PRCs go nuts over Fishing Islands

Ahtong

Your last point is correct. We should help them to develop. We should defend our racial group against eg. US.

No one is defending anyone. I am merely talking with sensibility and sense. The idea of a pro motherland concept is rubbish.

Maybe when ww2 started our forefathers here contributed money to the chinese cause back in china to ward off the japanese but that was because so many had family there. Now our family is here.

Heck in the way we speak think and react we are more similar to others than them anymore.

Up to you, as long as not Chinese. We are talking racial group not nationalities. Thank you

Which is exactly why you dont make sense.

Just because one black guy in africa dies doesnt mean all the african americans are involved. Likewise, the only way in which this matter can affect us is in terms of regional stability.

Im sorry just because they're chinese doesnt mean we should support or help them. My true brother is that who has served his 2 years with me.

What are you talking and stick to the context leh as I have said. What ancestry, what motherland, what dictionary, what kid game ? Don't go around and round. I know we are all Singaporeans but I am a Chinese by race. You don't have a race or you so call yourself " Singapore Race" which there isn't any. Like I have said Singaporean is a Nationality.

Everyone sure have a race and it is stated in your NRIC and that got nothing to with your dictionary. SIR verify your race on your NRIC and not the dictionary. Under the race column in your NRIC, SIR do not put "Singapore race" or Singaporean. They put what it is suppose to be, a chinese. I say again, go see your NRIC and see what is your race in the race column. Stop giving stupid reasons becos it shows clearly your level of understanding which I should not embroil myself in. [dizzy] Bye...

Err... we are all of the HUMAN race .... so why fight each other?

Taking up yor logic: Chinese in China are all Chinese nationals ... and chinese by race ..

But that hasn't stop them for looting their own people who runs a japanese restaurant (just place selling japaese cuisine), beating one of their own silly for driving a japanese car or rendering some of their own jobless by buying down a japanese car maker's factory .... :o

So while I do not agree with you logic, I also do not wish to challenge your freedom of thought and belief.So there's no need for you to reply nor retorty:

To me: that line of logic is so thin that it borders on irrationality. And frankly, while my IC states my RACE is chinese, that certainly holds no connection to Chinese nationals for me. My IC also states my sex is male .... but I don't think that means I must stand on the side of all males in any contest with females.

Edited by Scoots

Is up to you. Well this is your thinking I will not say wrong but I disagree.

Likewise you are not wrong for having your own opinion but please dont propagate that idea that as chinese we have an obligation to help or support the prcs for being merely chinese.

Well China indeed need to fight for the country destiny. If the island lose to Japan, China will be in trouble, China will be lockup. That is why we need to support China.

Edited by Calford

Well China indeed need to fight for the country destiny. If the island lose to Japan, China will be in trouble, China will be lockup. That is why we need to support China.

Last I checked. My IC also states my COUNTRY OF BIRTH is Singapore ... think you guys are really confused [laugh]

Edited by Scoots

We should advice Cerano to change his race. Otherwise one day he will betray us.

Calford, I find you a bit...perplexing. It was not that long ago that you made this post:

http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?s=&amp...t&p=4538800

I think we need to think of a solution to stop China from opening up and getting strong. Should Singapore join Japan India US and some small Asia countries to Destroy China military power

So what's your game? Are you just a troll?

Err... we are all of the HUMAN race .... so why fight each other?

Taking up yor logic: Chinese in China are all Chinese nationals ... and chinese by race ..

But that hasn't stop them for looting their own people who runs a japanese restaurant (just place selling japaese cuisine), beating one of their own silly for driving a japanese car or rendering some of their own jobless by buying down a japanese car maker's factory .... :o

So while I do not agree with you logic, I also do not wish to challenge your freedom of thought and belief.So there's no need for you to reply nor retorty:

To me: that line of logic is so thin that it borders on irrationality. And frankly, while my IC states my RACE is chinese, that certainly holds no connection to Chinese nationals for me. My IC also states my sex is male .... but I don't think that means I must stand on the side of all males in any contest with females.

Come on...What are you saying ? Did I say NRIC states race as chinese means must fight war for China or uses lame reasoning of standing the sides of males. I am stating the difference between nationality and race. Race and nationality is two different thing. Alamak ! You are right, I should not reply you if you cannot mince what I am saying if it is too chim.

I quote your inline references;

A claim based on effective control is one in which a group claims certain lands because the group has "uncontested administration of the land and its resident population"

Before we go on further to scrutinise the scholarly interpretation of property right, let us first content ourselves with the legal interpretation of the term "uncontested administration". Now, is it not true that the Japanese were the one who first sought to annexe the territories in question in the course of Sino-Japanese War? As for the defeaning silence or rather i would put it, the lack of vehement objection/protest between 1905 to 1970 thereabout (which would have otherwise invalidate an "uncontested administration"), was it again not true that Chinese mainland was put through closely stringed episodes of socio-political turmoil? Ironically, one of which was instigated by the Japanese i.e. the Mukden incident. If it can be argued that most if not all of such "turmultuous episodes" gravely threatened the survival of China's nationhood (which obviously take precedence over the purpose and intent of contesting administration of the disputed territories), then i believe that it can be reasoned that the circumstances surrounding China/R.O.C lack of objection(s) to the Japanese belligerents, legitimately discounts the soundness of the Japanese claim which rests on "uncontested administration".

P.S. (I have more to dispute, to be continued.)

Edited by Happily1986

I quote your inline references;

A claim based on effective control is one in which a group claims certain lands because the group has "uncontested administration of the land and its resident population"

Before we go on further to scrutinise the scholarly interpretation of property right, let us first content ourselves with the legal interpretation of the term "uncontested administration". Now, is it not true that the Japanese were the one who first sought to annexe the territories in question in the course of Sino-Japanese War? As for the defeaning silence or rather i would put it, the lack of vehement objection/protest between 1905 to 1970 thereabout (which would have otherwise invalidate an "uncontested administration"), was it again not true that Chinese mainland was put through closely stringed episodes of socio-political turmoil? Ironically, one of which was instigated by the Japanese i.e. the Mukden incident. If it can be argued that most if not all of such "turmultuous episodes" gravely threatened the survival of China's nationhood (which obviously take precedence over the purpose and intent of contesting administration of the disputed territories), then i believe that it can be reasoned that the circumstances surrounding China/R.O.C lack of objection(s) to the Japanese belligerents, legitimately discounts the soundness of the Japanese claim which rests on "uncontested administration".

Nicely put.

I tend to see a court judgement should be made based the entirety and holistic POV of the dispute between both parties, which means the historical background and the circumstances that lead to impasse rather than be dogmatic in the narrow confine of the written law.

Case in study - Below map was not created in ancient China nor by a Chinese- it was recorded by a famous Japanese scholar 林子平 who had great interest in naval defences, and geography.

In this 1786 map, he used the Chinese name Diaoyu along with Taiwan old name - all in same colour code (red) to indicate China's territories - all over a century before Japan forcefully declare ownership in 1895 after the 1st Sino-Japan war.

20120517_a.jpg

clearer pic here

Japanese scholar 林子平(1738-1793)

gn731.jpg

Sources:

http://senkakuchizu.dousetsu.com/page086.html

http://opiniojuris.org/2012/09/20/why-wont...pute-to-the-icj

http://www.bbc.co.uk/zhongwen/simp/world/2...diaoyudao.shtml