss you will be joining the rival company, bringing your ideas & contacts with you. Of course dun make the same mistake by telling him so early lah. Wait till you are working at the rival company and steal all his customers...dan you tell him. Edited September 18, 2012 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic September 18, 2012 Share September 18, 2012 Greenday once said Nice guys finish last, you're runnin' out of gas Your sympathy will get you left behind Sometimes you're at your best, when you feel the worst Do you feel washed up like piss going down the drain? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged September 18, 2012 Author Share September 18, 2012 You want payback? Tell your boss you will be joining the rival company, bringing your ideas & contacts with you. Of course dun make the same mistake by telling him so early lah. Wait till you are working at the rival company and steal all his customers...dan you tell him. haha ... you know, it always sounds tempting, but not really in my personality lah. ill see how to deal with it, im sure ill figure out some way to at least come out on top ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryu 5th Gear September 18, 2012 Share September 18, 2012 what would you do if the following scenario happened to you: -come up with an idea that will help the customer -feedback to the higher up for quite some time (about 14 emails to show the though process, justifications and sources) -boss asks colleague X for a second opinion to make sure the idea is sound -within a few minutes colleague X has emailed customer the entire idea and has started a dialogue directly with them -receive an apology from higher up, since it's too late to interject at this junction if you were me, would you let it go? (and yes, this just happened recently) so far, i've simply chosen to hold my tongue so at least if the deal materializes, everyone benefits. the truth is, i would have been fine if the boss had run with the idea, but not the colleague, since the guy never has anything good to say ... ever. i would love to jump into the thread midway since i can better explain the idea, but it seems the driver's seat is already taken ... On the positive side, your boss knows the idea originated from you. And he had already apologized so i wouldn't push things any further and make it ugly. Most importantly is your boss recognize your idea and effort. So take it in stride, let your colleague do all the legwork, due credit is still yours. If your boss is wise, this episode only serve to show the negatives of your colleague thus making you look better when you take a step back. Going forward, be more wary of your colleague in the future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged September 18, 2012 Author Share September 18, 2012 On the positive side, your boss knows the idea originated from you. And he had already apologized so i wouldn't push things any further and make it ugly. Most importantly is your boss recognize your idea and effort. So take it in stride, let your colleague do all the legwork, due credit is still yours. If your boss is wise, this episode only serve to show the negatives of your colleague thus making you look better when you take a step back. Going forward, be more wary of your colleague in the future. makes total sense brother! moving forward, see how it works out. if it fails, the guy has himself to blame cos i wasnt ready to take it to customer. if successful, just remind them i suppose. but got to be objective and not petty, otherwise itll probably eat at me :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JaydenSTI 1st Gear September 18, 2012 Share September 18, 2012 can ... but my only motto is dont carry balls .. you will notice that balls carrier move faster, LOL!!! drop equally fast if not any faster!!! self-protecting is the key, at least to me...... im bit selfish, i dun share idea until it ripe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic September 18, 2012 Share September 18, 2012 makes total sense brother! moving forward, see how it works out. if it fails, the guy has himself to blame cos i wasnt ready to take it to customer. if successful, just remind them i suppose. but got to be objective and not petty, otherwise itll probably eat at me :P Take the moral high ground and dont stir s--t. but let the boss know you're not happy and that the colleague's behavior is not acceptable. your boss should know what to do Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic September 18, 2012 Share September 18, 2012 what would you do if the following scenario happened to you: -come up with an idea that will help the customer -feedback to the higher up for quite some time (about 14 emails to show the though process, justifications and sources) -boss asks colleague X for a second opinion to make sure the idea is sound -within a few minutes colleague X has emailed customer the entire idea and has started a dialogue directly with them -receive an apology from higher up, since it's too late to interject at this junction if you were me, would you let it go? (and yes, this just happened recently) so far, i've simply chosen to hold my tongue so at least if the deal materializes, everyone benefits. the truth is, i would have been fine if the boss had run with the idea, but not the colleague, since the guy never has anything good to say ... ever. i would love to jump into the thread midway since i can better explain the idea, but it seems the driver's seat is already taken ... learn what the past 'master' do.... never teach all your skill to the diciples (to you maybe reveal all the processes), keep some for security sake.... if that someone highjack your proposal, then any hickups, let him solve the problem ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear September 18, 2012 Share September 18, 2012 what would you do if the following scenario happened to you: -come up with an idea that will help the customer -feedback to the higher up for quite some time (about 14 emails to show the though process, justifications and sources) -boss asks colleague X for a second opinion to make sure the idea is sound -within a few minutes colleague X has emailed customer the entire idea and has started a dialogue directly with them -receive an apology from higher up, since it's too late to interject at this junction if you were me, would you let it go? (and yes, this just happened recently) so far, i've simply chosen to hold my tongue so at least if the deal materializes, everyone benefits. the truth is, i would have been fine if the boss had run with the idea, but not the colleague, since the guy never has anything good to say ... ever. i would love to jump into the thread midway since i can better explain the idea, but it seems the driver's seat is already taken ... let it go lah.... at least he knows its your idea and someone stole it.... good enuff... i'm sure your boss know what to do during appraisal time.. and if he is the steady type, he will know what type of person you colleague is now.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear September 18, 2012 Share September 18, 2012 (edited) makes total sense brother! moving forward, see how it works out. if it fails, the guy has himself to blame cos i wasnt ready to take it to customer. if successful, just remind them i suppose. but got to be objective and not petty, otherwise itll probably eat at me :P Yup his advice makes perfect sense. Going forward, you should plot to remove this colleague of yours. He already revealed himself to be a threat and should be cut off totally. It is your ass or his, ok? Such is life. Edited September 18, 2012 by Viceroymenthol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear September 18, 2012 Share September 18, 2012 can ... but my only motto is dont carry balls .. One day it will be a great feeling to say, "I made it big without carrying a single ball," while spitting at all those ball-carriers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged September 18, 2012 Share September 18, 2012 To me, that the boss knows who should get the credit is already a given, so it should not be the final reason not to do anything further. If communication with client is still at the early stage, I think it might be good to ask that the boss official designate that you 'take over' from now. If that is done, then quickly mail the client and also identify yourself as the originator and 'thank' your colleague for starting the ball rolling. That way you still get to run with it plus not air the dirty linen to the client. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged September 18, 2012 Share September 18, 2012 This colleague who stole the idea? Any gf? Chio? If yes... Then why dun make the gf pay for his misdeeds? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged September 18, 2012 Author Share September 18, 2012 To me, that the boss knows who should get the credit is already a given, so it should not be the final reason not to do anything further. If communication with client is still at the early stage, I think it might be good to ask that the boss official designate that you 'take over' from now. If that is done, then quickly mail the client and also identify yourself as the originator and 'thank' your colleague for starting the ball rolling. That way you still get to run with it plus not air the dirty linen to the client. ai seh .. a lot of bros here with good advice looks like i joined the right forum. i think more than anything else ... talking about it made me much better. i think i'll let him figure out the logistics and see if he can handle it. at least i can gauge him better. let him steal the deal. if he can perform, i know i need to be extra careful. if he fail to perform, well, they will have to ask me to take over loh ... [laughs] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...